The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

gce's Avatar gce
08:58 AM Liked: 11
post #2701 of 3238
07-19-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post
Does it make a difference if I use Flac or Wav format?
Rick

No it doesn't matter, the Marantz will play either and if you had a NAS in your network you could store and play all your ripped CD's and HD downloads with a touch of a finger, no more spinning CD's.
RickPas's Avatar RickPas
03:31 PM Liked: 10
post #2702 of 3238
07-19-2014 | Posts: 561
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by senojhrj1 View Post
Rick the Marantz will play either FLAC or WAV from the USB. I use JRiver to download from HDTracks. I download everything in FLAC format. In fact, I rip all of my physical CD's to FLAC and store in JRIver. JRiver can play and send many formats to your Marantz and the Marantz will play an CD album using the FLAC format or WAV if you wish, and the other standard formats too. My computer is connected to the SR6008 via HDMI. You have to do some reading about the formats and decide what you want.

I actually have ripped more physical CD's to FLAC than I have downloaded from HDTracks. For example, I ripped one Nora Jones CD and I downloaded another high resolution Nora Jones album from HDTracks. I actually like the ripped CD the best. I don't think you have to have all high resolution formats to be happy. They are too expensive.
Harry J.
What is JRiver?
Rick
watboy's Avatar watboy
11:06 PM Liked: 10
post #2703 of 3238
07-19-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2014
I have a 6 month old 7008, which has been working flawlessly. However, lately i've been experience an issue where for specific content, it will automatically shut down. I stream HD content through an AppleTV gen3. Most of the content are TV series i've ripped from blu-ray and then handbrakes into M4v content. On certain content, the 7008 will automatically shutdown when it reaches a certain scene. When it shut downs, it just turns off, the red power light doesn't blink at all afterwards, indicating it hasn't tripped the protection circuit. This problem can be reproduced. Any ideas? it probably impacts 1 out of 50 or so files. the unit does get rather warm, but not hot.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
07:09 AM Liked: 1783
post #2704 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 46,852
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Unusual indeed. Perhaps you could provide the specific Series name and scene that causes the unit to shut down.
RickPas's Avatar RickPas
07:45 AM Liked: 10
post #2705 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 561
Joined: Nov 2003
I am downloading the free sampler on HD tracks to give it a try, it is downloading, once it is downloaded how do I get it on the usb stick? Like I said this is new territory for me....

Rick
watboy's Avatar watboy
08:40 AM Liked: 10
post #2706 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Unusual indeed. Perhaps you could provide the specific Series name and scene that causes the unit to shut down.
Have to get back to you on the exact scene, but, most recently happened to the movie Taken and Frozen, and Breaking Bad (season 5) and Walking Dead (season 1).
gce's Avatar gce
09:47 AM Liked: 11
post #2707 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post
I am downloading the free sampler on HD tracks to give it a try, it is downloading, once it is downloaded how do I get it on the usb stick? Like I said this is new territory for me....

Rick

It probably downloaded it to your Music folder on your computer. Plug in your USB stick, right click on the HDtrack you want to try and send it to your USB stick. Put your USB stick in your Marantz and click ipod/USB on your remote. Arrow to the song you want and press enter.


Keep in mind that High-res files are much bigger then MP3's. The folder you have from HDtracks could be as large as 2.5GB's so just try one song at first then go from there.
RickPas's Avatar RickPas
11:30 AM Liked: 10
post #2708 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 561
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post
It probably downloaded it to your Music folder on your computer. Plug in your USB stick, right click on the HDtrack you want to try and send it to your USB stick. Put your USB stick in your Marantz and click ipod/USB on your remote. Arrow to the song you want and press enter.


Keep in mind that High-res files are much bigger then MP3's. The folder you have from HDtracks could be as large as 2.5GB's so just try one song at first then go from there.
Ok downloaded it and put it on the usb and it plays fine, just curious it doesn't give me what sample rate it is playing...I know when I put a sacd or blu ray It will usually say what rate it recognizes......But the sampler sounds really good just a not so great choice of music...
Rick
gce's Avatar gce
01:25 PM Liked: 11
post #2709 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post
Ok downloaded it and put it on the usb and it plays fine, just curious it doesn't give me what sample rate it is playing...I know when I put a sacd or blu ray It will usually say what rate it recognizes......But the sampler sounds really good just a not so great choice of music...
Rick

On your display (TV) it will tell you what format (FLAC...etc.) and 44.1, 96, 192kHz.
RickPas's Avatar RickPas
04:34 PM Liked: 10
post #2710 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 561
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post
On your display (TV) it will tell you what format (FLAC...etc.) and 44.1, 96, 192kHz.
the reciever tells me Flac but I am not seeing anything anywhere else..
Rick
gce's Avatar gce
04:43 PM Liked: 11
post #2711 of 3238
07-20-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPas View Post
the reciever tells me Flac but I am not seeing anything anywhere else..
Rick

You should be able to see it on your TV screen.
Anthrow
03:44 AM Liked: 0
post #2712 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgiorgio View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by tractng 

Got it. I have an emotiva 5 channel amp. I am trying to clean up my device and go with less equipment. My fronts are Kef LS50 with the following spec:. Before I had mirage omd 28 towers, hence the reason I got the the external amp. I am assuming the 7008 would be fine without an external amp. Usage are 50/50 music/HT. Room is 13x20x8. Sub is JL F113, rears are tiny satellite minx11. I only have a 5.1 setup.

HF: 25mm (1in.) vented aluminium dome
• MF: 130mm (5.25in.) magnesium/ aluminium alloy
• Crossover frequencies: 2.2kHz
• Frequency response (±3dB): 79Hz - 28 kHz
• Frequency range (-6dB): 47Hz - 45kHz
• Maximum output (SPL): 106dB
• Sensitivity (2.83V/1m): 85dB
• Amp Requirements: 25-100w
• Nominal impedance: 8Ω (min. 3.2Ω)


Your Kef's are described as a mini-monitor. Very nice. You are not driving multiple drivers in a large cabinet, smaller profile and the Marantz surpasses the upper limit of power required. You should be fine without the emotiva. You sub is self powered so its a non-issue. Plus you are sticking with a 5.1 system and not going to 9.2, so the Marantz built in amp will work even better for you.
I would assume 2 Kef LS50's would be powered fine on a SR6008 as well? I have mine hooked up with a Kef E305 set and I am looking to replace the 2 fronts with LS50's.

I have done some researching and the audiophiles on the web say the Marantz SR6008/7008 are no good powering such complex speakers. They're advice is to purchase a dedicated high quality stereo amp. Do you guys share this opinion, or can I hook these babies up fine on my SR6008 and enjoy high fidelity stereo?

Thanks in advance.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
04:10 AM Liked: 1783
post #2713 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 46,852
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Huh? Such complex speakers? There should be no problem at all.
Anthrow
04:20 AM Liked: 0
post #2714 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2014
^

Yeah on various forums I have read that LS50's are complex speakers to drive. And that its preferred to let dedicated stereo amps drive them. I am fairly new into this stuff so I tend to follow experts their advice. But since I had a hard time believing the Marantz wouldn't be able to drive these monitors I decided to ask u guys as well.
mthomas47's Avatar mthomas47
08:59 AM Liked: 40
post #2715 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 299
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthrow View Post
^

Yeah on various forums I have read that LS50's are complex speakers to drive. And that its preferred to let dedicated stereo amps drive them. I am fairly new into this stuff so I tend to follow experts their advice. But since I had a hard time believing the Marantz wouldn't be able to drive these monitors I decided to ask u guys as well.
We "audiophiles" are a funny bunch with sometimes peculiar ideas. I was curious about your speakers so I skimmed a review: stereophile.com/content/kef-ls50-anniversary-model-loudspeaker

All that I could really see was the admonition that owners might want to be sure to use an amplifier rated for 4 Ohms, which your 6008 is. I would expect your 6008 to have plenty of clean power to drive these speakers, particularly in stereo. And you will still have the benefit of your Audyssey room correction if you choose to use it. Of course, you can always experiment with a separate amp later, if you like and can afford it, but it certainly shouldn't be essential to good quality sound with those speakers.
Anthrow
04:40 PM Liked: 0
post #2716 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
We "audiophiles" are a funny bunch with sometimes peculiar ideas. I was curious about your speakers so I skimmed a review: stereophile.com/content/kef-ls50-anniversary-model-loudspeaker

All that I could really see was the admonition that owners might want to be sure to use an amplifier rated for 4 Ohms, which your 6008 is. I would expect your 6008 to have plenty of clean power to drive these speakers, particularly in stereo. And you will still have the benefit of your Audyssey room correction if you choose to use it. Of course, you can always experiment with a separate amp later, if you like and can afford it, but it certainly shouldn't be essential to good quality sound with those speakers.
Many thanks mthomas47, that you took the time to read into some technical details. I will go to a local KEF dealer and ask if I can audition them at home.
rodneyiii's Avatar rodneyiii
05:37 PM Liked: 15
post #2717 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 64
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup. As has been discussed a number of times in this thread the first step to resolve an issue is a soft reset by simply unplugging the power cable. The second is either a microprocessor or network reset, both of which will return the unit to factory default settings. It also pays to read your Owner's manual to learn how to back up the config file (includes Audyssey settings) to a PC using the Web Control SAVE/LOAD feature: (SR5008 – p. 121; SR6008 – p. 125). SR7008 - p. 138)
Can you post a screenshot from the Web interface showing where the SAVE/LOAD buttons are? I've looked and only see a RELOAD under the Main Zone window. Thanks.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
05:51 PM Liked: 1783
post #2718 of 3238
07-21-2014 | Posts: 46,852
Joined: Sep 2007
^^
Although I wrote this for the 2013 Denon models, the SAVE/LOAD information in the link below likely applies to the Marantz models as well.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
senojhrj1
05:17 AM Liked: 0
post #2719 of 3238
07-22-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
We "audiophiles" are a funny bunch with sometimes peculiar ideas. I was curious about your speakers so I skimmed a review: stereophile.com/content/kef-ls50-anniversary-model-loudspeaker

All that I could really see was the admonition that owners might want to be sure to use an amplifier rated for 4 Ohms, which your 6008 is. I would expect your 6008 to have plenty of clean power to drive these speakers, particularly in stereo. And you will still have the benefit of your Audyssey room correction if you choose to use it. Of course, you can always experiment with a separate amp later, if you like and can afford it, but it certainly shouldn't be essential to good quality sound with those speakers.
Maybe I am reading something wrong but I see the minimum impedance for the SR6008 (same for SR5008 and SR7008) is 6 Ohms.

AUDIO SECTION
Power Output110W (0.08% @ 8 Ohm), 150W (0.7% @ 6 Ohm)
steveting99's Avatar steveting99
06:36 AM Liked: 135
post #2720 of 3238
07-22-2014 | Posts: 1,023
Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by senojhrj1 View Post
Maybe I am reading something wrong but I see the minimum impedance for the SR6008 (same for SR5008 and SR7008) is 6 Ohms.

AUDIO SECTION
Power Output110W (0.08% @ 8 Ohm), 150W (0.7% @ 6 Ohm)
Marantz like many any other vendors likes to pad their numbers with marketing sleight of hand tricks when it comes to power output. They like Pioneer, Onkyo and others think that consumers will be fooled with impressive high power output.

The first thing to note is the THD numbers. 0.08% for 110W vs. 0.7% for 150W. Obviously the higher the amp is driven, the greater the distortion and the risk of clipping occurring.

The second thing is that the nominal impedance rating is different between the different power ratings. With an I^2*R relationship between power and resistance, the higher impedance is expected to have a lower power rating. This assumes that current which really drives the speaker is the same.

The minimum impedance is determined by the speaker manufacturer. It's given in their freq. vs. impedance curve. I believe there are a number of sites that show the LS50 curve with a minimum value of 3 ohms. The nominal impedance of the LS50 is actually 8 ohms.
mthomas47's Avatar mthomas47
08:08 AM Liked: 40
post #2721 of 3238
07-22-2014 | Posts: 299
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by senojhrj1 View Post
Maybe I am reading something wrong but I see the minimum impedance for the SR6008 (same for SR5008 and SR7008) is 6 Ohms.

AUDIO SECTION
Power Output110W (0.08% @ 8 Ohm), 150W (0.7% @ 6 Ohm)
I would trust Steve or JD more than I would myself with respect to discussions of impedance, but I did double-check a test bench review of the 7008 before making my original post. The following is from Sound & Vision:

2 channels continuously driven, 8 ohms (watts @ 0.1% / 1.0% THD): 122.5 / 148.0
2 channels continuously driven, 4 ohms (watts at 0.1% / 1.0% THD): 195.4 / 216.8
5 channels continuously driven, 8 ohms (watts at 0.1% / 1.0% THD): 101.2 / 111.5
7 channels continuously driven, 8 ohms (watts at 0.1% / 1.0% THD): 68.8 / 82.2

For what it's worth, I ran my older Marantz 7002 AVR for several years with a center channel at 4ohms, with no apparent ill effects. As Steve said, I think a lot depends on how much power you need to draw.
Anthrow
10:08 AM Liked: 0
post #2722 of 3238
07-22-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Marantz like many any other vendors likes to pad their numbers with marketing sleight of hand tricks when it comes to power output. They like Pioneer, Onkyo and others think that consumers will be fooled with impressive high power output.

The first thing to note is the THD numbers. 0.08% for 110W vs. 0.7% for 150W. Obviously the higher the amp is driven, the greater the distortion and the risk of clipping occurring.

The second thing is that the nominal impedance rating is different between the different power ratings. With an I^2*R relationship between power and resistance, the higher impedance is expected to have a lower power rating. This assumes that current which really drives the speaker is the same.

The minimum impedance is determined by the speaker manufacturer. It's given in their freq. vs. impedance curve. I believe there are a number of sites that show the LS50 curve with a minimum value of 3 ohms. The nominal impedance of the LS50 is actually 8 ohms.
I appreciate your number crunching and theoretics Steve. It's always nice to get detailed information . But I am unsure how to interpret your reply. Will the Marantz drive the Speakers fine or not?
rodneyiii's Avatar rodneyiii
04:03 PM Liked: 15
post #2723 of 3238
07-22-2014 | Posts: 64
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Although I wrote this for the 2013 Denon models, the SAVE/LOAD information in the link below likely applies to the Marantz models as well.

The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ
Thanks. I would have NEVER found that menu without this info! The SAVE/LOAD url worked. Also, after setting my IE11 to Compatibility Mode, the SAVE/LOAD button showed up under the GENERAL button but only after popping back to the MAIN screen first and then entering the Main zone again. These things are getting too complicated!
steveting99's Avatar steveting99
07:11 PM Liked: 135
post #2724 of 3238
07-22-2014 | Posts: 1,023
Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthrow View Post
I appreciate your number crunching and theoretics Steve. It's always nice to get detailed information . But I am unsure how to interpret your reply. Will the Marantz drive the Speakers fine or not?
Anthrow,

The short answer is that Marantz receiver will drive the KEF LS50 fine; provided you don't sit more than 8' to 10' away from them and don't plan on listening very loud. The LS50 are mini-monitors after all and meant for near field listening.

There is a more detailed answer for amp calculation in the KEF LS50 owner's there (post #819 ) here: KEF LS50 Owners
Anthrow
01:51 AM Liked: 0
post #2725 of 3238
07-23-2014 | Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Anthrow,

The short answer is that Marantz receiver will drive the KEF LS50 fine; provided you don't sit more than 8' to 10' away from them and don't plan on listening very loud. The LS50 are mini-monitors after all and meant for near field listening.

There is a more detailed answer for amp calculation in the KEF LS50 owner's there (post #819 ) here: KEF LS50 Owners
Again many thanks Steve,

I had exactly the same use for the LS50 in mind as you described. So I guess it will be a good fit then.
blake's Avatar blake
01:58 AM Liked: 10
post #2726 of 3238
07-23-2014 | Posts: 80
Joined: Nov 2002
Can anyone tell me how to disable the sr7008 from announcing over the speakers (in an annoying synthetic voice at 2x the usual volume!) the current input source ex. "Hdmi 2, receiver" when receiver powers up? Thanks
steveting99's Avatar steveting99
02:05 AM Liked: 135
post #2727 of 3238
07-23-2014 | Posts: 1,023
Joined: Jun 2011
^^ Anthrow,

I've got the KEF E301 satellites (your E305 is the package system of the satellites) and power them with the low end Marantz NR-1504 that's rated at just 50W per channel. The E301 are about 1' from the wall and seating distance is about 10' away. Most of the time, the Main Volume (MV) is around -30dB to -40dB for movies/TV shows/listening to music; on a few occasions the MV has gone up to -10dB, but it's quite loud. I don't leave it there for very long.

Note that the sensitivity of the KEF E301 (86dB/W/m) and LS50 (85dB/W/m) are similar.

Near field placement is the key for enjoying these KEF speakers.
jdsmoothie's Avatar jdsmoothie
03:44 AM Liked: 1783
post #2728 of 3238
07-23-2014 | Posts: 46,852
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Can anyone tell me how to disable the sr7008 from announcing over the speakers (in an annoying synthetic voice at 2x the usual volume!) the current input source ex. "Hdmi 2, receiver" when receiver powers up? Thanks
This is not a feature of the AVR so not quite sure why you're experiencing this.
gce's Avatar gce
08:29 AM Liked: 11
post #2729 of 3238
07-23-2014 | Posts: 398
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake View Post
Can anyone tell me how to disable the sr7008 from announcing over the speakers (in an annoying synthetic voice at 2x the usual volume!) the current input source ex. "Hdmi 2, receiver" when receiver powers up? Thanks

Could it be another component you have hooked to your 7008?
garontee's Avatar garontee
09:31 PM Liked: 0
post #2730 of 3238
07-23-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2013
Is there a way to specify if a source gets its audio from HDMI or optical? I was having audio lag issues with my XBOX 360 connected to my SR5008 through HDMI then HDMI to TV from the AVR. So I added an optical cable from Xbox to the receiver, and changed the inputs under Input assign top reflect HDMI 4 (game) and optical 1. I'm just not sure if the receiver is getting the audio from the HDMI still. I know I could send the HDMI directly to the TV but then I lose the on screen display which I prefer over squinting into the the tiny porthole. If this doesn't work, are there settings to slow down the video so the audio can catch up? I know I can slow down the audio with Audio delay, any similar feature for video that I can't find?
Tags: Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3