The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 89 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2641 of 2656 Old 07-12-2014, 08:54 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
^^
Does it do it with Audyssey MultEQ OFF or using DIRECT or PURE DIRECT surround modes?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2642 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^

Does it do it with Audyssey MultEQ OFF or using DIRECT or PURE DIRECT surround modes?

Does anyone ever use these modes in daily use? I must be doing something wrong, because when I have tried them I have found the audio to be so low as to be useless. I think I understand their intention, but any info on using these correctly would be much appreciated!

Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2643 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 05:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
^^
Not recommended for use as doing so disables Audyssey; however, some prefer for music listening although there should be no real difference in volume other than the sub will be disabled as well if there is no LFE and Dynamic Volume will be disabled which would be increasing the volume of lower passages.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Yesterday at 05:48 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2644 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 08:53 AM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you have speakers (towers) that can handle and sound good in full range then direct or pure direct for 2 channel is the way to go. Also disabling audyssey is not a bad thing for 2 channel listening IMO.
gce is offline  
post #2645 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post
If you have speakers (towers) that can handle and sound good in full range then direct or pure direct for 2 channel is the way to go. Also disabling audyssey is not a bad thing for 2 channel listening IMO.

So, if I have my fronts normally crossing over at 80, does using DIRECT or PURE DIRECT automatically route all low frequency to my fronts? Or, do I need to set something there, too.

I ask because I do not find much detail in the 7008 manual on the use of this, but if I am missing something in there, you can tell me to go pick up my manual!

Thanks!




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2646 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 09:58 AM
Member
 
ronin22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Does it do it with Audyssey MultEQ OFF or using DIRECT or PURE DIRECT surround modes?

Hi JD
No it doesn't happen when I turn off multiEq or use direct/ pure direct. When I turn those items off I have to turn the volume up almost 10 db, I guess because I'm using dynamic volume with everything but still I like the way the system sounds using multiEq so I'm kinda bummed. Any ideas? Thanks
ronin22 is offline  
post #2647 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 11:00 AM
Member
 
olfac87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Internet Radio - No Picture

I have the SR5008. When I go to Internet Radio, I hear the radio but I don't see anything on the screen. I think I did at one point because I must have selected stations and put them to favorites. And I used to see the name of the station, song, artist, etc. Now it is just the Marantz logo. Any ideas?

olfac87 is offline  
post #2648 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 11:28 AM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
So, if I have my fronts normally crossing over at 80, does using DIRECT or PURE DIRECT automatically route all low frequency to my fronts?

Yes, when using direct or pure direct it turns off audyssey and you will get full range to your front speakers. Kind of like setting your speakers to Large as apposed to Small at a 80Hz crossover.
gce is offline  
post #2649 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post
Yes, when using direct or pure direct it turns off audyssey and you will get full range to your front speakers. Kind of like setting your speakers to Large as apposed to Small at a 80Hz crossover.

Thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2650 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zones are still a little bit voodoo to me! I find it easier to get them to go with the iPad app than the remote...but, today, I can get audio from Network (pandora) in Zone 2 but no audio from CBL/SAT in Zone 2 (trying to listen to the ball game outside!). What am I missing here? Amp assign is 5.1ch + ZONE2/3...

Thanks in advance...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2651 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 12:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by olfac87 View Post
I have the SR5008. When I go to Internet Radio, I hear the radio but I don't see anything on the screen. I think I did at one point because I must have selected stations and put them to favorites. And I used to see the name of the station, song, artist, etc. Now it is just the Marantz logo. Any ideas?
Using PURE DIRECT will cut out the video processing, otherwise, try unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2652 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 12:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Zones are still a little bit voodoo to me! I find it easier to get them to go with the iPad app than the remote...but, today, I can get audio from Network (pandora) in Zone 2 but no audio from CBL/SAT in Zone 2 (trying to listen to the ball game outside!). What am I missing here? Amp assign is 5.1ch + ZONE2/3...

Thanks in advance...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
On the SR7008 (and SR6008) you have a couple of options:

(1) If not using the Zone 2 (HDMI) monitor output, you'll want to set the HDMI Audio (Zone 2; p. 204 Owner's manual) setting to "PCM" vice the default of "pass through," or

(2) Select "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Yesterday at 12:19 PM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2653 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 12:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronin22 View Post
Hi JD
No it doesn't happen when I turn off multiEq or use direct/ pure direct. When I turn those items off I have to turn the volume up almost 10 db, I guess because I'm using dynamic volume with everything but still I like the way the system sounds using multiEq so I'm kinda bummed. Any ideas? Thanks
First try a soft reset (unplug power for 10 minutes) and if no joy, a microprocessor reset (p. 200 Owner's manual).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2654 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
On the SR7008 (and SR6008) you have a couple of options:

(1) If not using the Zone 2 (HDMI) monitor output, you'll want to set the HDMI Audio (Zone 2; p. 204 Owner's manual) setting to "PCM" vice the default of "pass through," or

(2) Select "ALL ZONE STEREO" surround mode.

Setting HDMI Audio to PCM did the trick! You are awesome. One less piece of voodoo...

Thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #2655 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Hensley300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern US
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Question on network shared drive:

I have a share drive on my pc I store my music on (.wav files)

1. Do I need to do anything to get my receiver sr7008 to recognize the share different than I would do If I were connecting to it from a computer?

**Any special software loaded on my pc**

As of now, I just access the drive from my laptop using a network username/password. Then I use nero from my laptop to select files and play them


2. Does the share drive need to be any particular format? Right now it is ntfs

"Alcohol: The cause of and solution to ALL of life's problems" Homer Simpson
Hensley300 is offline  
post #2656 of 2656 Old Yesterday, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SR6008 with Boston Soundwave 5.1

Hi all,

Need your expertise, I am a new owner of a SR6008 with Boston soundwave 5.1 (main zone) + 2 earthquake ceiling mount speakers (zone 2).

As my sofa still have not arrived, I did not calibrate with Audyssey. The zone 2 speakers conencted to Surround back L and Surround back R. The sound from L channel is very very soft when I connect the same speaker to the R channel it is very loud.

It is a faulty set, or it is because I did not calibrate the set yet. Also, it is possible to calibrate Zone 2 in another room.

Thanks for your response.

Kelvin
handytouch is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off