The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 501Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 4833 Old 08-02-2013, 02:53 AM
Newbie
 
Jolly74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sound was to heavy and the amp was to big for my speaker setup,
I want a more detalied sound and not so heavy, if you know what i mean?
biggrin.gif
Jolly74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 4833 Old 08-02-2013, 03:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Hmm. Can you post what your speakers are please? No such thing as an amp that is too big really, not that would affect the sound negatively. There will be some slight audible differences possibly between electronics and the biggest difference would be if you are moving up the food chain with Audyssey.

Normally, improving your speakers will make the most improvement in audio quality.
PeterK is offline  
post #93 of 4833 Old 08-02-2013, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
Jolly74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
speaker setup triangle galaxy 2 5.2 system.....wink.gif
Jolly74 is offline  
 
post #94 of 4833 Old 08-02-2013, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
Jolly74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post

Hmm. Can you post what your speakers are please? No such thing as an amp that is too big really, not that would affect the sound negatively. There will be some slight audible differences possibly between electronics and the biggest difference would be if you are moving up the food chain with Audyssey.

Normally, improving your speakers will make the most improvement in audio quality.

slight audible differences possibly between electronics <---that was what i meant! but my i english is bad wink.gif
Jolly74 is offline  
post #95 of 4833 Old 08-02-2013, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Did some research - not sure what subwoofers you have in your system. The normal package has subs that go down to ~40 hz with a 100 watt amp. If that is what you have, I would recommend looking at upgrades to your subs with more built in power and larger drivers as small underpowered subwoofers will produce bass that to me is "smeared" - not clear, detailed, quick. Have no idea what is available in your country.

The new receiver will do it's job just fine as the Marantz SR7008 is their top model. It will not be your problem and you need to look at your source equipment feeding the audio and especially the speakers or subwoofers as they may be your weakest link. Good luck to you. Pete

Oh and you should consider starting a separate post in the speakers forum here for any further questions to get better answers. smile.gif
PeterK is offline  
post #96 of 4833 Old 08-02-2013, 11:13 PM
Newbie
 
Jolly74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.triangle-fr.com/en/esprit/meteor_0.1/ <---I have two of those
http://www.hembiobutiken.se/produkt.asp?pgrpnr=140950 <---This is the Swedish webb page that i shop from, use google translate from Swedish to English....
I´m really grateful for all the help that you are given me. smile.gif
Jolly74 is offline  
post #97 of 4833 Old 08-04-2013, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickPas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Starting to find my way around the new reciever.....I'm really starting to enjoy it....And my mic boom should be here tomorrow, so If anything it will sound even better...
Quick question when I run audyssey again.....I know it says to put the mic ear level at my listening position, If I do that the back of the couch will probably be right behind the mic, I thought I read that this is not good, but if I raise the mic higher than the back of the couch it will be alot higher than ear level...So what is recommended?
Rick

RickP.
RickPas is offline  
post #98 of 4833 Old 08-04-2013, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Either recline the back of the couch (if possible) or raise the mic a few inches above the back of the couch. Neither is ideal, but it's what you have to work with.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #99 of 4833 Old 08-05-2013, 02:58 PM
mnc
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 2,729
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Has anyone compared the x4000 to the 7008?

NHT speakers, Denon 4520, Panasonic 65VT50, DUAL PSA XS30SE's
mnc is offline  
post #100 of 4833 Old 08-06-2013, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
RickPas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got my Mic boom yesterday so I re ran Audyssey today....Here is what my new settings are....
Crossovers
Front- 150
Center-90
Surrounds-150
Sub- 120

It sounds really good so far on what I've listened to, but should I change the Fronts Down to 120 or lower? Keep in mind I have large speakers Triton 2's and a svs sub pb-12 nsd....

Also, when I listened back to music on HDMI I'm showing a PCM signal and when I changed it from Stereo to Direct, I got a lot fuller sound.....Is Direct a better setting when listening to stereo mode music??

The only other thing so far I changed right after I ran Audyssey was the Dialog channel, it had my center up to loud for my taste, so I lowered it and I like it much better...It did this even the first time I ran Audyssey...

Rick

RickP.
RickPas is offline  
post #101 of 4833 Old 08-06-2013, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
^^
Review the Audyssey 101/FAQ Guide linked in my sig to learn why you don't want to lower any crossovers as well as how to optimize the use of Audyssey.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #102 of 4833 Old 08-06-2013, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
RickPas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Review the Audyssey 101/FAQ Guide linked in my sig to learn why you don't want to lower any crossovers as well as how to optimize the use of Audyssey.


So if I don't lower any crossovers is it ok to raise a speaker level? Like if I want to raise the sub a little?
Rick

RickP.
RickPas is offline  
post #103 of 4833 Old 08-06-2013, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,155
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 1662
Rick,

Looks like you are doing something that's not correct because those speakers should be detected by Audyssey as full range. I don't know how the subwoofer in the Triton 2's work but for sure they can go very low (like 20Hz). It's not normal that Audyssey set the crossover at 150Hz in a speaker that can go below 20Hz.



Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio
Media Room: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers w/ RAAL, Horizon w/ RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE (x2) | Emotiva XMC-1 | Emotiva XPA-3 & XPA-200 | Oppo 105D | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony HW40ES |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac|
Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz NR1606 | Emotiva XPA-200 Gen 2 | Samsung UN50JU6500 |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #104 of 4833 Old 08-06-2013, 04:32 PM
Member
 
mizzoufan2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see the HDAM has trickled down to the 5008 and 6008, previously only on the 7007. Is this a meaningful upgrade that can be heard? 5007 and 6007 can be found cheap. Is it worth it to pay the premium for a 5008 over a 5007?
Hawkboy likes this.
mizzoufan2001 is offline  
post #105 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 03:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post

So if I don't lower any crossovers is it ok to raise a speaker level? Like if I want to raise the sub a little?
Rick

You can raise/lower speaker/sub levels to your heart's content as these are not set by Audyssey, but as I suggested, review the Audyssey 101/FAQ Guide which will explain this as well as help you troubleshoot why you're getting such high crossover settings in the first place.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #106 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickPas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was looking through the audyssey 101 faq and was wondering if this could have caused my Audyssey to set up with such high crossovers on my Triton 2's....I had the LFE+Main selected on the avr before running it.....Could this have caused my high crossover settings? Also, when it started Audyssey and set the level for my sub for 75 db I put it to 80 even though Audyssey told me it was too high....I know alot of people mention they keep their sub higher than the 75 that Audyssey reccomends...But Should I have left it at the 75 so Audyssey could run the eq then, bumped it up after???
Rick

RickP.
RickPas is offline  
post #107 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
New Marantz owner here. I just picked up a 6008. I can't wait to get home and set it all up. biggrin.gif
Jolly74 likes this.
lulimet is offline  
post #108 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Jolly74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I orderd my marantz 7008 yesterday smile.gif it´s coming in stores in Sweden 16e of Aug.
I can´t wait!!! mad.gif
Jolly74 is offline  
post #109 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
RickPas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 12
another question, does it matter what order you do in the 8 position audyssey settings? I think I might have did a few not in the right order as the diagram on the 101 thread.....
Rick

RickP.
RickPas is offline  
post #110 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 02:29 PM
Member
 
socalhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is this an Audyssey thread or a Marantz thread wink.gif

Anyone update the firmware on one of these units?

I updated the firmware on my brand-spanking-new 7008 and it stopped passing through video and audio signals one day later. Eg. unit would turn on, act like everything was fine, but not output video or audio.

Apparently of the 843 7008s delivered to US customers, this was the first sent back for repair.

My replacement unit wants to update the firmware but I'm gun shy about doing so.
socalhdtv is offline  
post #111 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 03:03 PM
Member
 
socalhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BTW - anyone bi-amping their unit? I'm bi-amping and running Zone 2 and Zone 3 off of a separate multichannel amp. I wonder if the bi-amping fried it?!?!
socalhdtv is offline  
post #112 of 4833 Old 08-07-2013, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I opened up the box and I am disappointed that the remote is not back lit like my SR5005's was. frown.gif
lulimet is offline  
post #113 of 4833 Old 08-08-2013, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
enjoythemusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
socalhdtv am bi-amping the Dunlavy's and works fine here.

Firmware update went ok, but seemed to turn on Zone 2 and 3, thus had to turn them off to get proper video rez fed out to the Poineer Kuro.
Jolly74 likes this.

Enjoy the Music,

Steve R. Rochlin
Creative Director
www.EnjoyTheMusic.com
enjoythemusic is offline  
post #114 of 4833 Old 08-08-2013, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,155
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 1662
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalhdtv View Post

Is this an Audyssey thread or a Marantz thread wink.gif

Anyone update the firmware on one of these units?

I updated the firmware on my brand-spanking-new 7008 and it stopped passing through video and audio signals one day later. Eg. unit would turn on, act like everything was fine, but not output video or audio.

Apparently of the 843 7008s delivered to US customers, this was the first sent back for repair.

My replacement unit wants to update the firmware but I'm gun shy about doing so.

I did updated the firmware on my SR7008 last week with no problems. Everything is working fine since the first day I got it. I got mine July 19th.



Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio
Media Room: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers w/ RAAL, Horizon w/ RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE (x2) | Emotiva XMC-1 | Emotiva XPA-3 & XPA-200 | Oppo 105D | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony HW40ES |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac|
Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz NR1606 | Emotiva XPA-200 Gen 2 | Samsung UN50JU6500 |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #115 of 4833 Old 08-08-2013, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post

another question, does it matter what order you do in the 8 position audyssey settings? I think I might have did a few not in the right order as the diagram on the 101 thread.....
Rick

No, order does not matter ... just vary the positions within a 2'-3' radius around the #1 mic position and you should be good to go. smile.gif
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #116 of 4833 Old 08-08-2013, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,855
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15368 Post(s)
Liked: 7517
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post

I was looking through the audyssey 101 faq and was wondering if this could have caused my Audyssey to set up with such high crossovers on my Triton 2's....I had the LFE+Main selected on the avr before running it.....Could this have caused my high crossover settings? Also, when it started Audyssey and set the level for my sub for 75 db I put it to 80 even though Audyssey told me it was too high....I know alot of people mention they keep their sub higher than the 75 that Audyssey reccomends...But Should I have left it at the 75 so Audyssey could run the eq then, bumped it up after???
Rick

No, Audyssey ignores any settings you have prior to running Audyssey. Yes, adjust the sub volume after Audyssey has completed as most folks like to run the sub about 5db hot.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #117 of 4833 Old 08-08-2013, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
Jolly74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post

Starting to find my way around the new reciever.....I'm really starting to enjoy it....And my mic boom should be here tomorrow, so If anything it will sound even better...
Quick question when I run audyssey again.....I know it says to put the mic ear level at my listening position, If I do that the back of the couch will probably be right behind the mic, I thought I read that this is not good, but if I raise the mic higher than the back of the couch it will be alot higher than ear level...So what is recommended?
Rick
Can you please send me a picture of the mick boom? smile.gif
Jolly74 is offline  
post #118 of 4833 Old 08-09-2013, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I encountered something that I thought is strange. I wanted to play some apple losless tracks through the network feature from my NAS but the receiver wouldn't play them. No problem playing my tracks in MP3 format.
Then I used AirPlay to play apple losless tracks from my PC, which is connected to the SR6008, and they played with no problem. I thought that was strange.
lulimet is offline  
post #119 of 4833 Old 08-09-2013, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,155
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 1662
What kind of NAS do you have? I have a Synology DS712+ and have no problems with FLAC or ALAC files. Try enabling DMA Compatibility.




Enrico Castagnetti @ Rythmik Audio
Media Room: Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers w/ RAAL, Horizon w/ RAAL, Sierra 2s & Lunas | Rythmik F12SE (x2) | Emotiva XMC-1 | Emotiva XPA-3 & XPA-200 | Oppo 105D | Bluesound Node 2 | Sony HW40ES |
Desktop: Dynaudio BM5 mkIII | Rythmik L22 | Apogee Quartet | 27" iMac|
Bedroom: B&W 685 S2 | Rythmik LVX12 | Marantz NR1606 | Emotiva XPA-200 Gen 2 | Samsung UN50JU6500 |
enricoclaudio is offline  
post #120 of 4833 Old 08-09-2013, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
It's a WD MyBook Live. It has the Twonky media server. I am not sure I have seen the options you have in yours.
lulimet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr6008 , Marantz Sr7008

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off