The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 158 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 154Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4711 of 4721 Old 02-27-2017, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,392
Mentioned: 278 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12603 Post(s)
Liked: 5773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrixman18 View Post
Since I have plugged xfinity x1 into the HDMI of my tv, I'm not able to get the sound of my tv through my Marantz 6008. Earlier, I used to get the movies on Nextflix played via Marantz to my speakers but now if I select the Tv/Audio option on Marantz, it doesn't play the sound through speakers. Is there any fix to this problem?
Are you trying to use HDMI(ARC) or an optical cable to pass the audio back to the AVR? If the former, ensure HDMI CEC/Control is enabled on both the TV and the AVR.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4712 of 4721 Old 02-27-2017, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Are you trying to use HDMI(ARC) or an optical cable to pass the audio back to the AVR? If the former, ensure HDMI CEC/Control is enabled on both the TV and the AVR.
I'm using HDMI cable. Sorry but have to ask this...how can I enable the CEC/Control on Marantz and TV? Haven't done it before and hence the question.
Matrixman18 is offline  
post #4713 of 4721 Old 02-27-2017, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,392
Mentioned: 278 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12603 Post(s)
Liked: 5773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matrixman18 View Post
I'm using HDMI cable. Sorry but have to ask this...how can I enable the CEC/Control on Marantz and TV? Haven't done it before and hence the question.
TV: Samsung (Anynet+), LG (SimpLink), Sony (BraviaSync), Vizeo (CEC) - ON

Marantz: Video -- HDMI Setup - HDMI Control - ON
jdsmoothie is offline  
 
post #4714 of 4721 Old 02-27-2017, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
TV: Samsung (Anynet+), LG (SimpLink), Sony (BraviaSync), Vizeo (CEC) - ON

Marantz: Video -- HDMI Setup - HDMI Control - ON
Thanks. It's Sony TV. Will do the changes and see if it works.
Matrixman18 is offline  
post #4715 of 4721 Old 03-02-2017, 08:01 PM
Member
 
rbf1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone know what this horizontal line on the front display is? I could swear this wasn't always there. It's there whether it's on or off, as shown in the pictures.



rbf1138 is offline  
post #4716 of 4721 Old 03-02-2017, 08:05 PM
Member
 
Signals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think that lights up when ZONE2 is powered on.

Vizio M65-D0 Display
Marantz SR7008 AVR
Axiom M60, VP160, M3 Speakers
Oppo UDP-203 Disc Player
Signals is offline  
post #4717 of 4721 Old 03-03-2017, 12:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,392
Mentioned: 278 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12603 Post(s)
Liked: 5773
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbf1138 View Post
Anyone know what this horizontal line on the front display is? I could swear this wasn't always there. It's there whether it's on or off, as shown in the pictures.
As noted on p. 15 in your Owner's manual ....

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	111
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	2003241  
erhurd likes this.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4718 of 4721 Old 03-05-2017, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ToddR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central Iowa
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Sometimes I use my SR5008 on the Network input to play music from my computer's iTunes library via my home network. If I then turn on my television, Marantz-generated text overlays that appear when I press remote control buttons will often appear in a giant pink rectangle with the name of the selected input in English, but then surrounded by a bunch of stray Asian characters. If I briefly turn off the Marantz and back on, the text overlays work properly.

What would cause this, and can I correct it?
ToddR is offline  
post #4719 of 4721 Old 03-05-2017, 10:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67,392
Mentioned: 278 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12603 Post(s)
Liked: 5773
Network reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddR View Post
Sometimes I use my SR5008 on the Network input to play music from my computer's iTunes library via my home network. If I then turn on my television, Marantz-generated text overlays that appear when I press remote control buttons will often appear in a giant pink rectangle with the name of the selected input in English, but then surrounded by a bunch of stray Asian characters. If I briefly turn off the Marantz and back on, the text overlays work properly.

What would cause this, and can I correct it?
You can try first doing a "soft reset" (power off and unplug the power cable for 10 minutes) and if still no joy, a "network reset" by pressing/holding down the Preset CH+/Preset CH- buttons while powering on the unit.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4720 of 4721 Old 03-06-2017, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
ToddR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central Iowa
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can try first doing a "soft reset" (power off and unplug the power cable for 10 minutes) and if still no joy, a "network reset" by pressing/holding down the Preset CH+/Preset CH- buttons while powering on the unit.
Thanks. I'll try that.

I also had to unplug power to get it to switch inputs properly over the weekend, but I only interrupted it for about 15 seconds, not ten minutes.
ToddR is offline  
post #4721 of 4721 Old Today, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Zorba922's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2463 Post(s)
Liked: 1746
Marantz 5008 with SQUEAKING SOUND

A friend of mine was offered a Marantz 5008 that periodically makes a squeaking sound which can be remedied by tapping on it, according to the seller, who wants $100 for it which doesn't seem like a bad deal at all.

Anybody know if this this a common problem for this model line? Would it be easy to fix or have fixed? Or should he just look elsewhere? Other than the squeaking, the receiver works well and sounds good, he says.

My friend mainly wants to hook it up to his tablet for music streaming, and to a BD player for the occasional movie, so he doesn't need the extra features/formats of a current receiver.

~ Are you a "geek hobbyist" obsessed with squeezing out that last 5-10% improvement? The economy will thank you...especially the Chinese one. Or are you more of a get-set-and-forget "casual user" who simply wants to increase your enjoyment of movies, TV and gaming? Relax, HT isn't rocket science, nor does it have to cost an arm and a leg---especially if you ignore the aforementioned vocal minority. And remember to smile...it's just a silly hobby, after all. :)
Zorba922 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off