The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 86 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2551 of 2912 Old 07-02-2014, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
^ I with ya... my Marantz 5008 gets very warm\hot... but I am not sure to what extent is 'normal' for these receivers either.

Does anyone run a separate external fan on theirs?
Shimmy Bang Bang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2552 of 2912 Old 07-02-2014, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
garontee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodneyiii View Post
Do you already have the cooling fan? If not, look at the fans from the ebay seller below. He has units that are powered by a variable voltage transformer but use the 12 volt trigger output on your 5008 to turn the fans on and off. He also has thermostat controls for turning the fans on as well. I have one of these setups on my 7008 and it works great.

http://stores.ebay.com/AV-Cabinet-Co...p2047675.l2563
The fans I have are free salvage from old computers, I was going to buy silent fans. Now I don't have to, those are the perfect solution. I have never used the 12v trigger, I had looked into soldering my own relay for it but got overwhelmed and wasn't sure I knew what I was doing. Thanks for the tip, I'm off to buy one of those.
garontee is offline  
post #2553 of 2912 Old 07-02-2014, 07:05 PM
Member
 
CHILINVLN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any issues with the SR5008 properly handling a SVS PB-2000 subwoofer?
http://www.svsound.com/subwoofers/po...0#.U7S6DiQgZaE

I just wanted to verify before I went through the hassle or ordering and testing it out.
CHILINVLN is offline  
post #2554 of 2912 Old 07-02-2014, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
x0tiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which Blu-ray player that goes nicely together with SR5008?
x0tiq is offline  
post #2555 of 2912 Old 07-02-2014, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHILINVLN View Post
Any issues with the SR5008 properly handling a SVS PB-2000 subwoofer?
http://www.svsound.com/subwoofers/po...0#.U7S6DiQgZaE

I just wanted to verify before I went through the hassle or ordering and testing it out.
Chilinvln,

Most modern AVR's incorporate bass management including directing the LFE signal to the sub. So any current Marantz AVR would work with any current sub.

The issue of the sub being right for your room is the issue. How much volume of air the sub needs to displace to reproduce the bass frequencies is very dependent on the room dimensions, Main Listening Position and sub placement.

Note that room correction for the bass frequencies helps and Audyssey makes a noticeable difference in the sound reproduction chain. This is apparent when engaging Audyssey Dynamic EQ and Dynamic Volume.

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is offline  
post #2556 of 2912 Old 07-03-2014, 12:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,982
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 784 Post(s)
Liked: 1436
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHILINVLN View Post
Any issues with the SR5008 properly handling a SVS PB-2000 subwoofer?
http://www.svsound.com/subwoofers/po...0#.U7S6DiQgZaE

I just wanted to verify before I went through the hassle or ordering and testing it out.
No. The sub can be used with any of these models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2557 of 2912 Old 07-03-2014, 12:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by x0tiq View Post
Which Blu-ray player that goes nicely together with SR5008?
x0tiq,

Any modern blu-ray player have HDMI out that would be connected to the Marantz SR5008.

A popular model on AVS is the Oppo BDP-103. Once the sticker shock is overcome, most consumers wouldn't need all the features offered by Oppo. Not to worry, there's plenty of choice from the like of Sony, Panasonic, Samsung, LG, etc. that one can look at.

CNET offers some interesting write-ups: http://www.cnet.com/topics/blu-ray-players/

Maranatz NR1504, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301, MiniDSP(2x4), Rythmik F12G
steveting99 is offline  
post #2558 of 2912 Old 07-03-2014, 05:26 AM
Member
 
CHILINVLN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Chilinvln,

Most modern AVR's incorporate bass management including directing the LFE signal to the sub. So any current Marantz AVR would work with any current sub.

The issue of the sub being right for your room is the issue. How much volume of air the sub needs to displace to reproduce the bass frequencies is very dependent on the room dimensions, Main Listening Position and sub placement.

Note that room correction for the bass frequencies helps and Audyssey makes a noticeable difference in the sound reproduction chain. This is apparent when engaging Audyssey Dynamic EQ and Dynamic Volume.
Approximately 3,000 cubic feet. Primary listening position is about 60-80% back from the screen depending which row you sit in. Sub can be placed either in the front corner or rear corner, I currently have a .2 setup with a sub in each (smaller subs from Def Tech, front is 800 and rear is 600). My preference would be to have a large sub and under-utilize it a bit as my current subs are pushing their max limits and not quite providing enough for the room.
CHILINVLN is offline  
post #2559 of 2912 Old 07-03-2014, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
x0tiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
x0tiq,

Any modern blu-ray player have HDMI out that would be connected to the Marantz SR5008.

A popular model on AVS is the Oppo BDP-103. Once the sticker shock is overcome, most consumers wouldn't need all the features offered by Oppo. Not to worry, there's plenty of choice from the like of Sony, Panasonic, Samsung, LG, etc. that one can look at.

CNET offers some interesting write-ups: http://www.cnet.com/topics/blu-ray-players/
thanks for that link ...
x0tiq is offline  
post #2560 of 2912 Old 07-04-2014, 09:08 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shimmy Bang Bang View Post
^ I with ya... my Marantz 5008 gets very warm\hot... but I am not sure to what extent is 'normal' for these receivers either.

Does anyone run a separate external fan on theirs?
Yes, unfortunately they run warm even when not doing much work. See post 2545 above for a link to the fan company I got mine from. They have many different setups to choose from that sit on top of the AVR. They can be controlled by either an included thermostat or a relay that connects to the 12 volt trigger output on the AVR. They are very quiet but move enough air to keep the unit cooled down.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #2561 of 2912 Old 07-04-2014, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Acaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my 7008 for about 6 months and am loving it - so much so that I have decided to sell my NAD M25 amp as the 7008 is driving my Paradigm's very well.

I have ran into a recent issue with airplay and need some guidance. The 7008 is hooked up to my network, and I was able to do airplay via my Iphone 4s easily - I'd simply go to my music library on my phone and hit thte little orange button on the bottom right of the phone and away it went. So irecently upgraded my Iphone with the new software. When I do the same steps on my phone to get my music going via airplay, there is no longer that orange idicator on the bottom right of the screen allowing me to play on the Marantz. For the life of me I cant find anything.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks so much
Acaps is offline  
post #2562 of 2912 Old 07-04-2014, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acaps View Post
I have ran into a recent issue with airplay and need some guidance. The 7008 is hooked up to my network, and I was able to do airplay via my Iphone 4s easily - I'd simply go to my music library on my phone and hit thte little orange button on the bottom right of the phone and away it went. So irecently upgraded my Iphone with the new software. When I do the same steps on my phone to get my music going via airplay, there is no longer that orange idicator on the bottom right of the screen allowing me to play on the Marantz. For the life of me I cant find anything.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks so much
Hi Acaps, swipe up on the phone and check airplay is enabled for Marantz 7008.
JChin is offline  
post #2563 of 2912 Old 07-04-2014, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Acaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi Acaps, swipe up on the phone and check airplay is enabled for Marantz 7008.
Perfect! thanks so much
Acaps is offline  
post #2564 of 2912 Old 07-04-2014, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Airplay on screen display?

Apologies if this is answered elsewhere, but haven't seen it. Is there a way to have the 7008 put on screen (TV) information about what track is being played when using airplay? The information is scrolling across the front panel display when I flip the door down, so I know the receiver has it. (otherwise am loving this receiver . . ). All other video connections are working fine, and i get other on screen displays (e.g. setup information, volume, etc).

Is there a setting I need to change?

Thanks for the help!
Jorell10022 is offline  
post #2565 of 2912 Old 07-04-2014, 04:23 PM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodneyiii View Post
Yes, unfortunately they run warm even when not doing much work. See post 2545 above for a link to the fan company I got mine from. They have many different setups to choose from that sit on top of the AVR. They can be controlled by either an included thermostat or a relay that connects to the 12 volt trigger output on the AVR. They are very quiet but move enough air to keep the unit cooled down.

I would really appreciate if you wouldn't mind peeking at this one and telling if if this one will work on the SR7008? I have not used one of these before, so it would save me the angst of picking the wrong one...thank you!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mega-fan-Rec...p2056016.l4276



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2566 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 05:52 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
I would really appreciate if you wouldn't mind peeking at this one and telling if if this one will work on the SR7008? I have not used one of these before, so it would save me the angst of picking the wrong one...thank you!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mega-fan-Rec...p2056016.l4276

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I also have a 7008 and this is the one I bought. It has two 80mm fans on an enlarged base instead of the single 120mm fan shown in yours. That one may also work fine but I wanted a bit more coverage across the top front of the 7008. The 12v trigger fans run whenever the AVR is turned on even if the unit doesn't need extra cooling.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Receiver-Amp...-/290647791169

After using the 12v triggered one for a while, I decided to order the thermostat control unit ($15) to see how that worked. I actually like it better since the fans don't run all the time. You can get that fan/switch combo here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amp-Receiver...-/360590577966

I have my thermostat set in the front center of the top vents with the fans on either side since that is where most of the heat builds up.

Go here if you want the single 120mm fan:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Receiver-Amp...-/360341717625

The vendor, Don, was very easy to work with and answered any questions I had before and after my purchase. You won't be disappointed.

Last edited by rodneyiii; 07-05-2014 at 06:01 AM.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #2567 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodneyiii View Post
I also have a 7008 and this is the one I bought. It has two 80mm fans on an enlarged base instead of the single 120mm fan shown in yours. That one may also work fine but I wanted a bit more coverage across the top front of the 7008. The 12v trigger fans run whenever the AVR is turned on even if the unit doesn't need extra cooling.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Receiver-Amp...-/290647791169

After using the 12v triggered one for a while, I decided to order the thermostat control unit ($15) to see how that worked. I actually like it better since the fans don't run all the time. You can get that fan/switch combo here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amp-Receiver...-/360590577966

I have my thermostat set in the front center of the top vents with the fans on either side since that is where most of the heat builds up.

Go here if you want the single 120mm fan:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Receiver-Amp...-/360341717625

The vendor, Don, was very easy to work with and answered any questions I had before and after my purchase. You won't be disappointed.

Rodneyiii -

Thanks very much for the reply. So, you are using the fans with just the thermostat now, correct (I.e., not using the 12volt trigger)? At what temperature do you set the thermostat to turn the fan on?

Thanks again.

(Edit) I think I answered my own question...turns on at a preset 84 degrees...thanks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Tgterm; 07-05-2014 at 06:19 AM. Reason: updated
Tgterm is offline  
post #2568 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
x0tiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In afew days time, I'm sure of getting SR5008.
But after reading about Dolby Atmos, I decided to wait for the Marantz Dolby Atmos edition of amps.
Was it a good move to hold or just get SR5008?
x0tiq is offline  
post #2569 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 08:58 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Rodneyiii -

Thanks very much for the reply. So, you are using the fans with just the thermostat now, correct (I.e., not using the 12volt trigger)? At what temperature do you set the thermostat to turn the fan on?

Thanks again.

(Edit) I think I answered my own question...turns on at a preset 84 degrees...thanks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes, as you found, the turn on setting is fixed at 80-84 degrees. The vendor also has an adjustable thermostat but it costs much more and may not be worth the difference. I don't know if you saw that the power supply for the fans has a multi-volt output so the fan speeds can be fast or slow depending on your cooling and fan noise desires.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #2570 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 167
For 5 years I have been using the same two 12V fans with my last three receivers, Onkyo 876, Onkyo 809 and Marantz 7008. They are Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E, 12V and 1200 RPM. Very silent (20dB) with a lifespan of 150000 hours. I have them running 24/7 for the last 5 years and they work perfect, same low noise as the first day. Two months ago I got a Cooler Master JetFlo 120 fan for $18 and it's very good too. I'm using it to cool down the top part of my audio rack. It's more silent than the S-FLEX I'm using with my receiver so I may get two more to replace the S-FLEX. My point is that you don't need a thermostat or things like that, just keep the fans running 24/7. Also make sure you get a fan like the Cooler Master JetFlo that comes with POM Bearing which increase lifespan and reduce noise.


erhurd likes this.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #2571 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 97
I like to keep it simple; just put your receiver on top of your cabinet, or somewhere it is NOT inside of an enclosure, and then, you NEVER have to worry about a receivers worst enemy, heat, causing any harm..

Yeah, I know some folks can't do it for a variety of reasons, but I have ALWAYS found a way to make sure my AVR is not inside of any enclosure.
wase4711 is offline  
post #2572 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 01:10 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Harmony Remote problem

I cannot get the up or down arrow on my Harmony One to work on my 7008. I have tried programming direct from the remote but it still does not work. Marantz remote works and Harmony arrows work on other functions. Anyone have this problem?
vodil is offline  
post #2573 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
I cannot get the up or down arrow on my Harmony One to work on my 7008. I have tried programming direct from the remote but it still does not work. Marantz remote works and Harmony arrows work on other functions. Anyone have this problem?
Hi vodil, in the Harmony software go into review/update the Customize Button options for the Marantz. And change Tune Up/Tune Down to Direction Up/Direction Down.
JChin is offline  
post #2574 of 2912 Old 07-05-2014, 05:15 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi vodil, in the Harmony software go into review/update the Customize Button options for the Marantz. And change Tune Up/Tune Down to Direction Up/Direction Down.
That did not quite work the first time. I did it again and relearned the commands and it seemed to work.

This seems like a bug in the database. I hope someone can fix it.
Thanks.
vodil is offline  
post #2575 of 2912 Old 07-06-2014, 05:32 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
I like to keep it simple; just put your receiver on top of your cabinet, or somewhere it is NOT inside of an enclosure, and then, you NEVER have to worry about a receivers worst enemy, heat, causing any harm..

Yeah, I know some folks can't do it for a variety of reasons, but I have ALWAYS found a way to make sure my AVR is not inside of any enclosure.
I'm curious if you have one of these Marantz AVR's. They all run hotter than other, similar AVRs. Mine in not in a cabinet but on an open shelf with nothing stacked above it. If I play music at high volumes for a while, I can cook an egg on the top panel. For whatever reason, the internal fan comes on much later than I would expect. $50 bucks is a cheap way to avert heat damage.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #2576 of 2912 Old 07-06-2014, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodneyiii View Post
I'm curious if you have one of these Marantz AVR's. They all run hotter than other, similar AVRs. Mine in not in a cabinet but on an open shelf with nothing stacked above it. If I play music at high volumes for a while, I can cook an egg on the top panel. For whatever reason, the internal fan comes on much later than I would expect. $50 bucks is a cheap way to avert heat damage.
Yes, I currently have a sr 6008, and it sits on top of my cabinet, fully exposed to "outside" air...
It gets warm, but not hot, no matter how I am driving it, so its never hot enough to "cook an egg" on..
Its plugged into a power conditioner, which is plugged into another power conditioning strip, so I dont know if that helps..both are Tripp Lite Products..
wase4711 is offline  
post #2577 of 2912 Old 07-06-2014, 05:43 AM
Member
 
rodneyiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
...My point is that you don't need a thermostat or things like that, just keep the fans running 24/7.
The reason I wouldn't suggest keeping the fans on all the time is dirt, dust, and hair accumulation. Constant air movement will keep drawing junk into the unit. Any pet owners know what I'm talking about. If you have a computer that stays on all the time, take a look at how much stuff builds up in the power supply and in the cabinet. I disassemble mine about once a year and blow out the cabinet and PS to eliminate buildup on the heat sinks and circuit boards.
Natural convection keeps my Marantz cool most of the time but when needed, the extra fans turn on by themselves and do the job.
rodneyiii is offline  
post #2578 of 2912 Old 07-06-2014, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodneyiii View Post
The reason I wouldn't suggest keeping the fans on all the time is dirt, dust, and hair accumulation. Constant air movement will keep drawing junk into the unit. Any pet owners know what I'm talking about. If you have a computer that stays on all the time, take a look at how much stuff builds up in the power supply and in the cabinet. I disassemble mine about once a year and blow out the cabinet and PS to eliminate buildup on the heat sinks and circuit boards.
Natural convection keeps my Marantz cool most of the time but when needed, the extra fans turn on by themselves and do the job.

Rodneyiii -

I went with the exact same fan setup you did from that seller -with the thermostat. And, you were right - very helpful vendor, answered all my questions. For 50 bucks, I like having the extra insurance when Zeppelin starts melting my 7008's innards...;-)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2579 of 2912 Old 07-07-2014, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 39
LFE Offset

Does anyone know whether our xxx8 Marantz receivers offer an offset option for LFE? I know that Denon does (or has) on at least some of its models, but I can't find anything in my owners manual or onscreen menu. Of course, I could just be overlooking it so I thought I would ask. Thanks!
mthomas47 is online now  
post #2580 of 2912 Old 07-07-2014, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Whats an "offset option" do?
Tom Grooms is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread - Sr5008 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off