Total NEWB needing help with AV Receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 07-20-2013, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I hate to even post this, because I know people ask all the time, and the answer will vary between everyone. However, I just purchased my first projector for my home theater and need to set up a home theater sound system.

I want to keep cost to a minimum, but want to get something that will last for a while as well. Was thinking of buying monoprice in wall and ceiling speakers and buying a receiver, but NO CLUE what i'm looking at between brands, etc.. What should I be looking for? It would be nice to be able to control through my Ipad but thats not a necessity?

Any help you could give this audio idiot would be appreciated. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 07-21-2013, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
In my opinion, important features to consider:

5.1, 7.1 or more--how many speakers do you want to run? Even if you only have 5 speakers and a sub in your main room, you might still want a 7.1 because they have the capability to run a second pair of stereo speakers elsewhere in the home.

Networking--all by the most basic models these days have networking built-in. However, most do not have wi-fi built-in so you have to hook them up via ethernet cable or buy an adapter. Networking gets you (i) direct access to streaming services (pandora, etc.), (ii) Airplay and the ability to play files from your computers, (iii) control apps for apple and android phones/tablets, and (iv) easy firmware updates.

Room correction--software that adjusts the frequency curve for each speaker to try to adjust for your acoustic conditions. It uses a little microphone to do this. Many mfgrs use Audyssey; others (like Yamaha) use their own. Audyssey seems to be the leader.