The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 96 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 3860 Old 08-18-2014, 10:30 PM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
Hi AVSnewbie123,

Welcome to AVS! ARC had given me a lot of grief and I've switched it off. Most TV sets which receive DD over the air broadcast will down grade into 2.0 and cause handshake issues over HDMI. Since you've got the Cisco DVB, I'd use that as the main source.



While the best person to answer this is jdsmoothie, I'd try a soft reset. Unplug the power for about an hour. See if you're able to run Audyssey setup again.

The SR5008 has an ethernet port and if your router is nearby, connect to it via hard wire. Once you've gone through Audyssey setup, via the PC web interface, connect to your SR5008 through it's IP address. Save your settings on the PC so that if something goes wrong again in the future, you can reload your settings without going through the entire setup again. It will save all your custom settings also. It is a useful and time saving feature.
Hi steveting99,


Thanks for the reply!


I was suspecting that CISCO could be causing problems. I have tried setting CISCO audio output to its both options (PCM and EDID) with no success. Other option is set to DOLBY, but I will see what happens when set to STEREO. TV sound is not a huge issue from my perspective, as long as it exists. Does using CISCO as the main source mean plugging it directly into the AVR? (CISCO does not have a hdmi control option).


I have also turned off something called INSTAPORT for HDMI on the TV and disabled content type recognition via HDMI on the TV (suggested by the TV manual when using old HDMI equipment).




As for the "soft reset", I left the unit switched off for the night, there is picture on the TV, but no sound at all.
Not sure how to use the BNC connector cable from the link for ETHERNET. The unit has an RS232, but it is plugged into the router directly with a LAN cable. I had no connectivity issues, but I could try using a static IP for it.


Thanks for the suggestions, I would appreciate additional advice!
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 3860 Old 08-18-2014, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,662
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSnewbie123 View Post
Hi steveting99,


Thanks for the reply!


I was suspecting that CISCO could be causing problems. I have tried setting CISCO audio output to its both options (PCM and EDID) with no success. Other option is set to DOLBY, but I will see what happens when set to STEREO. TV sound is not a huge issue from my perspective, as long as it exists. Does using CISCO as the main source mean plugging it directly into the AVR? (CISCO does not have a hdmi control option).


I have also turned off something called INSTAPORT for HDMI on the TV and disabled content type recognition via HDMI on the TV (suggested by the TV manual when using old HDMI equipment).




As for the "soft reset", I left the unit switched off for the night, there is picture on the TV, but no sound at all.
Not sure how to use the BNC connector cable from the link for ETHERNET. The unit has an RS232, but it is plugged into the router directly with a LAN cable. I had no connectivity issues, but I could try using a static IP for it.


Thanks for the suggestions, I would appreciate additional advice!
With just the TV connected to the SR5008 via HDMI, are you able to go through the Audyssey setup? You previously mentioned doing a factory reset and the SR5008 hung when going through the Audyssey setup process. This shouldn't happen and trouble shooting by having nothing connected except the TV to the AVR would be a good place to start.

Once the Audyssey setup with the connected speakers is done, hardwire to the router to save onto your PC. Carry out a load to make sure your saved settings from the PC can be restored to the SR5008. The step-by-step SAVE/LOAD from the AVR is given by jdsmoothie here: The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

Once you've confirmed that SAVE/LOAD works, it'll be easy to restore back to a know good state without having to go through the entire setup again.

Connect the cisco device to the SR5008 then play with settings on the cisco to see what trips up the SR5008. You might have to report this bug back to your cable provider and ask when the fix via firmware will become available.

Maranatz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP(2x4), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8 (on order), HiMedia Q16 (on order).
steveting99 is offline  
post #2853 of 3860 Old 08-18-2014, 11:44 PM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again for the reply.


I tried Audyssay setup this morning, but there was no sound and it could not be completed. I unplugged the unit, tv, etc. And got sound on the unit when TUNER input is selected.


I made manual settings of the speakers using IP control (web control) and left the TUNER on.
After half an hour - 45 min, I lost sound completely again. What could be causing this? Should I return the unit or take it to service? It is approx. two months old.


As for the Cable provider, I don't thing they care about this. They will say that its OK since I have Picture and Sound on the TV. Anyway, I will connect the CISCO directly to the AVR and give it a try.


I am open to other suggestions, would hate to send the unit back.
















Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
With just the TV connected to the SR5008 via HDMI, are you able to go through the Audyssey setup? You previously mentioned doing a factory reset and the SR5008 hung when going through the Audyssey setup process. This shouldn't happen and trouble shooting by having nothing connected except the TV to the AVR would be a good place to start.

Once the Audyssey setup with the connected speakers is done, hardwire to the router to save onto your PC. Carry out a load to make sure your saved settings from the PC can be restored to the SR5008. The step-by-step SAVE/LOAD from the AVR is given by jdsmoothie here: The 'Official' 2013 Denon "E Series" / "X Series" AVR Model Owner's Thread & FAQ

Once you've confirmed that SAVE/LOAD works, it'll be easy to restore back to a know good state without having to go through the entire setup again.

Connect the cisco device to the SR5008 then play with settings on the cisco to see what trips up the SR5008. You might have to report this bug back to your cable provider and ask when the fix via firmware will become available.

Last edited by AVSnewbie123; 08-18-2014 at 11:50 PM.
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
post #2854 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,662
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 240
^AVSnewbie123,

Do the factory reset outline in page 235 of the owner's manual.

(1) turn off power to the SR5008 via the front panel ON/OFF button.
(2) press the front panel ON/OFF button and at the same time press and hold the: GAME + A-DSX buttons.
(3) wait until the display starts to flash in 1 second intervals, then release the: GAME + A-DSX buttons.

Report back if the factory reset worked. If it doesn't and you've tried the above procedure a few times, I'm afraid it means returning the SR5008 and get a new one.

Maranatz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP(2x4), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8 (on order), HiMedia Q16 (on order).
steveting99 is offline  
post #2855 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 02:15 AM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
^AVSnewbie123,

Do the factory reset outline in page 235 of the owner's manual.

(1) turn off power to the SR5008 via the front panel ON/OFF button.
(2) press the front panel ON/OFF button and at the same time press and hold the: GAME + A-DSX buttons.
(3) wait until the display starts to flash in 1 second intervals, then release the: GAME + A-DSX buttons.

Report back if the factory reset worked. If it doesn't and you've tried the above procedure a few times, I'm afraid it means returning the SR5008 and get a new one.
Tried the factory reset, according to the manual. Power led, pure direct, m-dax and the display flashed together until I let go of the buttons? The manual says just the display should flash?


BTW. My manual says swith off, than OFF+ ZONE2 + M-DAX for factory reset.




Tuner played again for a few minutes and muted again. Should I maybe reinstall the firmware or something similar?
Could speaker cables 2*2.5mm be causing the problem the speakers are small, but 8ohm. I have not noticed that the unit was running hot, just warmish while it was still functional...

Last edited by AVSnewbie123; 08-19-2014 at 03:14 AM.
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
post #2856 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 03:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steveting99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,662
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 240
^AVSnewbie123,

Apologies for the confusion regarding the factory reset - was looking at the SR7008 manual rather than SR5008. The buttons you've mentioned are correct. If you've followed the procedure as outlined in page 197, the display should flash in 1 second intervals.

Assuming you've just connected to the TV via HDMI and press setup button on the remote, are you able to get to the Marantz menu screen? When you plug in the Audyssey mic are you able to see the Audyssey setup screen and carry out all 8 measurement points?

The speaker cable of 2.5mm sq. sits between AWG 13 to 14. See the following chart here: http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/aw...uge-d_731.html, what is the sensitivity rating of your satellite speakers and their power handling abilities? Make and model would be useful.

If the distance from the SR5008 to the speaker is short, the 2.5mm sq. cable shouldn't be an issue. The following wiring table gives a guideline: http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm#wiretable

Check the cable for any faults with and without the speakers connected.

jdsmoothie might be able to offer better advise as I'm lost what else you can do. It looks like a return to Marantz is necessary if you can't get past Audyssey setup.

Maranatz SR-7009, Oppo BPD-93, MTV 7000D, LG LW6500, aTV, WDTV Live, Harmony 650 remote, KEF E301+T101, MiniDSP(2x4), Emotiva 2xXPA-5 (Gen2), Rythmik 2xF12G+2xF8 (on order), HiMedia Q16 (on order).
steveting99 is offline  
post #2857 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 03:46 AM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveting99 View Post
^AVSnewbie123,

Apologies for the confusion regarding the factory reset - was looking at the SR7008 manual rather than SR5008. The buttons you've mentioned are correct. If you've followed the procedure as outlined in page 197, the display should flash in 1 second intervals.

Assuming you've just connected to the TV via HDMI and press setup button on the remote, are you able to get to the Marantz menu screen? When you plug in the Audyssey mic are you able to see the Audyssey setup screen and carry out all 8 measurement points?

The speaker cable of 2.5mm sq. sits between AWG 13 to 14. See the following chart here: http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/aw...uge-d_731.html, what is the sensitivity rating of your satellite speakers and their power handling abilities? Make and model would be useful.

If the distance from the SR5008 to the speaker is short, the 2.5mm sq. cable shouldn't be an issue. The following wiring table gives a guideline: http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm#wiretable

Check the cable for any faults with and without the speakers connected.

jdsmoothie might be able to offer better advise as I'm lost what else you can do. It looks like a return to Marantz is necessary if you can't get past Audyssey setup.


Thanks again for the answer. The speakers are Monitor Audio R90HD10, 10-100W, 87db, 8ohm.


Speaker lengths are 3-8m depending on the speaker, so I guess this is OK. HDMI length is 5m, except for the SetTopBox which is 1.5m long, I think.
Speakers are properly connected, I double checked the connections.
I have no picture on the TV. It just recognizes that the AVR is connected but the screen is black

Hope jdsmoothie would also give a suggestion. I would like to avoid returning the unit if possible....
.

Last edited by AVSnewbie123; 08-19-2014 at 04:04 AM.
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
post #2858 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 04:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
^^
As the standard troubleshooting has proved ineffective, it does appear to be defective and should be repaired/exchanged.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2859 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 04:31 AM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
As the standard troubleshooting has proved ineffective, it does appear to be defective and should be repaired/exchanged.


Thanks for the support and answers. I guess I am left without any other options. Not sure how to pack it since the original box and package went out as garbage when the unit arrived...
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
post #2860 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 06:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
^^
With electronics, you always want to save the original box (regardless of what wife says) at least for warranty period as it includes the proper packing to ensure safe shipment if any repair work is required. You can purchase a box and packing material at Home Depot, Lowes, or any local moving company (eg. UHaul).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 08-19-2014 at 06:41 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2861 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Ace Deprave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
With electronics, you always want to save the original box (regardless of what wife says) as it includes the proper packing to ensure safe shipment if any repair work is required. You can purchase a box and packing material at Home Depot, Lowes, or any local moving company (eg. UHaul).
I still have the boxes from my first set of "high dollar" Polk RT12 speakers that I bought in 1995, and have used them to move several times over the years. The speakers have been passed on to the kids now, but as long as they're in the house, the boxes will be there for them!

Every so often I have to go through the electronics boxes in the attic to get rid of the ones whose original equipment isn't around anymore.
Ace Deprave is offline  
post #2862 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 1821
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSnewbie123 View Post
Hi steveting99,
.
.
As for the "soft reset", I left the unit switched off for the night, there is picture on the TV, but no sound at all.
.
.
Thanks for the suggestions, I would appreciate additional advice!
Hi AVSnewbie123,

The soft reset suggested by Steve required unplugging the power cord, not just turning the unit off. Using the off switch in computers/electronic systems often does not remove all power inside the box, keeping some circuits powered on. I'm not sure if you really got a soft reset on the unit with the power cord still plugged in. jdsmoothie will know better than I do.

Just a thought by a non-expert,

Regards, Ken (Retired)
Denon AVR4520CI; 9.1 setup
Samsung 55H8000 TS02; Samsung BD-F7500 (2014)
Klipsch R-12SW Subwoofer (Looking to add SVS PC2000)
LRC & RS = Celestion 5s & 3s; Front height and side surrounds = Polks
Matt2026 is offline  
post #2863 of 3860 Old 08-19-2014, 11:27 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Soft Reset

^^
You are correct Sir. Unless the AVR power cord is unplugged, there is still power going to the unit in Standby mode and therefore no soft reset.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2864 of 3860 Old 08-20-2014, 02:50 AM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You are correct Sir. Unless the AVR power cord is unplugged, there is still power going to the unit in Standby mode and therefore no soft reset.
Appreciate the suggestion, but unfortunately, yes, I have unplugged the device from the wall power socket over night, as well as all other connections (HDMI, speakers etc. which may have been unnecessary). Have tried the "soft reset" several times.


The problem was partially fixed (picture but no sound or sound but no picture on the tv) several times by unplugging, and disconnecting and reconnecting the HDMI connecting AVR with the TV. Since it was a partial fix, I did a Factory reset, but the Sound was lost during AUDYSSEY setup, and it could not be finished.


After another soft reset and factory reset, I got sound just from the TUNER source, but after around half an hour or so, the sound was completely lost, and has not returned since. (Tried a few more Factory and soft resets with no results).


I wrote to the online store to report a unit with defect and I am waiting for their response.


I would like to thank the forum members for support on resolving this issue!
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
post #2865 of 3860 Old 08-20-2014, 09:38 AM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSnewbie123 View Post
Thanks for the support and answers. I guess I am left without any other options. Not sure how to pack it since the original box and package went out as garbage when the unit arrived...
Have you called Marantz yet? Maybe they could talk you through something that hasn't been brought up here.
gce is offline  
post #2866 of 3860 Old 08-20-2014, 09:58 AM
Member
 
AVSnewbie123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gce View Post
Have you called Marantz yet? Maybe they could talk you through something that hasn't been brought up here.
Yes, I have contacted them. Since I have already tried with another TV and another HDMI cable, they also suggested to send it to the shop and then further for repairs.



Hope the repair process wont last long.

Last edited by AVSnewbie123; 08-20-2014 at 10:03 AM.
AVSnewbie123 is offline  
post #2867 of 3860 Old 08-20-2014, 10:36 AM
gce
Senior Member
 
gce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anaheim CA
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry to hear that, hope it doesn't take to long!
gce is offline  
post #2868 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 12:06 AM
Member
 
AuburnM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,

I am looking for a good quality reciever or processor that won't break the bank. My needs are:

1. Have at least a 5.1 pre out
2. Good room correction for home theater purposes
3. HDMI switching. Don't need 4k
4. 12 V trigger out

I have ordered a McIntosh C2500 preamp for my 2 channel needs, so I need a receiver that can run my HT setup. I have a pair of MC352's for the fronts and a MC7205 for the center and rears.

The C2500 has an HT bypass mode. It just needs a 12V trigger out to signal it to go into that mode.

Will the 5008 work?
AuburnM5 is offline  
post #2869 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 12:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
^^
Yes, it should as it does have a single 12v output.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2870 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 12:16 AM
Member
 
AuburnM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yes, it should as it does have a single 12v output.
So, the fact the pre outs are for zone 2 doesn't matter? The receiver will be used for watching DirecTV and watching movies on an Oppo 103D
AuburnM5 is offline  
post #2871 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 12:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
^^
Huh? There are 2 sets of pre-outs .... 7.1 (main zone) and 2.0 (Zone 2).

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2872 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 12:26 AM
Member
 
AuburnM5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Huh? There are 2 sets of pre-outs .... 7.1 (main zone) and 2.0 (Zone 2).
Awesome. I was trying to read the owner's manual on mobile. That's what I needed to know! Thanks!
AuburnM5 is offline  
post #2873 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
With the new SR7009 due out in Oct, Marantz has lowered the UAP on the SR7008. Call me for pricing.

This still applicable?
KRiS1 is offline  
post #2874 of 3860 Old 08-23-2014, 09:55 PM
Newbie
 
x0tiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need of help here. I had SR5008 for couple of weeks now.
After last two days, amp giving strange sound from all speakers.
I have pulled out all audio components like blu-ray player, CD and cable.
Even if all equipments were disconnected, strange sound still present.

can view vdo here
x0tiq is offline  
post #2875 of 3860 Old 08-24-2014, 06:00 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRiS1 View Post
This still applicable?

Yup, and looks like it will continue beyond the release of the SR7009 in a couple of weeks until all inventory is gone.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2876 of 3860 Old 08-24-2014, 06:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Quote:
Originally Posted by x0tiq View Post
Need of help here. I had SR5008 for couple of weeks now.
After last two days, amp giving strange sound from all speakers.
I have pulled out all audio components like blu-ray player, CD and cable.
Even if all equipments were disconnected, strange sound still present.

can view vdo here
Reset the microprocessor (p. 200 Owner's manual) which will reset all settings to factory default. If it still occurs, exchange it.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2877 of 3860 Old 08-24-2014, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
x0tiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Reset the microprocessor (p. 200 Owner's manual) which will reset all settings to factory default.
Done that ... still the same

Even when the volume is at 0, sound still can be heard
x0tiq is offline  
post #2878 of 3860 Old 08-24-2014, 09:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
^^
Then return it if possible otherwise needs repair.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #2879 of 3860 Old 08-24-2014, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi,

I have a Marantz SR-7008 A/V receiver, paired with Monitor Audio Silver 1 Front and Center speakers and Monitor Audio Radius 90 surround speakers.

I have run the Audyssey setup, and then checked the resulting Equalizer spectrum. I noticed that for several of the speakers the audio level compensation was up to +/- 10 dB for certain frequency ranges. So I just wonder if it is normal for the audio level compensation to be that high (+/- 10 dB)?

Also, if you have a Marantz receiver (or some other A/V receiver), what does the Audyssey Equalizer spectrum look like for your setup?
Fjodor2000 is offline  
post #2880 of 3860 Old 08-25-2014, 02:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,964
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3999 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
^^
You're not actually looking at the real Audyssey EQ, rather simply a very crude representation when viewing the Graphic EQ. Additionally, speakers can react very differently from one room to another.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off