The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 03:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdemello View Post

Just got my B&W 804D and Marantz 7008 last week. Tried audyssey but after calculation all my speakers are calibrated at around -7db, except for the sub which was -3db. Anything wrong with these settings? Previously I tried +1.5db for the front speakers only but somehow didn't feel anything different. Am I missing something?

Those settings are just fine. Most speakers will end up with a (-) volume setting and as long as the sub setting is not -12db, you're good to go. Audyssey ignores any volume settings prior to the setup, but after the setup, if your preference is to boost any of the speaker/sub levels (especially the sub), you can do so using the AVR's GUI menu.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 06:25 AM
Newbie
 
chad2057's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


The TV does not have to be connected to do a reset.

 

Yes it does. Speaking by own experience with a Marantz tech on the phone.

chad2057 is offline  
post #1263 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 06:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
I've never heard of this. Perhaps other owners can post with their own experience as to whether doing a reset requires the TV to be on or not? Thanks.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1264 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Quad Cities
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chad2057 View Post

Yes it does. Speaking by own experience with a Marantz tech on the phone.

I have a 7008 and my iphone locked up the receiver. I did a reset, wth no TV, and the receiver came back on. Then I went on to update the receiver with the screen on front display.
I then turned on my tv to run the Audyssey and basic set up again.Not sure why the tech told you that, but that is my experience. I went to the Marantz tech for a sound related issue, and he did not tell me anything that I did know about 7.2 vs 9.2 with an external amp( he quoted the manual). Maybe I got a newer tech, but I still have the e-mail, and am not impressed.

Marantz SR7008
Emotiva XPA5
PS3
PSA XV15se
Sony BDP-370
Toshiba HD-A2
Polk Monitor 70's,Polk CS20,Polk R50's,Polk F/XiA4's,Polk OWM3's
Polk PSW 505's
Sharp 60 LED 640U
Optoma HD25-LV
Belkin PureAV Home Theater Power Console
lizrussspike is offline  
post #1265 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 08:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
^^
Thank you. Yes, this makes sense as there should be no need to have the TV on in order to do the reset. As a follow up though ... what is it you are not impressed with?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1266 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I bench reset 2 or 3 times and install firmware on all my Marantz and Denon recievers and pre pros before they leave the shop with nothing connected but AC power and ethernet. Just did a 7008 30 minutes ago.

Hear me now, Listen to me later....
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #1267 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 10:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
^^
Thanks Tom. And with this final and conclusive confirmation, we return to our normal programming ..... (ie. the TV does not have to be on when doing a reset.). smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1268 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I am looking to replace my onkyo sr805. What model should I get? I have an external amp (Emotiva 5 channel), so I don't need a strong amp from the AVR. I will be upgrading to a newer 3D projector about 6 months down the road (replacing Epson 6500). I like the look of the Marantz.


Thanks guys.

Tntrac
tractng is offline  
post #1269 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post

I am looking to replace my onkyo sr805. What model should I get? I have an external amp (Emotiva 5 channel), so I don't need a strong amp from the AVR. I will be upgrading to a newer 3D projector about 6 months down the road (replacing Epson 6500). I like the look of the Marantz.


Thanks guys.

Tntrac

Of the 3, the power you'll receive by stepping up won't matter since you're outboarding the amp duties to your Emotiva, so my knee-jerk reaction is to say save the money and go with the SR-5008. Yet, there are features that might make one of the other 2 a better fit for you. For example, if you're using a sub(s) in your room, and if that room is kind of hard to EQ, you might benefit from the better version of Audyssey that EQs your sub(s), too. Only the 7008 has that. The 5008 doesn't have Airplay if you want to be able to do that without buying an Apple TV. The 5008 doesn't have a built-in phono input, so if you want to use a turntable, you'll need to add an external pre-amp.

Those are the big differences I can think of of the top of my head.

[Irishman] is offline  
post #1270 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Irishman] View Post

Of the 3, the power you'll receive by stepping up won't matter since you're outboarding the amp duties to your Emotiva, so my knee-jerk reaction is to say save the money and go with the SR-5008. Yet, there are features that might make one of the other 2 a better fit for you. For example, if you're using a sub(s) in your room, and if that room is kind of hard to EQ, you might benefit from the better version of Audyssey that EQs your sub(s), too. Only the 7008 has that. The 5008 doesn't have Airplay if you want to be able to do that without buying an Apple TV. The 5008 doesn't have a built-in phono input, so if you want to use a turntable, you'll need to add an external pre-amp.

Those are the big differences I can think of of the top of my head.

Thank you. I have a JL Fathom f113 sub that has its own calibration. Let me do some more readings about the Airplay, etc
tractng is offline  
post #1271 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 05:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Irishman] View Post

Of the 3, the power you'll receive by stepping up won't matter since you're outboarding the amp duties to your Emotiva, so my knee-jerk reaction is to say save the money and go with the SR-5008. Yet, there are features that might make one of the other 2 a better fit for you. For example, if you're using a sub(s) in your room, and if that room is kind of hard to EQ, you might benefit from the better version of Audyssey that EQs your sub(s), too. Only the 7008 has that. The 5008 doesn't have Airplay if you want to be able to do that without buying an Apple TV. The 5008 doesn't have a built-in phono input, so if you want to use a turntable, you'll need to add an external pre-amp.

Those are the big differences I can think of of the top of my head.

Every version of Audyssey that is featured on any Marantz model will EQ the subwoofer. The 7008 includes an additional feature called Audyssey Sub EQ HT which will set the level and distance for dual subs before XT32 EQ's them as a single sub. Also Airplay is featured on every 2013 Marantz model as well to include the 1504, 1604 and 5008.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1272 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post

Thank you. I have a JL Fathom f113 sub that has its own calibration. Let me do some more readings about the Airplay, etc
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Irishman] View Post

... The 5008 doesn't have Airplay if you want to be able to do that without buying an Apple TV. ...

I believe all of Marantz 2013 receivers have Airplay feature. I have the bottom of the range NR-1504 and it's got Airplay. Did a quick check on Marantz website and the SR-5008 does have the Airplay feature.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is offline  
post #1273 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 05:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post

Thank you. I have a JL Fathom f113 sub that has its own calibration. Let me do some more readings about the Airplay, etc

The recommendation when using Audyssey is to first use the sub's own calibration and then let Audyssey fine tune it even further.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1274 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Every version of Audyssey that is featured on any Marantz model will EQ the subwoofer. The 7008 includes an additional feature called Audyssey Sub EQ HT which will set the level and distance for dual subs before XT32 EQ's them as a single sub. Also Airplay is featured on every 2013 Marantz model as well to include the 1504, 1604 and 5008.

Thanks smoothie! I had misremembered the Audyssey step-up feature with regard to exactly what it offered.

And, thanks guys, for keeping me humble and corrected on the Airplay feature! smile.gif

This is what I love about AVS. Incorrect information doesn't persist for long, especially when it's MINE. smile.gif

[Irishman] is offline  
post #1275 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 06:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
^^
Just trying to keep you honest ..... smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1276 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
dgr6853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Stocton, CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey everyone.  I bought a SR-7007 about a week ago and I was allowed to take home the store demo until my new one arrived at the store.  I noticed that subwoofer 1 never really put out any signal to my sub so just moved my signal over to subwoofer out 2.  I got my new one today and I got it home this evening and thus far I've noticed that its subwoofer out 1 does the same thing.  So, Im wondering what I'm doing wrong because at this point I thinks its me or something I'm doing as opposed to two receivers back to back having the same exact problem.  

 

Any suggestions or thoughts.

 

David

dgr6853 is offline  
post #1277 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 08:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
Both pre-outs should output the same signal. You may want to try resetting the microprocessor (p. 179 Owner's manual), although if you're only planning on using 1 sub, doesn't really matter which one you use.

Also note there is a dedicated thread for SR7007 owners for more helpful information ...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1420942/marantz-sr7007-av-receiver-owners-thread/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1278 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgr6853 View Post

Hey everyone.  I bought a SR-7007 about a week ago and I was allowed to take home the store demo until my new one arrived at the store.  I noticed that subwoofer 1 never really put out any signal to my sub so just moved my signal over to subwoofer out 2.  I got my new one today and I got it home this evening and thus far I've noticed that its subwoofer out 1 does the same thing.  So, Im wondering what I'm doing wrong because at this point I thinks its me or something I'm doing as opposed to two receivers back to back having the same exact problem.  

Any suggestions or thoughts.

David

Did you run Audyssey? Just plug in your subwoofer in SW1 and let the receiver detect your subwoofer.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #1279 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 09:09 PM
Newbie
 
dgr6853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Stocton, CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The cable was connected to SW1 when I ran Audessy.  Just thought there might be something common that I was missing.  I keep trying until I get it working.

dgr6853 is offline  
post #1280 of 2736 Old 01-24-2014, 09:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,037
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1326
As the unit is likely well over a year old, if it was purchased as used/demo, then resetting the microprocessor is always the first step to ensure all settings are returned to their original factory defaults. Although, if that is the only issue and you ever do decide on adding a second subwoofer, you can simply purchase a $3 RCA "Y" splitter cable and get your two sub pre-outs again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1281 of 2736 Old 01-25-2014, 10:24 AM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgr6853 View Post

The cable was connected to SW1 when I ran Audessy.  Just thought there might be something common that I was missing.  I keep trying until I get it working.

If it set your speakers to large your sub may not come on. In this case set your speakers to small and start the crossover at 80hz.
gce is online now  
post #1282 of 2736 Old 01-26-2014, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Deadbydawn71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Gents,

I have the Verizon man coming over tomorrow to run a ethernet cable from the router located in my office on the other side of my house to my SR6008 ,which is in my living room. Can you tell me which port on my router I should plug the ethernet cable into? I just want to make sure it's right and have no issues.

Thanks in advance.....
Deadbydawn71 is offline  
post #1283 of 2736 Old 01-27-2014, 01:40 PM
Member
 
fx3000se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have my one year old Panasonic bluray player connected to my 6008 through HDMI.
If I play CDs on this player will it sound noticably worse than from a real CD player (over cinch)?
fx3000se is offline  
post #1284 of 2736 Old 01-27-2014, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 325
All other things being equal, a CD played on a BD player will sound identical to a CD played on a CD player.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #1285 of 2736 Old 01-27-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
Deadbydawn71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Gents,

Verizon guy came today and since my coax cable wire for my tv is coming out of the wall right next to my SR6008 he was able to hook up this really small converter box that has a ethernet output port on it. Very cool.

I have a spotify account so being connected to the Network is great. I downloaded the Marantz app downloaded on my iphone/ipad and it's very cool. Even shows the album covers and enables control of song selection.

Lastly- I had my two Klipsch RF 82II's connected to the receiver using just the front left and right. It sounded good but since I was back there I decided to bi wire the speakers and selected the bi- amp feature.

I read alot of mixed feelings about it but imo my setup sounds better now. I turned the subs off and listened to just the mains connected both ways and it sounds better to me. I know I am not the stereo master like you guys but I believe I have a very good ear. Either way I am very happy with the system. Looking forward to getting a center chan. speaker and the rear speakers.

Thank you everyone who replied to my questions- I really appreciate your time and suggestions. smile.gif
Deadbydawn71 is offline  
post #1286 of 2736 Old 01-27-2014, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Glad that you got the network figured out.
About the bi-amping, I say do whatever you feel doing and enjoy. It's a matter of choice and preference. If you can hear differences then good for you.
Deadbydawn71 likes this.
lulimet is online now  
post #1287 of 2736 Old 01-27-2014, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
Rick Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hi, I'm a newbie in modern surround modes but have an older Denon 5.1 receiver (no Room Correction), my main hobby has been higher-end stereo audio, set up in a separate room ...

 

Anyway, I've gotten the upgrade bug for our HT system, I've about decided on the 5008 or 6008, but would like to clear something up before committing to the 6008. I like the DSD capability over HDMI and the possibility of front wide or height channels - and that's where my question arises. I haven't seen the answer in this forum nor can I find it in the manual ... yet.

 

My present surround speakers are NOT set up properly as "surrounds" - I recently 'discovered' :othat they are actually set up properly for BACK L and R (they're at 150 degrees from the listening position). They are hard wired to the AVR. So with the new system they would be connected as such, in a 7.1 arrangement.

 

My thought is to also get a Hsu Research 5.1 or possibly 7.1 speaker system (my main L and R speakers are better quality, so will keep them). I would be using a wireless amp to drive the new Surround L and R speakers. I'm wondering if I can use the L and R preamp outs to connect up the wireless Surround L and R, then hook up Front Height speakers to the receiver? I haven't found an answer to this ... I see the 6008 and 7008 are described as 7.x AVRs (with 7 channels of amplification, right?). So what I would need to do is assign the amp channels to the Front Height pair and 'turn off' the normal L and R surrounds (which would be supplied a signal via the preamp outputs).

 

Does this make sense? Is there a way to do this?  My surrounds need to be placed (at least the RHS one) where I cannot run wires, but there's an outlet handy (kitchen island, for the RH side one!). I'd be mounting the wireless receiver/amp under the counter area, and unplug the speaker when not in use ... (I'll be using possibly a speakon or other safe plugin method in the speaker wire so it can't accidentally short). The LH side surround would also be driven with a wireless amp, but permanently mounted on a wall and wired permanently as well.

 

Hopefully I've explained properly and thanks in advance for comments ...

 

Edit/PS: from looking at things, it seems like only the surround BACK amp channels can be assigned (instead) to the front wide/height speakers ...?

 

If that is the case, I think I'll "punt" back to the 5008, and stick with a conventional 7.1 arrangement. The wireless amp's transmitter has line level and speaker level connections, so I'll see which sounds better and/or has less 'problems' if any.

Rick Young is offline  
post #1288 of 2736 Old 01-28-2014, 06:49 AM
Member
 
fx3000se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

All other things being equal, a CD played on a BD player will sound identical to a CD played on a CD player.

As my Panasonic DMR BST 820 also has cinch audio out, should I connect these with the CD-in of the 6008 and listen to CDs in "CD-Mode" (instead of "BluRay")?

fx3000se is offline  
post #1289 of 2736 Old 01-28-2014, 06:52 AM
Member
 
fx3000se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Completely different question:

is there any possibility (hidden feature? ;) ) to only show the current time (in as big as possible big numbers) on the "bull eye"? I'd opt for this feature ...

fx3000se is offline  
post #1290 of 2736 Old 01-28-2014, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by fx3000se View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

All other things being equal, a CD played on a BD player will sound identical to a CD played on a CD player.
As my Panasonic DMR BST 820 also has cinch audio out, should I connect these with the CD-in of the 6008 and listen to CDs in "CD-Mode" (instead of "BluRay")?

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by "cinch". Do you mean the RCA analog connections?
If so, then no: they're not the optimal choice. In general, it's better to use a digital connection, either HDMI or S/PDIF (optical or coax).

When you use an RCA analog connection, first the player has to convert the digital signal coming off the disc to analog signals, and then the receiver has to convert the signals back from analog into digital in order to be able to process them. Avoiding those additional conversion steps reduces the likelihood of the audio getting distorted in some way. In general, the quality of modern A/D and D/A converters is such that you probably wouldn't ever hear any difference, but why take the chance?

But since making those analog connections really doesn't hurt anything, you should give them a try.

Some people also like to spend a lot of money on high quality analog-only stereo audio systems, but that's a different discussion for a different forum. (e.g. http://www.avsforum.com/f/173/2-channel-audio )
fx3000se likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off