The **OFFICIAL** Marantz SR5008, SR6008 and SR7008 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 97 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2896 Old 08-25-2014, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation Same Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSnewbie123 View Post
Yes, I have contacted them. Since I have already tried with another TV and another HDMI cable, they also suggested to send it to the shop and then further for repairs.



Hope the repair process wont last long.
Hi mate
Any news on your AVR
I ended with my Brand new purchased Marantz (SR7008) with the same symptoms
It didn't last a minute
and now I am

After unboxing I hooked it up to my tv and projector ( HDMI Main Zone m1,2) and turned the power on. but the video output (On-Screen Setup Assistance) was partially Pixelated and scrambled and lots of white dots were seen on both TV and screen. I canceled the On-Screen Setup and my HDMI Connected source ( PS3 and SAT ) now can be seen but again white dots and sparks repeatedly shown on both screen. I moved the HDMI out to the second zone and problem gone. I tried to Reset to factory and reinitialize the unit as instructed in manual. but no luck. Then after 1 hour of trial there is no video on none of the 3 HDMI Out...!!!!
even Marantz start-up logo does not display.... just No signal on all HDMIs
Receiver starts normally without any fault indication on power led or FP display , but no videos .
Remote and front panel control are responding except for setup button.
Again reset to factory setting did not help...
initially I suspected that this might be due to defective HDMI Board .but at the same time I had no more access to Setup Mode ... so I thought that there should be some sort of firmware issues.as long as I had no more GUI I went through the firmware update process via USB , but it had no effect.
I emailed the problem to the dealer and waiting for the response.
Meanwhile I appreciate any suggestion or comment...
Thanks (and sorry for my bad English)

PS: I bought this unit from a premium Marantz dealer in Nederland and took it to my country(IRAN) . you may realize how it is painful for me cuz have no easy access to the dealer or a service center .And if I have to return it for repair the shipment will cost me another AVR.
itcvage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2896 Old 08-25-2014, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 39
"PS: I bought this unit from a premium Marantz dealer in Nederland and took it to my country(IRAN) . you may realize how it is painful for me cuz have no easy access to the dealer or a service center .And if I have to return it for repair the shipment will cost me another AVR."

I'm sorry to hear about your problems. Your return issues make a problem I am having seem smaller in comparison.

Regards,
Mike
mthomas47 is offline  
post #2883 of 2896 Old 08-25-2014, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 39
7008 Relays Clicking

I am having a problem with excessive relay clicking in my 7008. It started last week, and so far seems limited to only certain 5.1 content such as: "The Raid-Redemption" and HBO's "Band of Brothers". It happens continuously during the program--every few seconds as if you are changing from PLIIx Movie to Music, or vice-versa. Each click causes a momentary audio break. Very distracting! I have tried changing modes (I tried all of them with no effect), doing a couple of soft resets (unplugging the power cord for 15 minutes), and doing a microprocessor reset (page 241), all without success so far.

It may be purely coincidental, but I believe I got a firmware update the day this started. Marantz doesn't tell you when an update occurs, but I currently have: 5530-9646-1645. Thursday night I got a new screen message informing me that a new feature had been added which would allow me to control my Cable/Satellite from my Marantz remote. I didn't particularly want that feature, but the screen wasn't functional anyway. I couldn't navigate to any commands within the screen and I couldn't exit the screen. Even turning the 7008 off didn't help. The screen was still there, frozen and preventing me from doing anything else. I finally unplugged the unit which made the notification screen go away and I haven't seen it since. But the relay clicking problem stared immediately thereafter when I watched "The Raid-Redemption".

I do not, so far, have the problem with normal TV programs or with music--just with the two programs listed above. But whatever it is, I don't seem to be able to fix it. I have seen firmware updates screw things up in satellite boxes (DVR's) before, and I can't help wondering if there is a relationship between that "new feature", the frozen screen, and the relay problem which started right afterwards.

Has anybody else seen that "new feature" notification, or experienced any similar sorts of problems to the ones I am describing? If it is a firmware issue, we probably need to report it to Marantz. Perhaps they can fix it with the next update. Obviously, any other suggestions on what to do in the meantime would be very welcome. I can send it back for repair, but I am not quite ready to do that, particularly if it could be a firmware issue.

Thanks for any help,
Mike
mthomas47 is offline  
post #2884 of 2896 Old 08-25-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fjodor2000 View Post
Hi,

I have a Marantz SR-7008 A/V receiver, paired with Monitor Audio Silver 1 Front and Center speakers and Monitor Audio Radius 90 surround speakers.

I have run the Audyssey setup, and then checked the resulting Equalizer spectrum. I noticed that for several of the speakers the audio level compensation was up to +/- 10 dB for certain frequency ranges. So I just wonder if it is normal for the audio level compensation to be that high (+/- 10 dB)?

Also, if you have a Marantz receiver (or some other A/V receiver), what does the Audyssey Equalizer spectrum look like for your setup?
^^
You're not actually looking at the real Audyssey EQ, rather simply a very crude representation when viewing the Graphic EQ. Additionally, speakers can react very differently from one room to another.
Hmm... I'm not sure I follow. If it's not the Audyssey Graphic EQ, then what is it?

Of course it cannot show the the exact audio level compensation for each frequency, but it's still very easy to see at what frequency ranges are affected and how. For example it's very easy to see that the audio compensation level is +/- 10 dB for some frequency ranges. Or do you mean that this info is inaccurate?
Fjodor2000 is offline  
post #2885 of 2896 Old 08-25-2014, 05:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,852
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1406
^^
I mean it's a very crude representation of the Audyssey and that we really don't know what the real Audyssey curve looks like.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2886 of 2896 Old 08-25-2014, 05:25 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,852
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1406
Quote:
Originally Posted by mthomas47 View Post
I am having a problem with excessive relay clicking in my 7008. It started last week, and so far seems limited to only certain 5.1 content such as: "The Raid-Redemption" and HBO's "Band of Brothers". It happens continuously during the program--every few seconds as if you are changing from PLIIx Movie to Music, or vice-versa. Each click causes a momentary audio break. Very distracting! I have tried changing modes (I tried all of them with no effect), doing a couple of soft resets (unplugging the power cord for 15 minutes), and doing a microprocessor reset (page 241), all without success so far.

It may be purely coincidental, but I believe I got a firmware update the day this started. Marantz doesn't tell you when an update occurs, but I currently have: 5530-9646-1645. Thursday night I got a new screen message informing me that a new feature had been added which would allow me to control my Cable/Satellite from my Marantz remote. I didn't particularly want that feature, but the screen wasn't functional anyway. I couldn't navigate to any commands within the screen and I couldn't exit the screen. Even turning the 7008 off didn't help. The screen was still there, frozen and preventing me from doing anything else. I finally unplugged the unit which made the notification screen go away and I haven't seen it since. But the relay clicking problem stared immediately thereafter when I watched "The Raid-Redemption".

I do not, so far, have the problem with normal TV programs or with music--just with the two programs listed above. But whatever it is, I don't seem to be able to fix it. I have seen firmware updates screw things up in satellite boxes (DVR's) before, and I can't help wondering if there is a relationship between that "new feature", the frozen screen, and the relay problem which started right afterwards.

Has anybody else seen that "new feature" notification, or experienced any similar sorts of problems to the ones I am describing? If it is a firmware issue, we probably need to report it to Marantz. Perhaps they can fix it with the next update. Obviously, any other suggestions on what to do in the meantime would be very welcome. I can send it back for repair, but I am not quite ready to do that, particularly if it could be a firmware issue.

Thanks for any help,
Mike
This issue is not likely related to the firmware update but rather in fact an issue with the source audio especially as you indicated it was just a problem with two shows. This actually happened to me for the first time with my X4000 (sister model to the SR7008) over the weekend while watching a recorded show on my DVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2887 of 2896 Old 08-26-2014, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
This issue is not likely related to the firmware update but rather in fact an issue with the source audio especially as you indicated it was just a problem with two shows. This actually happened to me for the first time with my X4000 (sister model to the SR7008) over the weekend while watching a recorded show on my DVR.
JD,

I am sorry to hear that you are also experiencing the same problem with your Denon, but I am curious about the coincidence of timing for both of us. Do you have any idea what would be causing this to happen now? I have recorded and watched many HBO programs, including all episodes of Game of Thrones, and I have never had any trouble until Thursday of last week. The two of us are too small a sample to base any conclusions on (and I don't even know if Denon and Marantz release similar firmware updates, or release them close together). I can't think of any way to fix this, but it will be interesting to see if anyone else experiences it. Do you also have DirecTV?

Mike
mthomas47 is offline  
post #2888 of 2896 Old 08-26-2014, 08:23 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,852
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1406
^^
Yes, I have a DTV Genie box, but as I said, this is a "source" problem (an issue with the audio they are transmitting) so nothing to do with the AVR, especially as the last firmware update was back in March.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2889 of 2896 Old 08-26-2014, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Yes, I have a DTV Genie box, but as I said, this is a "source" problem (an issue with the audio they are transmitting) so nothing to do with the AVR, especially as the last firmware update was back in March.
I also have a Genie. I wonder if a reset there would accomplish anything? No harm in trying I guess.
mthomas47 is offline  
post #2890 of 2896 Old 08-26-2014, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Fjodor2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
I mean it's a very crude representation of the Audyssey and that we really don't know what the real Audyssey curve looks like.
Sure, but it's enough to conclude that some frequency ranges have an audio level compensation of around +/- 10 dB, right? Since that's what the Graphic EQ shows in my case.

So I wonder if that is normal. What does the Audyssey Graphic EQ look like on other forum member's A/V receivers?

Last edited by Fjodor2000; 08-26-2014 at 08:53 AM.
Fjodor2000 is offline  
post #2891 of 2896 Old 08-26-2014, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
mthomas47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fjodor2000 View Post
Sure, but it's enough to conclude that some frequency ranges have an audio level compensation of around +/- 10 dB, right? Since that's what the Graphic EQ shows in my case.

So I wonder if that is normal. What does the Audyssey Graphic EQ look like on other forum member's A/V receivers?
I have seen others that were similar. You can have 20-30db peaks or dips in certain parts of the room depending on specific room modes. People on both this thread and the Audyssey thread have advised you to simply ignore those crude charts. Chris K., the inventor of Audyssey, has said that some of the AV makers added them against his wishes (he thinks they are useless) just to give us something sexy to look at.

The important thing is how your system sounds after calibration. And if you are really interested you can obtain measuring equipment (REW, for instance) to measure the pre- and post-Audyssey results to see what is actually happening, and to fine tune your calibration. I've never wanted to go that far down the rabbit hole, myself, but a lot of others have.
mthomas47 is offline  
post #2892 of 2896 Old Yesterday, 02:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi
Any Idea in how to downgrade to previous firmware ... (SR7008)
The unit got no video after last update ....

Cheers
itcvage is offline  
post #2893 of 2896 Old Yesterday, 03:07 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,852
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1406
^^
AFAIK, not possible. Try resetting the microprocessor (p. 241 Owner's manual).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2894 of 2896 Old Yesterday, 04:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
AFAIK, not possible. Try resetting the microprocessor (p. 241 Owner's manual).
Tried that many times.but has no effect... I just wonder has anyone downloaded previous firmware
itcvage is offline  
post #2895 of 2896 Old Yesterday, 04:36 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,852
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1406
^^
That would only be possible with a European model and then only if Marantz EU actually provides access to older versions .. although doing so could easily brick the unit.
itcvage likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2896 of 2896 Old Today, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
That would only be possible with a European model and then only if Marantz EU actually provides access to older versions .. although doing so could easily brick the unit.
Thanks
itcvage is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5008 , Marantz Sr7008 , Marantz Sr6008
Gear in this thread - Sr5008 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off