The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Hensley300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern US
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello all,

After doing a good deal of research and comparing, I did finally settle the best receiver for me would be the SR7008.

I went to best buy to look at the model they had on display. It was a sr6008. I looked it over and played with some settings for awhile. It was just as I expected.
I then put my hand on the top and noticed it was very hot. I did the same to the sr6008 and it too was very hot to the touch
I compared it with a Yamaha nearby and it wasn't nearly as hot.

That being said,these were in tight enclosures which obviously counts for something. But has anyone that owns these had any problems with them going into protection mode because of the heat?

I don't plan to drive them too hard too often but I do like to turn things up on my favorite songs and movies

-John

"Alcohol: The cause of and solution to ALL of life's problems" Homer Simpson
Hensley300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Tweaked05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hensley300 View Post

Hello all,

After doing a good deal of research and comparing, I did finally settle the best receiver for me would be the SR7008.

I went to best buy to look at the model they had on display. It was a sr6008. I looked it over and played with some settings for awhile. It was just as I expected.
I then put my hand on the top and noticed it was very hot. I did the same to the sr6008 and it too was very hot to the touch
I compared it with a Yamaha nearby and it wasn't nearly as hot.

That being said,these were in tight enclosures which obviously counts for something. But has anyone that owns these had any problems with them going into protection mode because of the heat?

I don't plan to drive them too hard too often but I do like to turn things up on my favorite songs and movies

-John

I have watched multiple movies now at volumes that I enjoy, but my wife feels is too loud. Reference level or not, I don't know, but no problems with my 7008.
Tweaked05 is offline  
post #993 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweaked05 View Post

Can anyone help me out with Airplay from my Ipod Touch? My SR7008 is on my network and so is my Ipod, but I can't find the Airplay icon on my ipod. I checked the version of IOS on my ipod and it is 5.1.1 which as I understand it should have airplay.

The Airplay icon is app-centric , which means you'll only ever see it when you're in the app. Also keep in mind that not every app is Airplay-able. The icon looks like a rectangle with an upward- pointing arrow . Try Apple's music app first just to test it out.

COMING SOONFinding the Ark of the Covenant by Brian Roberts, in the iBook Store on iTunes, a new investigation into the Hebrew’s Most Sacred Relic!
[Irishman] is online now  
post #994 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 09:03 AM
Member
 
stereoforsale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

1) This suggests that there might be a problem with your center channel and/or the associated speaker. That's where most of the dialog is provided by movies.
...
2) The change in volume level is normal when DynVol is enabled. It takes a little while for it to readjust the overall volume level when there's an abrupt change.
...
3) With 87dB sensitivity, your speakers are somewhat inefficient for use in a home theater.

Thanks for the tips.
1) dialogue is fine, it's just too low sometimes when Dyn Vol is not engaged. I can increase the volume so the dialogue is more audible, but like I said, then the louder scenes are far too loud. Yes, increasing the volume of just the centre channel might help (as opposed to using Dyn Vol) but I suspect this will create other problems... but I may try it out.

2) good to know. I suspected this was the reason. Not ideal, but at least there is no point getting an external amp if it won't solve the problem.

3) sensitivity is 90db for the matrix 803s (my L&R) and 89db for the matrix HTMs (my centre and rear left and rear right). I use the 805s for the surrounds only (87db), but they are quite close to the seating area. Best speakers I ever had... and probably the best ever in their price range... irreplaceable smile.gif
stereoforsale is offline  
post #995 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 02:51 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm running a 5.1 system and don't see going to 9.2 or even 7.2 in the future. It looks like the X4000 and the SR7008 have the same amp's? Do they have the same DAC's? They do both have MultEQ XT32. So in my case why would I like the SR7008 over the X4000? Which one sounds better? I'm looking for the best sound I can get out of an AVR.
gce is offline  
post #996 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 03:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
The SR7008 has 2 more amps than does the X4000, so then with only a 5.1 setup in the main zone, the SR7008 can power a set of Zone 2 and Zone 3 speakers as well (eg. patio, deck, bedroom, office, living room, etc.). There are those that prefer Marantz more so when more detailed music listening is especially important to them.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #997 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 04:33 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

There are those that prefer Marantz more so when more detailed music listening is especially important to them.

This would be especially important to me. So if the SR7008 is more detailed, in music than the X4000 then the SR7008 would be the one I'd want.

Thanks jd!
gce is offline  
post #998 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 169
You can't power zone 3 speakers with the 7008 internal amps. Zone 3 is external amp only. I hate the amp assign limitations of the current D&M products

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #999 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Well according to the 7008 manual, you can run 5.1 and power zones 2 and 3 or run 7.1 and power zone 2.
The Denon 4520 has 9 amps as well and all 9 amps are available to be assigned as needed. Highly configurable.
PeterK is offline  
post #1000 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 07:06 PM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post

Well according to the 7008 manual, you can run 5.1 and power zones 2 and 3

yeah, I read that on page 147 but really don't think I'll need a zone3. Good to know this is possible with a 5.1 setup tho.
gce is offline  
post #1001 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Sorry, you can power zone 3 in a 5.1 main zone setup. In my room with a 7.1 setup and 9 internal amplifiers available, I can only use 1 pair (zone 2). Zone 3 requires another amp.

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #1002 of 3264 Old 12-28-2013, 08:40 PM
Member
 
CrashMeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereoforsale View Post

... matrix 803s (my L&R) ... Best speakers I ever had... and probably the best ever in their price range... irreplaceable smile.gif

I have a pair of 803s (L&R) powered by a Rotel 120W amp. Been giving my goosebumps from pure listening pleasure for 15+ years and still going strong. Best money I ever spent.
CrashMeister is offline  
post #1003 of 3264 Old 12-29-2013, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
MerlinBike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just installed a brand new SR5008 two days ago. It worked great for all of 15 hours— video, AirPlay, everything I wanted worked great. Then it asked to do a software update, downloaded the update, and then went into an update loop. I pulled the plug for a few hours, held the power button down for a few minutes, did a reset to factory settings a few times, tried starting it with the PRESET CH +/- buttons held down, and it still just keeps trying to update the software, ending up with a "Cannot connect OE" message. (The sequence of the messages is "Update Retry//DSP 07min/ Connect failed OE" and then it starts the sequence again, doing it over and over.) Marantz is closed on weekends, so no help there.  My network is fine: the Marantz even shows up on AirPlay for a few minutes when it powers on.

 

Any ideas?

MerlinBike is offline  
post #1004 of 3264 Old 12-29-2013, 11:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
^^
Give the tips suggested in the below post as they apply to your situation ....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#post_23134210

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1005 of 3264 Old 12-29-2013, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
MerlinBike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks. They did not work, so I guess its me and Marantz on the phone tomorrow.

MerlinBike is offline  
post #1006 of 3264 Old 12-29-2013, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
dibart77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all!  I recently purchased an SR5008 and have been having a couple of issues that have got me at my wits end and I need help from smarter / more experienced people than myself!

 

First, here's my current equipment:

 

     - Oppo BDP_103 Blu-Ray
     - Sony Cable Box
     - Marantz SR5008
     - Panasonic TH-42PH9UK Plasma
     - All connected via HDMI (latest)
     
My issues are:

 

A) I am having an issue where I can't get video to display on the plasma.  When I run the Marantz on-screen display/setup without the other components turned on, I am all good and have great 1080p video on the display.  As soon as I turn on the Oppo or the cable box, I lose video and can't get it back.

 

I upgraded the firmware in the Oppo, the cable box, and the SR5008.  Didn't help.  Can't find anywhere to get firmware update for the plasma (nothing on Panasonic's site, nothing on OSD).

 

When I connect the Oppo or the cable box directly to the HDMI input on the plasma, I have no issues at all.  So it seems to me that the SR5008 is the problem?

 

I determined that this must be an HDCP issue, so I bought a Dr. HDMI and now I have video!  The only negative with this workaround is that when I switch sources (say, from Blu Ray to Cable), I need to turn the plasma on and off before the new source will display.

 

Any suggestions on how to fix the above issue CORRECTLY (rather than the Dr. HDMI in the chain)?  If not, any suggestions on how to avoid having to power cycle the display?

 

 

B) Issue B is interesting.  Watching a movie, gets to a loud / exciting section in the movie and the sound is cutting out (on ALL 5.1 channels -- not like one speaker with a loose cable, it's all channels).  Like, for a split second.  Keeps doing it.  Almost like some protection circuit, although I do NOT have this on loud (watching Monsters University with my wife and young kids, not blasting at all).  Have never had this issue in the past with my Denon AVR-2809CI and the same Oppo player.  Any thoughts here?

 

 

I am getting discouraged by these two issues and am strongly considering sending the Marantz back.  I looked at getting a Denon but then realized that they have the same back panel, so I assume they have the same guts, so I'd probably have the same issues...

 

Any help or suggestions you guys can give would be really appreciated.  Thanks all!

 

Regards,
Jeff

dibart77 is offline  
post #1007 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 04:59 AM
Member
 
fx3000se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

 Please read through the Audyssey 101/FAQ Guide linked in my sig

Could it be that the mentioned link is no more "there" ;)

Would appreciate to read this 101/FAQ

 

- Clemens

fx3000se is offline  
post #1008 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 05:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
Audyssey 101/FAQ Guide ....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/795421/official-audyssey-thread-faq-in-post-51779/51700_100#post_21782993
fx3000se likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1009 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 06:25 AM
Member
 
Hensley300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern US
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
BTW,

Are you guys having success with the logitech harmony one remote or better with another model like the ultimate?

"Alcohol: The cause of and solution to ALL of life's problems" Homer Simpson
Hensley300 is offline  
post #1010 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Quad Cities
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweaked05 View Post

I have watched multiple movies now at volumes that I enjoy, but my wife feels is too loud. Reference level or not, I don't know, but no problems with my 7008.

I too have watched many movies in my two months of SR7008 ownership, and found that even after two movies, the top of the Marantz gets "luke" warm to the touch.
I have it in an open TV stand, with a glass shelf over it about 2 inches. Love the 7008:)

Marantz SR7008
Emotiva XPA5
PS3
PSA XV15se
Sony BDP-370
Toshiba HD-A2
Polk Monitor 70's,Polk CS20,Polk R50's,Polk F/XiA4's,Polk OWM3's
Polk PSW 505's
Sharp 60 LED 640U
Optoma HD25-LV
Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console
lizrussspike is offline  
post #1011 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
petercw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone tell me if the two sub pre-outs can be separated (via the on-screen UI) so that one sub is working the Front L/R and surrounds and the other sub pre-out is dedicated to the center channel?
thanks.
petercw2 is offline  
post #1012 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 03:23 PM
Member
 
stereoforsale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrashMeister View Post

I have a pair of 803s (L&R) powered by a Rotel 120W amp. Been giving my goosebumps from pure listening pleasure for 15+ years and still going strong. Best money I ever spent.

I used to run mine with a Class pre-amp/processor and Parasound amp. The sounds greatly improved with the SR7008 (at less then 1/3rd the price!). I think much of it has to do with Audyssey calibration. We are pretty lucky to get the last reasonably priced B&W 800 series... things got way too expensive after the matrix series. Happy Listening!
stereoforsale is offline  
post #1013 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post

Can anyone tell me if the two sub pre-outs can be separated (via the on-screen UI) so that one sub is working the Front L/R and surrounds and the other sub pre-out is dedicated to the center channel?
thanks.
No, it's doesn't work that way. No reason for it, in fact it would just mess things up. Talk about a placement and calibration nightmare...

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #1014 of 3264 Old 12-30-2013, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
RDHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibart77 View Post

Hi all!  I recently purchased an SR5008 and have been having a couple of issues that have got me at my wits end and I need help from smarter / more experienced people than myself!

First, here's my current equipment:

     - Oppo BDP_103 Blu-Ray

     - Sony Cable Box

     - Marantz SR5008

     - Panasonic TH-42PH9UK Plasma

     - All connected via HDMI (latest)

     

My issues are:

A) I am having an issue where I can't get video to display on the plasma.  When I run the Marantz on-screen display/setup without the other components turned on, I am all good and have great 1080p video on the display.  As soon as I turn on the Oppo or the cable box, I lose video and can't get it back.

I upgraded the firmware in the Oppo, the cable box, and the SR5008.  Didn't help.  Can't find anywhere to get firmware update for the plasma (nothing on Panasonic's site, nothing on OSD).

When I connect the Oppo or the cable box directly to the HDMI input on the plasma, I have no issues at all.  So it seems to me that the SR5008 is the problem?

I determined that this must be an HDCP issue, so I bought a Dr. HDMI and now I have video!  The only negative with this workaround is that when I switch sources (say, from Blu Ray to Cable), I need to turn the plasma on and off before the new source will display.

Any suggestions on how to fix the above issue CORRECTLY (rather than the Dr. HDMI in the chain)?  If not, any suggestions on how to avoid having to power cycle the display?


B) Issue B is interesting.  Watching a movie, gets to a loud / exciting section in the movie and the sound is cutting out (on ALL 5.1 channels -- not like one speaker with a loose cable, it's all channels).  Like, for a split second.  Keeps doing it.  Almost like some protection circuit, although I do NOT have this on loud (watching Monsters University with my wife and young kids, not blasting at all).  Have never had this issue in the past with my Denon AVR-2809CI and the same Oppo player.  Any thoughts here?


I am getting discouraged by these two issues and am strongly considering sending the Marantz back.  I looked at getting a Denon but then realized that they have the same back panel, so I assume they have the same guts, so I'd probably have the same issues...

Any help or suggestions you guys can give would be really appreciated.  Thanks all!

Regards,

Jeff

Here is what I would do.

1. Make sure that all the HDMI cables are plugged in straight and securely.

2. Try a different High Speed HDMI cable between the Marantz and the Display.

3. Try different High Speed HDMI cables between the OPPO and the Marantz.

How long are your HDMI cables?

Do you have HDMI CEC turned on in any of the devices. If yes, try turning it off.

Do you get the sound drop outs when using DR. HDMI?

Bob Holmes
Curmudgeon
RDHolmes is offline  
post #1015 of 3264 Old 12-31-2013, 03:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
Quote:
Originally Posted by petercw2 View Post

Can anyone tell me if the two sub pre-outs can be separated (via the on-screen UI) so that one sub is working the Front L/R and surrounds and the other sub pre-out is dedicated to the center channel?
thanks.

As Tom indicated, no. Additionally, on the 5008 and 6008 the dual sub pre-outs are nothing more than an internal "Y" splitter of a single sub pre-out, whereas on the 7008 each sub pre-out will independently control the volume of each sub.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1016 of 3264 Old 12-31-2013, 04:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
@dibart77

1. HDMI handshake issues with cable boxes are common ... the better configuration is HDMI to the TV with optical from the cable box to the AVR. Also, confirm the "Deep Color Output" setting on the Oppo is set to OFF.
2. Check the level of Dynamic Volume that is being used as you may want to lower it or turn it off completely.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1017 of 3264 Old 12-31-2013, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Harmon Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know if Marantz uses the same DAC in their SR5008 and the UD5007? I am wondering if I will benefit by using the Analog outputs of my 5007? Thanks for any input.
Harmon Fan is offline  
post #1018 of 3264 Old 12-31-2013, 11:42 AM
Member
 
ollegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Moscow
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings and Happy New Year!
Is there a way to bi-amp the center channel on SR7008 please using one of the unused channels? I have a 7.2 set up.
Thank you in anticipation
ollegg is offline  
post #1019 of 3264 Old 12-31-2013, 01:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harmon Fan View Post

Does anyone know if Marantz uses the same DAC in their SR5008 and the UD5007? I am wondering if I will benefit by using the Analog outputs of my 5007? Thanks for any input.

No Audyssey with the multi analog inputs is why most prefer using HDMI. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1020 of 3264 Old 12-31-2013, 01:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 47,231
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2308 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
Quote:
Originally Posted by ollegg View Post

Greetings and Happy New Year!
Is there a way to bi-amp the center channel on SR7008 please using one of the unused channels? I have a 7.2 set up.
Thank you in anticipation

Sorry, but no, although there would be no benefit even if you could (just as there is no benefit using the on board feature for the FL/FR speakers). wink.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Direct line 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off