The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 129 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 101Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3853 Old 05-14-2015, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
kwolfskill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is it possible to use a physical keyboard with the SR5008?

Sorry if this has been discussed else where, I've looked and didn't find the answer.

I use the Spotify a lot on my SR5008 and it is a pain to enter a song or album title, or artist name, to search for in Spotify, using the virtual keyboard. I've yet to find a way to use a physical keyboard with my receiver, but was hoping someone else has. Not only would a physical keyboard be faster to type on, but it would save the life of the cursor keys on my remote, which I'm sure I'm using much more than normal by using the virtual keyboard all the time.
mBkS likes this.
kwolfskill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3853 Old 05-14-2015, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
DeRemote is pretty cool App as well
itsf8 is online now  
post #3843 of 3853 Old 05-15-2015, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwolfskill View Post
Sorry if this has been discussed else where, I've looked and didn't find the answer.

I use the Spotify a lot on my SR5008 and it is a pain to enter a song or album title, or artist name, to search for in Spotify, using the virtual keyboard. I've yet to find a way to use a physical keyboard with my receiver, but was hoping someone else has. Not only would a physical keyboard be faster to type on, but it would save the life of the cursor keys on my remote, which I'm sure I'm using much more than normal by using the virtual keyboard all the time.


I haven't found a better way to do searches via the remote, but I agree that is a very cumbersome procedure. What I do is search, add/delete songs, create new playlists, etc. on my desktop. I believe you have to be a Spotify Premium member to access Spotify on your Marantz. If you are, you can add devices to your account, including a desktop, laptop, or smart phone. And any of those would make searching easier.

Regards,
Mike
mthomas47 is online now  
post #3844 of 3853 Old 05-15-2015, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
kwolfskill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
I haven't found a better way to do searches via the remote, but I agree that is a very cumbersome procedure. What I do is search, add/delete songs, create new playlists, etc. on my desktop. I believe you have to be a Spotify Premium member to access Spotify on your Marantz. If you are, you can add devices to your account, including a desktop, laptop, or smart phone. And any of those would make searching easier.

Regards,
Mike
I do the same, but it is clumsy to have to save them using my Spotify account on my laptop, just so I can access them on my receiver. Would rather be able to do it all from my receiver.

Kevin
kwolfskill is offline  
post #3845 of 3853 Old 05-15-2015, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,643
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 239
^ Try the iDevice mobile/tablet version of Spotify. The search and creating a playlist is easy to do. You can then stream your tunes to the receiver as the Marantz models have Airplay.

Edit: You don't even need to have premium subscription with Spotify with the iDevice to stream via Airplay to the Marantz.

Maranatz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP(2x4), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8 (on order), HiMedia Q16 (on order).

Last edited by steveting99; 05-15-2015 at 06:29 PM. Reason: additional text for clarity.
steveting99 is offline  
post #3846 of 3853 Old 05-17-2015, 02:37 PM
Member
 
mart541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A couple weeks ago I noticed that when I turned on my 5008 my sub would put out this soft low rumble/hiss and after a couple minutes it would pop, like you might hear through speakers when you turn on the amp, then the sub would operate as normal. I don’t believe it’s a ground loop issue as I had one when I first hooked up my system but fixed it.

Today, I noticed that a similar rumble/hiss was coming from my mains so turned off my sub and did a factory reset on the 5008. When I turned off the sub there was a pop a bit louder than before. When I turned the 5008 back on and entered Audyssey setup it couldn’t find the sub. I connected the sub to my laptop and the setup software couldn’t connect, saying the sub was off or in standby, and I couldn’t get the status led to switch from red to green. Dead sub?

So I go back to the receiver and unplug all the inputs. Strange sound still coming from the mains. I unplugged literally every electrical item in my entire apartment except the receiver and the sound was the same. I pull out a stereo amp and switch to the preouts, through the amp. Sound remains. At this point I’m worried about somehow killing my speakers so have unplugged everything and am planning to send the sub and receiver in for repair.

Is this any type of known issue? Is it possible for the receiver to kill the sub or the other way around?
mart541 is offline  
post #3847 of 3853 Old Yesterday, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Hey guys, just a quick Q

Will increasing the "digital input" DB level in the "source level" part of my receiver distort the sound at a louder level. What exactly is this increasing that is different than just increasing the level of each speaker. Increasing the digital input by 3db seems to be a lot louder of an increase than increasing my master volume by 3db. Thanks!
Federo5 is offline  
post #3848 of 3853 Old Yesterday, 02:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,859
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3952 Post(s)
Liked: 2244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Federo5 View Post
Hey guys, just a quick Q

Will increasing the "digital input" DB level in the "source level" part of my receiver distort the sound at a louder level. What exactly is this increasing that is different than just increasing the level of each speaker. Increasing the digital input by 3db seems to be a lot louder of an increase than increasing my master volume by 3db. Thanks!
Increasing the Source Level should be similar to raising the master volume.
Federo5 likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3849 of 3853 Old Today, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Increasing the Source Level should be similar to raising the master volume.
JD,

Are you sure about that? This same question was asked on another thread. If you increase the individual level of each speaker by 3db, I believe that the sum of the increase is greater than would be experienced just by increasing the MV by 3db. I can't remember if there is a specific formula for this, but I'm pretty sure that multiple speakers do sum just as multiple subs do. So, starting with all of your speakers at 75db, for instance, and then raising the MV by 5db, would not give you the same measured volume at the MLP as setting all of your speakers at 80db. I could be completely wrong about this, but if I am I would like to know for sure.

Regards,
Mike
mthomas47 is online now  
post #3850 of 3853 Old Today, 09:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,859
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3952 Post(s)
Liked: 2244
^^
Yup. I'm sure. Changing the Master Volume is the same as changing all speakers the same amount.
mthomas47 likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3851 of 3853 Old Today, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
bhoyo68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,
I was wondering if some one can help? I have a Pioneer dv47ai hooked up to a sr5008 through the 7.1 analog connections (sacd/dvd-a playback) and also a coaxial cable for cd playback.
My problem is when I go to listen to cd's through the digital out I get no sound?
Only sound through analog cables (2 channel) is there a setting in the receiver I have change to get sound through the digital out on the same source input?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Pat
bhoyo68 is online now  
post #3852 of 3853 Old Today, 10:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,859
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3952 Post(s)
Liked: 2244
^^
Yes, there is. When using the same source name for multiple inputs, you must change the INPUT MODE (p. 157 Owner's manual) setting accordingly.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	730442  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3853 of 3853 Old Today, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
bhoyo68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you so much.

Regards
Pat
bhoyo68 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off