The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 88 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:28 PM Liked: 1919
post #2611 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topgunn View Post
Since 5009 and 7008 are now roughly the same price.

Aside from features, would there be much different Audio quality between the 5009 and 7008?

thx
Huh? The SR7008 is about $1000 more than the SR5009 which is the same price as its predecessor SR5008.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
02:30 PM Liked: 1919
post #2612 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf1990 View Post
I have a question about the inputs on the receiver. This is just out of curiosity. Since the receiver names its inputs by the device (CBL/SAT, dvd/bluray, etc.) for the HDMI, component and composite inputs, does that mean I can't have a device connected on the CBL/SAT HDMI input and the CBL/SAT component input at the same time (maybe the HDMI input will be the cable box and the component input will be an older device)? Otherwise how would you select the CBL/SAT component input vs. the HDMI input. I remember other brands of receiver go by HDMI 1, HDMI 2, .... AV1, AV2, etc. Any response to the question will be appreciated.

Thanks
If the HDMI source is active it will take priority. Better to assign the Component input to a different source name.
kevinf1990's Avatar kevinf1990
02:48 PM Liked: 10
post #2613 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 62
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If the HDMI source is active it will take priority. Better to assign the Component input to a different source name.
So if i rename the component input to something like "Playstation 3" , then i will be able to use the CBL/SAT component input while a cable box is connected to the CBL/SAT input? Of course I can find a different component input to use but I am just seeing if this will work. I am not at home right now so I can't experiment.
Topgunn's Avatar Topgunn
02:55 PM Liked: 10
post #2614 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Huh? The SR7008 is about $1000 more than the SR5009 which is the same price as its predecessor SR5008.
Here in Holland, the 7008 has taken a price fall only 839 euro right now:

http://www.besteproduct.nl/surround_...349510/prijzen

The 5009 has an MRSP of 899 euro,

thx
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
03:40 PM Liked: 1919
post #2615 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf1990 View Post
So if i rename the component input to something like "Playstation 3" , then i will be able to use the CBL/SAT component input while a cable box is connected to the CBL/SAT input? Of course I can find a different component input to use but I am just seeing if this will work. I am not at home right now so I can't experiment.
"Assign" it to an existing source name (eg. DVD), not "rename."
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
03:42 PM Liked: 1919
post #2616 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topgunn View Post
Here in Holland, the 7008 has taken a price fall only 839 euro right now:

http://www.besteproduct.nl/surround_...349510/prijzen

The 5009 has an MRSP of 899 euro,

thx
Than it's a no brainer, the SR7008 is a much better choice even at $200 euro more.
kevinf1990's Avatar kevinf1990
03:58 PM Liked: 10
post #2617 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 62
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
"Assign" it to an existing source name (eg. DVD), not "rename."
I see. so there is no way to possibly use every single input (hdmi, component, composite) - if one needs to - on the receiver since there is only so many assignment names (CBL/SAT, DVD, GAME, etc.) available to the receiver.
JChin's Avatar JChin
04:20 PM Liked: 140
post #2618 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 8,617
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf1990 View Post
I have a question about the inputs on the receiver. This is just out of curiosity. Since the receiver names its inputs by the device (CBL/SAT, dvd/bluray, etc.) for the HDMI, component and composite inputs, does that mean I can't have a device connected on the CBL/SAT HDMI input and the CBL/SAT component input at the same time (maybe the HDMI input will be the cable box and the component input will be an older device)? Otherwise how would you select the CBL/SAT component input vs. the HDMI input.
Hi kevinf1990, it will work as long as one source is completely turned off (not like a cable box that's in standby). I have a Denon 1910 which the PS3 is assigned to HDMI DVD input and Xbox 360 assigned to Component DVD input.
Topgunn's Avatar Topgunn
05:02 PM Liked: 10
post #2619 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Than it's a no brainer, the SR7008 is a much better choice even at $200 euro more.
Yes, but... how important are the new features of the 2014 line? e.g HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
05:20 PM Liked: 1919
post #2620 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Not very, considering none of the 2014 models will be HDCP 2.2.
steveting99's Avatar steveting99
11:43 PM Liked: 151
post #2621 of 3427
07-09-2014 | Posts: 1,146
Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topgunn View Post
Here in Holland, the 7008 has taken a price fall only 839 euro right now:

http://www.besteproduct.nl/surround_...349510/prijzen

The 5009 has an MRSP of 899 euro,

thx
I wish this price for the SR-7008 was available for me here in Hong Kong...
Topgunn's Avatar Topgunn
02:56 AM Liked: 10
post #2622 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not very, considering none of the 2014 models will be HDCP 2.2.
OK, but HDMI 2.0 is kind of a big deal right? I mean without it, you cant pass trough 3D 4K 60 hz? Now I am not yet in direct need of that capability. But if i were to upgrade my projector and TV to 4k 60 hz, The 7008 is not able to cope with the signal.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
03:49 AM Liked: 1919
post #2623 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
The 2014 models will not likely be able to connect to an HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 Blu Ray player, so you would have to buy a dual HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 player to pass the video to the TV and the HD audio to the AVR, which could also be a 2013 model AVR as well.
FiloD's Avatar FiloD
10:22 AM Liked: 14
post #2624 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 212
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Than it's a no brainer, the SR7008 is a much better choice even at $200 euro more.
I agree, if this is available in the US at that price I will buy the 7008 now. I still cannot believe of the price but if it is being offered why not.
cardoski's Avatar cardoski
10:27 AM Liked: 120
post #2625 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not very, considering none of the 2014 models will be HDCP 2.2.
This makes me feel better about buying a SR6008, I got a good deal on it so I jumped on it. Is there any chance there will be a firmware upgrade to allow 4K60p? Also despite this unit being just amazing for sound and I love the apps, not having a backlight on the remote is simply mind bending.
Topgunn's Avatar Topgunn
12:28 PM Liked: 10
post #2626 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2005
What about the Denon x4000 at 639 euro? Both receivers are quite similar right? But Denon is much cheaper
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
12:41 PM Liked: 1919
post #2627 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardoski View Post
This makes me feel better about buying a SR6008, I got a good deal on it so I jumped on it. Is there any chance there will be a firmware upgrade to allow 4K60p? Also despite this unit being just amazing for sound and I love the apps, not having a backlight on the remote is simply mind bending.
Sorry, no firmware update.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
12:43 PM Liked: 1919
post #2628 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topgunn View Post
What about the Denon x4000 at 639 euro? Both receivers are quite similar right? But Denon is much cheaper
The Marantz is a 9CH model with multi analog inputs so if you want those features, worth the extra euro.
cardoski's Avatar cardoski
01:52 PM Liked: 120
post #2629 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 2014 models will not likely be able to connect to an HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 Blu Ray player, so you would have to buy a dual HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 player to pass the video to the TV and the HD audio to the AVR, which could also be a 2013 model AVR as well.
I have been hoping OPPO comes out with a new player, I use the 103 to pass video and HDMI audio now. Although the processing on the Marantz is very good as well, really impressed with the 6008, surround sound is on a whole new level for me. A very big step up from my Yamaha.
Fjodor2000's Avatar Fjodor2000
03:12 PM Liked: 12
post #2630 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 299
Joined: May 2010
Question:

A lot of TV content is unfortunately still 2.0. This normally only means the front Left & Right speakers are used. But is there any way to configure the Marantz SR-7008 to use the Center channel too, so that the sound that is common to the front L/R speakers is output from there too? The reason I'm wondering is that I'd like the dialog to be centered through the center speaker. I.e. essentially convert 2.0 to 3.0.
mthomas47's Avatar mthomas47
04:00 PM Liked: 41
post #2631 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 305
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fjodor2000 View Post
Question:

A lot of TV content is unfortunately still 2.0. This normally only means the front Left & Right speakers are used. But is there any way to configure the Marantz SR-7008 to use the Center channel too, so that the sound that is common to the front L/R speakers is output from there too? The reason I'm wondering is that I'd like the dialog to be centered through the center speaker. I.e. essentially convert 2.0 to 3.0.
I may be misunderstanding your question, but which playback mode are you using? L/R only sounds like Stereo Mode. If you use a surround mode like PLII (Movie Mode), you should get sound from all three channels, and from your surrounds if you have them, in most (all?) HD broadcasts. There is also a workaround that I believe works for most standard definition broadcasts. You can try using PLII (Music Mode) which lets you steer the sound into or out from your center channel. That combined with your Dialogue Control gives you a pretty good ability to control where your sound is coming from. If I watch an old low-def. movie, though, I typically just leave it set on PLII Movie Mode and live with all the sound coming from the center channel.

Try experimenting a little bit to see what you like.
steveting99's Avatar steveting99
07:28 PM Liked: 151
post #2632 of 3427
07-10-2014 | Posts: 1,146
Joined: Jun 2011
^^Fjdor2000,

As mthomas47 says, there are a number of options available that will up mix stereo (2.0) to surround (5.1).

The setting that worked best for me was DTS cinema mode. I disabled the back surrounds so that only the front three speakers (LCR) were producing the sound stage. I then adjusted the center channel width to focus dialogue more. There is also the option to increase center channel dialogue level too - but left it alone.

All the above is a few taps on the web interface and easy to do.
winston9332's Avatar winston9332
06:22 AM Liked: 31
post #2633 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 5,822
Joined: Jul 2008
So, i know the 5008 and 6008 can upscale video sources to 4k, but is it limited to 30fps as it's not hdmi 2.0?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
08:49 AM Liked: 1919
post #2634 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Correcr, without HDMI 2.0, no 4k/60fps video. The new SR5009 will likely be able to "pass through" 4k/60fps but only still upscale to 4k/30fps while the S6009 will be able to pass through/upscale to 4k/60fps.
petetherock's Avatar petetherock
09:00 AM Liked: 47
post #2635 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 1,217
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
I wish this price for the SR-7008 was available for me here in Hong Kong...
Try Singapore for that kind of pricing...
It's closer to home and 220V too...
petetherock's Avatar petetherock
09:02 AM Liked: 47
post #2636 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 1,217
Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The 2014 models will not likely be able to connect to an HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 Blu Ray player, so you would have to buy a dual HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 player to pass the video to the TV and the HD audio to the AVR, which could also be a 2013 model AVR as well.
So you can use a HDCP 2.2 BR player and a HDCP 2.2 TV with a 2014, non HDCP 2.2 AV amp like the newer 7009 / AV 7702?
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
09:06 AM Liked: 1919
post #2637 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
Sure. You can even use an HDMI 1.3 AVR if you choose, as long as you're passing the 4k video directly to the TV from the BDP and the audio only to the AVR. Exactly what those with HDMI 1.3 AVRs did with 3D video when they didn't want to upgrade to an HDMI 1.4 AVR.
fernicus's Avatar fernicus
09:13 AM Liked: 10
post #2638 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2009
My marantz reciever is on the main floor - 5008. My router is on the 2nd floor and I don't want to run a cable all the way upstairs because of the esthetics really and I want to recieve internet radio through the reciever. How do I do this alternately perhaps via a wifi extender? thanks
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
09:29 AM Liked: 1919
post #2639 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 48,236
Joined: Sep 2007
^^

Denon 2011 and 2012 AVR FAQ, Setup, and Troubleshooting Guide
ronin22's Avatar ronin22
09:26 PM Liked: 10
post #2640 of 3427
07-12-2014 | Posts: 124
Joined: May 2005
Hi all

I have been really enjoying my 7008 for the past 6 months (thanks JD!) but have run into a potential issue I was hoping to have some help on.

I have been listening to two channel music with the dynamic EQ on but recently have turned it off to discover a cleaner sound but by doing that I now hear what can be described as distortion while listening. It's not constant and happens on certain tonal ranges. It sounds like a blown driver or when you turn the volume up on a speaker phone too much.

I use my ipad to stream spotify and beats music plus music files on the iPad itself via airplay to the 7008 and it happens on all three mediums. I thought it might be the input volume so I turned the input level on the 7008 down 10db but it still does it. I don't get it when playing FM radio so it must be digital in nature.

Has anyone had this problem and how can I get rid of it? Many thanks
Tags: Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3