The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 154 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 144Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
The 7008 is a great receiver, but given the price difference between it and the 7009 at Accessories4less.com (both factory refurbished), I would wait for the 7009 to become available again. Many 7008 owners, including myself, have been plagued with issues with airplay due to Marantz not supporting new updates. Plus, I purchased my 7008 for $800 over 2 years ago.
Is this really why Airplay and Networking in general is so flaky with my 7008? Btw, does anyone know when the Pandora login fix will be available for the 7008.. and how we go about getting it? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Scott 44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Question for the folks here. Is this a good deal? - A SR-7008 for $700 refurbished? I currently have a 9.2 system with the addition 2 speakers being front heights. My current AVR is a Pioneer VSX-44 which is only 7.2 channels so I am constantly having to choose between using the front heights OR the rear surrounds, never both. Also it does some other goofy stuff I'm not a fan of like assigning the LF X.over to the LPF of LFE. So if I want an 80Hz X.over, I also lose between 80hz and 120hz of the LPF of LFE. Not a HUGE deal, but still annoying. I want to be able to power my front heights, fronts, center, sub, surrounds, and rear surrounds all at the same time, whether it be using matrixing like PLIIz and PLIIx for 5.1 sources to get matrixed 9.1 or just PLIIz while playing discrete 7.1 tracks. Will this receiver do all that? Thanks for any help!


Accessories4less.com for your best deal on a factor refurbished Marantz. They are factory authorized and carries warranty. I just got the 7010 for $1399 and its 4K HDMI 2.0 HDPC 2.2 comp. Paid 700 for the 7009 for my other house a few months back. So the 7008 should be less than that I assume.

JVC-RS500, 7010, Emotiva XPA-3, Axiom Loudspeakers 7.1.4 ATMOS, Seymour XD 135" AT Center Stage Screen(16x9), SVsound PB12 Plus x2 subs, Oppo-103d, Slingmedia 500, AppleTV, DirecTV HR44 Genie, Blue Jeans Interconnects, Ps3, Saaria automated Stage Curtain, Luttron Cassetta Dimmers, Harmony Ultimate Remote, Fusion Streamline Leather Seats, DIY Specialst.
Scott 44 is offline  
post #4593 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 01:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,089
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10229 Post(s)
Liked: 4742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Is this really why Airplay and Networking in general is so flaky with my 7008? Btw, does anyone know when the Pandora login fix will be available for the 7008.. and how we go about getting it? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Currently TBD as noted in the following URL.

http://marantz.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3943
Tgterm likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Authorized dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, SVS, Oppo

Ask me how to get a FREE HEOS 1 HS2 wireless speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4594 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1763 Post(s)
Liked: 2043
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Currently TBD as noted in the following URL.

http://marantz.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3943

Hi JD,

I'm glad you are in the building. Everything was working fine with multiple subs until I unplugged things to reconfigure some things in my system today, and now I can't seem to get my 7008 to calibrate two subwoofers. They are connected properly, my Speaker Configuration is set properly, but whenever I go into the Audyssey Measurement Menu and tell it to measure two subs, it defaults to Measure One, and only shows one sub in the virtual speaker image. Needless to say, it won't level match the second one no matter how I switch connections among subs, or configure the connections as Sub 1 or Sub 2. I am convinced it's the 7008 glitching.

I have tried a soft reset and I am doing a longer one now. If that doesn't work, is there anything else I can try other than a Factory Reset? I have never had to do one before and assume that I will lose everything, including all Roku, Spotify, Netflix, and system configuration settings. Is that correct?

Thanks for any help,
Mike
mthomas47 is online now  
post #4595 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 04:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,089
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10229 Post(s)
Liked: 4742
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
Hi JD,

I'm glad you are in the building. Everything was working fine with multiple subs until I unplugged things to reconfigure some things in my system today, and now I can't seem to get my 7008 to calibrate two subwoofers. They are connected properly, my Speaker Configuration is set properly, but whenever I go into the Audyssey Measurement Menu and tell it to measure two subs, it defaults to Measure One, and only shows one sub in the virtual speaker image. Needless to say, it won't level match the second one no matter how I switch connections among subs, or configure the connections as Sub 1 or Sub 2. I am convinced it's the 7008 glitching.

I have tried a soft reset and I am doing a longer one now. If that doesn't work, is there anything else I can try other than a Factory Reset? I have never had to do one before and assume that I will lose everything, including all Roku, Spotify, Netflix, and system configuration settings. Is that correct?

Thanks for any help,
Mike
Yup. However, before doing the reset, you can use the Web Control feature (p. 138 Owner's manual) and SAVE a copy of the config file to a PC and then LOAD it back after doing the reset.
mthomas47 likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Authorized dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, SVS, Oppo

Ask me how to get a FREE HEOS 1 HS2 wireless speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4596 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,383
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 1685
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
I have tried a soft reset and I am doing a longer one now. If that doesn't work, is there anything else I can try other than a Factory Reset? I have never had to do one before and assume that I will lose everything, including all Roku, Spotify, Netflix, and system configuration settings. Is that correct?
Page 140 details backup to 7008's nonvolatile memory and restore procedures; my guess is Audyssey's settings are included in the backup and the backup will survive a hard reset.
mthomas47 likes this.
bmcn is offline  
post #4597 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,383
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 1685
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
Page 140 details backup to 7008's nonvolatile memory and restore procedures; my guess is Audyssey's settings are included in the backup and the backup will survive a hard reset.
Mike, please let me know if yours has a save button on the browser's setup page, per the manual. I don't see it on mine with latest FF or IE on Win10 laptop.

Last edited by bmcn; 08-24-2016 at 04:29 PM.
bmcn is offline  
post #4598 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1763 Post(s)
Liked: 2043
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
Mike, please let me know if yours has a save button on the browser's setup page, per the manual. I don't see it on mine with latest FF or IE on Win10 laptop.

Thanks for the tip, but unfortunately I don't have a computer connected to my main system. I use a Roku, DirecTV, etc, but no laptop. I have a large desktop system on another floor. Looking at Page 140, it appears to me that the save settings feature only applies to a power interruption. I tried two soft resets this afternoon and everything came back with my normal settings, so I may already have engaged that feature some years ago.

The hard reset is what I am dreading, but I will wait until tomorrow for that. I'm tired of fussing with it today.
bmcn likes this.
mthomas47 is online now  
post #4599 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,383
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1404 Post(s)
Liked: 1685
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
Thanks for the tip, but unfortunately I don't have a computer connected to my main system. I use a Roku, DirecTV, etc, but no laptop. I have a large desktop system on another floor. Looking at Page 140, it appears to me that the save settings feature only applies to a power interruption. I tried two soft resets this afternoon and everything came back with my normal settings, so I may already have engaged that feature some years ago.

The hard reset is what I am dreading, but I will wait until tomorrow for that. I'm tired of fussing with it today.
If both are on the same LAN, you should be able to access the 7008 from your desktop by entering the 7008's IP address from a browser on the desktop.
mthomas47 likes this.
bmcn is offline  
post #4600 of 4615 Old 08-24-2016, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1763 Post(s)
Liked: 2043
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
If both are on the same LAN, you should be able to access the 7008 from your desktop by entering the 7008's IP address from a browser on the desktop.

Now there's an interesting thought, thanks!
mthomas47 is online now  
post #4601 of 4615 Old 08-26-2016, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Can anyone tell me if I can hook up a turntable that I just picked up to my Marantz 7008? It's a kenwood kd-3070. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SAMSUNG UN607150- OPPO BDP 103D- PSA 210T L/R -PHANTOM CENTER -ENERGY RC-10 SURROUNDS -PSA S3000i - MARANTZ SR7008 -AUDITIONING ANTHEM MRX710 -APPLE TV -MONSTER POWER HTS2600MK -DIRECTV GENIE -HARMONY ELITE

BASEMENT SETUP- SAMSUNG UN466500- ENERGY 50'S L/R- ENERGY RC LCR- DENON-AVR-3311CI- PS3 -APPLETV- MINI GENIE
tang7969 is offline  
post #4602 of 4615 Old 08-27-2016, 02:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,089
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10229 Post(s)
Liked: 4742
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
Can anyone tell me if I can hook up a turntable that I just picked up to my Marantz 7008? It's a kenwood kd-3070. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yup. If the turntable has its own pre-amp, connect it to any of the SR7008 analog audio inputs (but not the PHONO input), otherwise, if it does not have a built-in pre-amp, connect it to the PHONO input.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Authorized dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, SVS, Oppo

Ask me how to get a FREE HEOS 1 HS2 wireless speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4603 of 4615 Old 08-27-2016, 10:23 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Despicable!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
D+M is starting to roll out the Pandora fix beginning with the newer models and finishing up with these 2013 models:

2013 Models
Jan 2017 – NR1504, NR1604, SR5008, SR6008, SR7008

2014 Models
Oct 2016 – AV8802/A
Dec 2016 – SR7009, AV7702
Jan 2017 – NR1605, SR5009, SR6009

2015 Models (also includes DTS:X update; except NR1506)
Sep 6 – NR1506, NR1606, SR5010
Nov – SR6010, SR7010, AV7702MKII

2016 Models (also includes DTS:X update)
Sep 15 – SR6011
Oct 4 – NR1607, SR5011
Marantz's customer support of known issues is terrible! January of each year has been their normal firmware update month for the 7008 but the Pandora fix should be a much more urgent fix. Once they know the coding change necessary to fix the issue it should be very easy to implement that in the coding of all models with the affected problem. Hire a couple of high school programmers and they could update all the firmware codes in a week.
I couldn't enjoy the Metallica concert streaming event on 8/20/16 using the built-in Pandora because of this blunder.
When this Marantz goes belly up, I will do everything in my power to find a non-Marantz replacement.

Last edited by rodneyiii; 08-27-2016 at 10:30 AM.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #4604 of 4615 Old 08-29-2016, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
greenfx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked politely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Is this really why Airplay and Networking in general is so flaky with my 7008? Btw, does anyone know when the Pandora login fix will be available for the 7008.. and how we go about getting it? Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I was also frustrated with the loss of Pandora, and Apple Airplay is a bit flaky. So...
I wonder why the update is taking so very long? Could you please announce when the SR7008 will be fixed? It is an expensive machine, and I believe the honorable thing to do is to move this forward. Joe
Response By Email (NJ Customer Service & Support) (08/29/2016 10:23 AM)
Hi Joe,
We're very sorry for the inconvenience. Our Engineering team is doing everything they possibly can to release updates in the quickest manner possible. We appreciate your patience and we hope to have this problem corrected soon. Please keep checking our FAQ for updated info as we will post updated firmware ETAs as soon as we receive them.

Thank You,
D+M Group NA
Well, at least I got a response, albeit pretty much a non answer...
greenfx5 is offline  
post #4605 of 4615 Old 08-30-2016, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenfx5 View Post
I was also frustrated with the loss of Pandora, and Apple Airplay is a bit flaky. So...
I wonder why the update is taking so very long? Could you please announce when the SR7008 will be fixed? It is an expensive machine, and I believe the honorable thing to do is to move this forward. Joe
Response By Email (NJ Customer Service & Support) (08/29/2016 10:23 AM)
Hi Joe,
We're very sorry for the inconvenience. Our Engineering team is doing everything they possibly can to release updates in the quickest manner possible. We appreciate your patience and we hope to have this problem corrected soon. Please keep checking our FAQ for updated info as we will post updated firmware ETAs as soon as we receive them.

Thank You,
D+M Group NA
Well, at least I got a response, albeit pretty much a non answer...
Pretty silly, really.

I've never done a firmware update on my 7008...has anyone? I didn't think marantz supported Internet updates for this machine...how do you think they will make this available? Have they indicated this anywhere?

Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #4606 of 4615 Old 08-30-2016, 05:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,089
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10229 Post(s)
Liked: 4742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Pretty silly, really.

I've never done a firmware update on my 7008...has anyone? I didn't think marantz supported Internet updates for this machine...how do you think they will make this available? Have they indicated this anywhere?

Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Marantz has provided internet firmware fixes for years, the SR7008 having received about 5 updates to date. The Pandora fix will be provided via the internet as well based on the following schedule:

http://marantz.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3943

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Authorized dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, SVS, Oppo

Ask me how to get a FREE HEOS 1 HS2 wireless speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4607 of 4615 Old 08-30-2016, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Marantz has provided internet firmware fixes for years, the SR7008 having received about 5 updates to date. The Pandora fix will be provided via the internet as well based on the following schedule:

http://marantz.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3943
Most of the other components I own prompt me when a firmware update is available, and I install it over the LAN connection.

Though my Marantz is also connected via Ethernet, I have never been prompted for any updates that I can remember...Strange. Guess I'll have to look into why not. Don't even recall there being a place in the menus to check for updates...hmmmm.



Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #4608 of 4615 Old 08-30-2016, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Marantz has provided internet firmware fixes for years, the SR7008 having received about 5 updates to date. The Pandora fix will be provided via the internet as well based on the following schedule:

http://marantz.custhelp.com/app/answ...tail/a_id/3943
Ah, yes...I can see how to check for updates in the manual...will check it when I get home today. Pretty sure I've checked this before and have found none. Don't believe I've ever been notified that one was available either...

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #4609 of 4615 Old 08-30-2016, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Not sure if I have a marantz issue yet...I am getting this second hand from home and I'm at work...but I am being told that the sound when watching directv is choppy and the speaker configuration icons on the Marantz display are flickering with the choppy sound. Any ideas on this? Had them do an unplug reset but it is still doing it.

Thanks for any input!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #4610 of 4615 Old 08-30-2016, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Not sure if I have a marantz issue yet...I am getting this second hand from home and I'm at work...but I am being told that the sound when watching directv is choppy and the speaker configuration icons on the Marantz display are flickering with the choppy sound. Any ideas on this? Had them do an unplug reset but it is still doing it.

Thanks for any input!

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


Soft reset of my Oppo did the trick...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #4611 of 4615 Old 09-19-2016, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
bhoyo68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All,
I was wondering if someone could help me with the best possible way to connect my devices?
I just purchased a PS4 Slim (4.0 update for HDR) that I have connected to a Marantz SR 5008 receiver via HDMI which is connected to my Vizio M50-C1 to HDM! input 1, would I be better connecting receiver to HDMI 5 on Vizio to get 4K@60??

And is there any settings I would have to turn on any of the devices to get 4K??

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers Paddy
bhoyo68 is offline  
post #4612 of 4615 Old 09-20-2016, 03:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,089
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10229 Post(s)
Liked: 4742
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhoyo68 View Post
Hi All,
I was wondering if someone could help me with the best possible way to connect my devices?
I just purchased a PS4 Slim (4.0 update for HDR) that I have connected to a Marantz SR 5008 receiver via HDMI which is connected to my Vizio M50-C1 to HDM! input 1, would I be better connecting receiver to HDMI 5 on Vizio to get 4K@60??

And is there any settings I would have to turn on any of the devices to get 4K??

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers Paddy
The SR5008 is not 4k/HDMI 2.0a(HDR) capable so to pass 4k/UHD video you would need to connect the PS4 directly to the TV with a separate audio cable from the PS4 to the SR5008.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Authorized dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, SVS, Oppo

Ask me how to get a FREE HEOS 1 HS2 wireless speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4613 of 4615 Old Today, 05:02 PM
Member
 
gizzygone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking into purchasing a SR7008 for my man cave.

Can anybody tell me if it's a worthwhile purchase? I've been flipping through some pages here, but don't have time to read all of them!

My main concern is being able to hook up 2 TVs: And having the ability to play the same source, or two different sources on them at the same time (like a matrix)

And also, since it doesn't have this new 4k HDMI protocol, would that affect playback of any 4K video games (Should I get a new Playstation or Xbox?)

Thanks!
gizzygone is offline  
post #4614 of 4615 Old Today, 05:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63,089
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10229 Post(s)
Liked: 4742
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizzygone View Post
I'm looking into purchasing a SR7008 for my man cave.

Can anybody tell me if it's a worthwhile purchase? I've been flipping through some pages here, but don't have time to read all of them!

My main concern is being able to hook up 2 TVs: And having the ability to play the same source, or two different sources on them at the same time (like a matrix)

And also, since it doesn't have this new 4k HDMI protocol, would that affect playback of any 4K video games (Should I get a new Playstation or Xbox?)

Thanks!
Yup. You'd have to pass 4k video directly to the TV with audio passing separately to the SR7008.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Authorized dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, SVS, Oppo

Ask me how to get a FREE HEOS 1 HS2 wireless speaker.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4615 of 4615 Old Today, 05:16 PM
Member
 
gizzygone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
[

Yup. You'd have to pass 4k video directly to the TV with audio passing separately to the SR7008.
So an Xbox one would not work with this receiver?

Hmmm..... I'm also reading the complaints about the Airplay.

Part of me feels the receiver would be a decent addition, but this makes me wonder if it's worth paying $400 more for a similarly spec'd Yamaha Aventage.
gizzygone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off