The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3251 Old 09-10-2013, 02:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereoforsale View Post

JAPANESE TEXT APPEARING ON SCREEN ?!?

Has anyone experienced this? A couple of times my screen will display/scroll random Japanese text across my TV screen (well, I think it's Japanese). Each time it happened I simply turned off/on the receiver and it went back to normal. Not sure if it's a software bug in need of an update, or if my unit is defective. Note: I did run a ~40 min firmware update when I first got my unit, and I'm not aware of any more recent updates. Also, I wonder if this "Turning Japanese" phenomenon occurs when I am accessing another piece of equipment, in particular my Samsung Blu Ray or Apple iPod.

The machines are planning something to be sure. eek.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3251 Old 09-10-2013, 02:43 PM
Newbie
 
sathyans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried playing a multichannel SACD connected via HDMI? Does it work at a high sample rate? I'm considering getting the 5008 (as a long overdue upgrade to my non-HDMI AVR) and have a Sony Bluray player which claims to pass either PCM or DSD over HDMI.

thanks
sathyans is offline  
post #363 of 3251 Old 09-10-2013, 02:44 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeerpa View Post

I used the stand of my DSLR camera.
Before calibration the receiver sayed the sub was to loud, so the SR7008 showed a SPL meter and I adapted the volume on the back of the sub.
Then I started the calibration. I didn't check any levels after position 1, but after the calculation of the 8 measurements , the sub level was -3.5. (the fronts are -3db). Compared with the settings I had on my SR7005 the sub has been lowered about 6dB.

The volume settings are completed after the mic #1 position only which is why it's not necessary to run more than the mic #1 position when trying to get the sub volume down to roughly +/- 3db.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #364 of 3251 Old 09-10-2013, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
dmeerpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

dmeerpa,

Have you tried adjusting the DynEQ settings and/or Dyn volume? Or the associated "Reference Level Offset"?
(See my comments a couple of posts above.)

Yes I did, DynEQ are on, I did not hear difference in the lower frequency when turning it off.
Dyn Volume is always off.
And as already commented, when increasing Reference Level Offset the problem is even worse.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The volume settings are completed after the mic #1 position only which is why it's not necessary to run more than the mic #1 position when trying to get the sub volume down to roughly +/- 3db.

With the new SR7008 you even don't have to measure mic #1. At start, the first thing the Audessey calibration does is measuring the sub. When it's too quiet or too loud you got a message who let's you adjust the sub volume. Meanwhile the SR7008 shows a SPL meter on the screen, when you adjust you sub to 75dB on the SPL you will be around the 0dB.
I'm now at -3db after Audessey, but I manually cranked it up to 0dB to have some more bass with music and movies.

Marantz SR7008, UD7006, Dune HD Max
Pioneer PDP-6080D
Zone 1 : Wharfedale Opus 2, Opus Tri-Center, 4 x Opus Tri-Surround, SVS PB12+
Zone 2 : Boston Acoustic A25

dmeerpa is offline  
post #365 of 3251 Old 09-10-2013, 03:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
^^
Although in theory the above should be true using the Sub EQ HT feature, not always going to be the case.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #366 of 3251 Old 09-10-2013, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Chris0119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereoforsale View Post

JAPANESE TEXT APPEARING ON SCREEN ?!?

Has anyone experienced this? A couple of times my screen will display/scroll random Japanese text across my TV screen (well, I think it's Japanese). Each time it happened I simply turned off/on the receiver and it went back to normal. Not sure if it's a software bug in need of an update, or if my unit is defective. Note: I did run a ~40 min firmware update when I first got my unit, and I'm not aware of any more recent updates. Also, I wonder if this "Turning Japanese" phenomenon occurs when I am accessing another piece of equipment, in particular my Samsung Blu Ray or Apple iPod.

That is indeed odd. I am fairly certain the Marantz receivers are manufactured in China so it is strange you are seeing Japanese...? Regardless...if it is a persistent issue I would take a pic of it and send to customer customer support at Marantz.
Chris0119 is offline  
post #367 of 3251 Old 09-11-2013, 01:56 PM
Member
 
simonseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post

I have been running these two guys 24/7 for the last 5 years on top of my last four receivers (Onkyo's TX-SR705, SR876, NR809 and Marantz SR7008). They are very silent and keep my AVRs cool even after long sessions of music or movies.



They are Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E that I got at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Scythe-S-FLEX-SFF21E-120mm-200rpm/dp/B000EISIQQ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1378243768&sr=8-2&keywords=sflex+fan

I'm powering them with an ac adapter from an old Xbox 360 HD DVD Player smile.gif

Was curious about the orientation of your fans. I am guessing by the fact that the label is up that you are blowing air into the AVR rather than exhausting it? Is that correct?

Simon.
simonseys is offline  
post #368 of 3251 Old 09-12-2013, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
RickPas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

dmeerpa,

Have you tried adjusting the DynEQ settings and/or Dyn volume? Or the associated "Reference Level Offset"?
(See my comments a couple of posts above.)

So is it ok to shut Dyn EQ off...Does this mess up the Audyssey settings or does it just affect the volume levels?
Rick

RickP.
RickPas is offline  
post #369 of 3251 Old 09-12-2013, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonseys View Post

Was curious about the orientation of your fans. I am guessing by the fact that the label is up that you are blowing air into the AVR rather than exhausting it? Is that correct?

Simon.

Nop, in that orientation they are exhausting air from the AVR.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #370 of 3251 Old 09-12-2013, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,794
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 818 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

dmeerpa,

Have you tried adjusting the DynEQ settings and/or Dyn volume? Or the associated "Reference Level Offset"?
(See my comments a couple of posts above.)

So is it ok to shut Dyn EQ off...Does this mess up the Audyssey settings or does it just affect the volume levels?
Rick

Yes, that would be OK. Its use is strictly a personal preference. DynEQ and DynVol do not affect Audyssey's calibration of the speakers+room.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is online now  
post #371 of 3251 Old 09-12-2013, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Hummerguyinfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having an issue with my SR7008. I have to turn the power off and back on to hear any audio from my PS3 (HDMI connection). I can switch through different inputs and come back to the PS3 and still no audio until I turn the AVR off and back on. When I press info it indicates there isn't an incoming audio source.

I've tried turning the PS3 off and on but it makes no difference. I've also experimented with the order I turn on the AVR and PS3 on but it makes no difference.

Works great after toggling off and on but I literally have to do it every single time. Any suggestions?
Hummerguyinfl is offline  
post #372 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 08:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
^^
Give the HDMI HDCP reset discussed in the link below a try. Also set the "Deep Color Output" setting on the PS3 to OFF.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#user_L11
jidelite likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #373 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 11:17 AM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I connected Marantz SR5008 and did the calibration and i hear test tones from the speakers and all seems to done. But when i play a movie i do not hear anything from the speakers. What am i missing? Do i need to make any setting in the receiver?

I checked the instructions and there is nothing i missed.

Please suggest.

Thanks,
Raj
raj3875 is offline  
post #374 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 01:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
What source do you have selected and how is it connected? See if you get audio from the TUNER.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #375 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 01:39 PM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Source is blu ray thru HDMI cable.
raj3875 is offline  
post #376 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 03:41 PM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have done the audeyssey calibration for 6 listening positions. Hdmi 3 slot is connected to my blu ray player. Speakers are bower and wilkins m1 speakers. Bu when i play blu ray i do not hear anything except for some volume from my epson projector speakers.

Don't know what i am doing wrong. Also checked my zone settings. Zone 2 is not set up and i am only playing main zone. Please advise.

Even on the tuner i hear only from the projector speakers and not from my 5.1 channel speakers.

When

Thanks
Raj.
raj3875 is offline  
post #377 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Chris0119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone using a third party AC cord? I have been reading a lot of late about how much this can impact sound...though I have my doubts. I think it is largely contingent on a number of factors...speakers, speaker wire, receiver etc.
I was hoping someone might have some first-hand experience or advice on whether this is power cord business is smoke and mirrors, or if it is legit. I am the kind of guy who buys HDMI cables from Monoprice, and I have a hard time buying in to the 'extraordinary' benefit of super-expensive cabling, but admittedly this whole AC cord thing has me wondering a little.
Chris0119 is offline  
post #378 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 08:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
Quote:
Originally Posted by raj3875 View Post

I have done the audeyssey calibration for 6 listening positions. Hdmi 3 slot is connected to my blu ray player. Speakers are bower and wilkins m1 speakers. Bu when i play blu ray i do not hear anything except for some volume from my epson projector speakers.

Don't know what i am doing wrong. Also checked my zone settings. Zone 2 is not set up and i am only playing main zone. Please advise.

Even on the tuner i hear only from the projector speakers and not from my 5.1 channel speakers.

When

Thanks
Raj.

The only way the audio could be going to the PJ speakers is if the "HDMI Audio Out" setting is set to "TV" instead of the factory default of "AVR" (p. 149 OM).


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #379 of 3251 Old 09-13-2013, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by raj3875 View Post

I have done the audeyssey calibration for 6 listening positions. Hdmi 3 slot is connected to my blu ray player. Speakers are bower and wilkins m1 speakers. Bu when i play blu ray i do not hear anything except for some volume from my epson projector speakers.

Don't know what i am doing wrong. Also checked my zone settings. Zone 2 is not set up and i am only playing main zone. Please advise.

Even on the tuner i hear only from the projector speakers and not from my 5.1 channel speakers.

When

Thanks
Raj.

Go to Setup/Video/HDMI Setup and check that "HDMI Audio Out" is set on "AVR" and not TV. If you set HDMI Audio Out as TV then you will get audio on your TV speakers or projector.
raj3875 likes this.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #380 of 3251 Old 09-14-2013, 11:25 AM
Member
 
BeyondHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I have and Onkyo 818 and planning to upgrade to a Marantz 7008. One feature that got my attention is the Sub EQ HT, 7.1 ch inputs, also the internal part seems to be better quality than the Onkyo, this receiver is getting some excellent reviews. I also had a Denon 3313 but the problem was that after running Audyssey, my front speakers and center channel were set as small even that they are full range speakers. So everytime I tried to set them as large I had to run Audyssey again and I didn't have the option to select Dynamic EQ. With the Onkyo I do have the option to adjust speakers settings with no promblem. Since many of you own this great receiver, Will I'll be able to set or adjust the speakers configuration after runnig Audyssey? Just for reference I'll be using this receiver more for movies than music and my speaker configuration is.

Def Tech Bipolar series
BP 8080 L & R speakers with intenal amplified Sub woofers
CS 8080HD center channel with internal sub
SR 8080BP surround speakers for back and height front
OPPO 103 BD player
Monster PowerCenter 2500

Thanks for the help I'm kind a rookie for home theaters
BeyondHD is offline  
post #381 of 3251 Old 09-14-2013, 11:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
First note that the LARGE/SMALL setting has less to do with the physical size of the speaker than how it actually reacts where it is placed in your room. Also the AVR sets the LARGE/SMALL setting so regardless of which model you use, 818, 3313CI, or 7008, you can change the setting from SMALL to LARGE without having to run Audyssey again. And lastly, the advice provided by Audyssey is that you should set any speakers that the AVR set to LARGE back to SMALL if there is a dedicated sub in the setup. From your list it appears you do not have a dedicated sub (but are likely using the sub pre-outs connected to each FL/FR speaker) so when using XT32 in either the 818 or 7008 it doesn't matter whether your FL/FR speakers are set to LARGE or SMALL as the built in subs will get the signal either way and more importantly XT32 has the same number of speaker and sub control points.
BeyondHD likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #382 of 3251 Old 09-14-2013, 08:04 PM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post

Go to Setup/Video/HDMI Setup and check that "HDMI Audio Out" is set on "AVR" and not TV. If you set HDMI Audio Out as TV then you will get audio on your TV speakers or projector.
raj3875 is offline  
post #383 of 3251 Old 09-14-2013, 08:06 PM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bull's Eye. Working now. It was indeed set to TV Out. Changed it to AVR.

Thanks,
Raj/
raj3875 is offline  
post #384 of 3251 Old 09-15-2013, 08:16 AM
Member
 
BeyondHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

First note that the LARGE/SMALL setting has less to do with the physical size of the speaker than how it actually reacts where it is placed in your room. Also the AVR sets the LARGE/SMALL setting so regardless of which model you use, 818, 3313CI, or 7008, you can change the setting from SMALL to LARGE without having to run Audyssey again. And lastly, the advice provided by Audyssey is that you should set any speakers that the AVR set to LARGE back to SMALL if there is a dedicated sub in the setup. From your list it appears you do not have a dedicated sub (but are likely using the sub pre-outs connected to each FL/FR speaker) so when using XT32 in either the 818 or 7008 it doesn't matter whether your FL/FR speakers are set to LARGE or SMALL as the built in subs will get the signal either way and more importantly XT32 has the same number of speaker and sub control points.
Thanks JD, I ran Audyssey again last night and my main FL/FR were set at 40hz, the center channel was set at 60hz & the surrounds at 100hz. I'm using the LFE terminal from my Def Techs because I like to have more control of the bass output. I decided to spin a couple of Blu Ray's from my collection and the sound and blending between the speakers is more smooth and natural, also the bass seems to be more balanced not overpowering. My perception was that setting the speakers at large will give better bass response. Anyway I can't wait to get the sr7008. Thanks for your great help, that's why I love this forums.
BeyondHD is offline  
post #385 of 3251 Old 09-16-2013, 05:17 AM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I was watching a blu-ray movie and I was not able to change the sound mode to Dolby PLII movie mode. I made sure the BD audio mix setting on my blu ray player was set to off. The only format i was able to get was Mutlichannel format. Is it the limitation of the blu ray disc or am i missing any setting on my receiver or blu ray player. My receiver is marantz sr5008 and player is sony bdp580.

Thanks
Raj
raj3875 is offline  
post #386 of 3251 Old 09-16-2013, 05:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,105
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1823
^^
The DD PLII surround mode would only be available if you were trying to simulate 5.1 from a stereo source (eg. CD or SD TV channel). As the BD movie likely had a 5.1 DD/DTS surround track, there was nothing to simulate and therefore that surround mode would not be available to you.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #387 of 3251 Old 09-16-2013, 06:12 PM
Member
 
raj3875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The other thing I noticed was with the video with Epson 3020 projector. Some parts of the movie was full screen but some part of the movie had these black bars on top and bottom of the screen. Not sure why.

thanks
raj
raj3875 is offline  
post #388 of 3251 Old 09-16-2013, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Some movies are shot that way. The last two Batman movies are an example of that.
lulimet is online now  
post #389 of 3251 Old 09-18-2013, 02:23 AM
Member
 
Louie_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Laguna, Philippines
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

Could the SR7008 upscale audio to 11.2 when using external power amps?
Using Front Height and Front Wides simultaneously together with the regular 7.2 configuration...

Thanks smile.gif
Louie_18 is offline  
post #390 of 3251 Old 09-18-2013, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 172
The 7008 has capability to process 9.2 audio only. It has for sure 11.2 pre outs but you need to chose either front wides or front height, not both.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off