Official Yamaha RX-V473 / RX-V573 / HTR-4065 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 108 Old 05-11-2014, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Slosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by THeCozen1 View Post

So my ROKU is routed through the V473 via HDMI and I get DD+ through HBO Go, but only PCM through Netflix. TiVo and my BDP-S590 also output DD+ Netflix through the V473 just fine.

What's up with that?
You have to tell Netflix you want to output DD+. Pick a show or movie that's listed as DD+ and click on sound options. Once you have set it every title that has Dolby Digital or DD+ will automatically default to the DD/DD+ soundtrack.
Slosh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 108 Old 05-11-2014, 07:13 AM
Member
 
THeCozen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slosh View Post

You have to tell Netflix you want to output DD+. Pick a show or movie that's listed as DD+ and click on sound options. Once you have set it every title that has Dolby Digital or DD+ will automatically default to the DD/DD+ soundtrack.
Well if it's that simple, shame on me. I'll give it a shot later. I got so accustomed to fixing catastrophic AV issues that I didn't see a simple setting right in front of my face.

Thanks for the response.

Panasonic 55VT50
Yamaha RX-V473
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony BDP-S590
ROKU 2XS
TiVo Roamio Basic
Mohu Curve 30
THeCozen1 is offline  
post #93 of 108 Old 05-18-2014, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
AncientAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Anyone notice the disparity among audio tracks on blu-ray? I put in Doom on blu-ray with a DTS-Master Audio Track and the sound was great. It was full, loud, in my face and had plenty of punch. My Yamaha Receiver was at -12db. Receiver is on Straight and has been calibrated with YPAO. I put in Star Trek: into darkness (Dolby True-HD) blu-ray and have to turn my receiver up to -4db and it's still not equal to the Doom blu-ray in overall loudness and punch. Voices sounded too "chesty" at that loudness as well. Most of my blu-ray collection is great/good at -9db or -11db but there are many that sound bad even when cranked up. What really drives me mad is that some of the quiet audio tracks are big movies like Thor2. Very low/quiet audio.

Ender's Game blu-ray was very quiet. Even during loud action it was lacking punch. A $5 Ice Age Christmas blu-ray (DTS-MA) from Best Buy had better audio than Thor 2, Ender's Game, and Star Trek 2. At -14db it felt and sounded like I was sitting in a movie theater. I thought it might be my system but i have plenty of movies that sound incredibly nice. Anyone else notice this or is it normal?
AncientAlien is offline  
post #94 of 108 Old 05-19-2014, 11:23 AM
Member
 
THeCozen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientAlien View Post

Receiver is on Straight and has been calibrated with YPAO. I put in Star Trek: into darkness (Dolby True-HD) blu-ray and have to turn my receiver up to -4db and it's still not equal to the Doom blu-ray in overall loudness and punch.
I set my DSP Program to 5CH Stereo to get Dolby True-HD. Do you have a 5.1SS system? Those db levels are WAY lower than anything I've watched at. I keep mine in the -30 range with plenty of punch...but I may be in a smaller room. This is all subjective. When I switch from Straight to 5CH, the sound changes dramatically.

Panasonic 55VT50
Yamaha RX-V473
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony BDP-S590
ROKU 2XS
TiVo Roamio Basic
Mohu Curve 30
THeCozen1 is offline  
post #95 of 108 Old 05-19-2014, 12:20 PM
Member
 
fredxr2d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientAlien View Post

Anyone notice the disparity among audio tracks on blu-ray? I put in Doom on blu-ray with a DTS-Master Audio Track and the sound was great. It was full, loud, in my face and had plenty of punch. My Yamaha Receiver was at -12db. Receiver is on Straight and has been calibrated with YPAO. I put in Star Trek: into darkness (Dolby True-HD) blu-ray and have to turn my receiver up to -4db and it's still not equal to the Doom blu-ray in overall loudness and punch. Voices sounded too "chesty" at that loudness as well. Most of my blu-ray collection is great/good at -9db or -11db but there are many that sound bad even when cranked up. What really drives me mad is that some of the quiet audio tracks are big movies like Thor2. Very low/quiet audio.

Ender's Game blu-ray was very quiet. Even during loud action it was lacking punch. A $5 Ice Age Christmas blu-ray (DTS-MA) from Best Buy had better audio than Thor 2, Ender's Game, and Star Trek 2. At -14db it felt and sounded like I was sitting in a movie theater. I thought it might be my system but i have plenty of movies that sound incredibly nice. Anyone else notice this or is it normal?

Have you checked whether your device was outputting the Dolby TrueHD track or the Dolby Digital on those releases? I know that my PS3 sometimes has trouble with Dolby TrueHD discs and has to be manually switched to the HD track.

Tim S.
Former 35mm and Digital Projectionist @ Regal Cinemas

Currently watching on: BenQ W1070, 82" 1.0 Gain Screen, PS3, with Yamaha RX-V473, SVS PB-1000, a Def Tech CS-8040HD, and 4 Def Tech ProMonitor 800s.
fredxr2d2 is offline  
post #96 of 108 Old 05-19-2014, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
AncientAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by THeCozen1 View Post

I set my DSP Program to 5CH Stereo to get Dolby True-HD. Do you have a 5.1SS system? Those db levels are WAY lower than anything I've watched at. I keep mine in the -30 range with plenty of punch...but I may be in a smaller room. This is all subjective. When I switch from Straight to 5CH, the sound changes dramatically.

I do have a 5.1 system. Some DD-True HD movies sound fine although lower in output compared to DTS-MA. I thought 5ch. stereo just put dialogue and action in all 5 speakers at once? That's not the same as a 5.1 presentation the movie has.

I've always been dumbfounded on why my receiver starts at -65db and ends at +16db but the best range is -9 or -12db. It could be my speakers. I have bookshelfs for mains and satellites for surrounds. Maybe they're just too small. Planning on Rti-a7 from Polk in the near future.
AncientAlien is offline  
post #97 of 108 Old 05-19-2014, 12:46 PM
Member
 
THeCozen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientAlien View Post

I do have a 5.1 system. Some DD-True HD movies sound fine although lower in output compared to DTS-MA. I thought 5ch. stereo just put dialogue and action in all 5 speakers at once? That's not the same as a 5.1 presentation the movie has.
Yeah...I think you're right. I just seem to recall not seeing the DTS-MA or DD-True HD on the display unless I had it on 5CH. I still hear some surround sound, but I think it is as you described with it outputting in all 5 speakers at once. I'll check again next time I play a DTS movie.

Panasonic 55VT50
Yamaha RX-V473
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony BDP-S590
ROKU 2XS
TiVo Roamio Basic
Mohu Curve 30
THeCozen1 is offline  
post #98 of 108 Old 05-20-2014, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientAlien View Post

It could be my speakers. I have bookshelfs for mains and satellites for surrounds. Maybe they're just too small. Planning on Rti-a7 from Polk in the near future.

Do you know the impedance and sensitivity ratings of your current speakers?

JBWIII is offline  
post #99 of 108 Old 05-20-2014, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
AncientAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWIII View Post

Do you know the impedance and sensitivity ratings of your current speakers?

Yea. I matched the receiver with my speakers impedance. I don't know the sensitivity though.
AncientAlien is offline  
post #100 of 108 Old 05-22-2014, 09:05 AM
Member
 
THeCozen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientAlien View Post

I thought 5ch. stereo just put dialogue and action in all 5 speakers at once? That's not the same as a 5.1 presentation the movie has.
So I was playing around with 5CH Stereo and Straight settings last night and think I've missed the boat. Definitely a face in palm incident after I streamed the 1st Spider Man movie last night from Netflix and my rear surround speakers were doing their job properly (with DSP set to Straight). Since 5Ch pushed so much sound, I had previously left it on at all times since I had to jack up the volume levels for Straight in comparison. Basically, Straight just presents the audio as intended while 5CH is more for music...correct? This bumps my listening level to -23 to -28db for Straight in lieu of the -35 to -40db I was listening at 5CH. Straight = Much more from the front speakers and only the rear when 5.1 is needed or available...correct?

Do you guys use the Straight DSP setting for everything or mess around with the presets? Do you ever use 5CH? I am going to have to force myself to get over the 5CH audio which is much louder but not accurate 5.1.

On another note, I'm still having issues with that firmware update I did via USB. Every now and then I'll get a purple hue for video or lose DTS decoding and have to run the firmware update through setup (even though it is already updated) to correct it. You think there is any point in running the USB firmware update again? Doesn't look like Yamaha is sending out anymore so I'm probably stuck with this issue. Wish I'd left well enough alone before 1.16.

Panasonic 55VT50
Yamaha RX-V473
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony BDP-S590
ROKU 2XS
TiVo Roamio Basic
Mohu Curve 30
THeCozen1 is offline  
post #101 of 108 Old 05-22-2014, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
AncientAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by THeCozen1 View Post


So I was playing around with 5CH Stereo and Straight settings last night and think I've missed the boat. Definitely a face in palm incident after I streamed the 1st Spider Man movie last night from Netflix and my rear surround speakers were doing their job properly (with DSP set to Straight). Since 5Ch pushed so much sound, I had previously left it on at all times since I had to jack up the volume levels for Straight in comparison. Basically, Straight just presents the audio as intended while 5CH is more for music...correct? This bumps my listening level to -23 to -28db for Straight in lieu of the -35 to -40db I was listening at 5CH. Straight = Much more from the front speakers and only the rear when 5.1 is needed or available...correct?

Do you guys use the Straight DSP setting for everything or mess around with the presets? Do you ever use 5CH? I am going to have to force myself to get over the 5CH audio which is much louder but not accurate 5.1.

On another note, I'm still having issues with that firmware update I did via USB. Every now and then I'll get a purple hue for video or lose DTS decoding and have to run the firmware update through setup (even though it is already updated) to correct it. You think there is any point in running the USB firmware update again? Doesn't look like Yamaha is sending out anymore so I'm probably stuck with this issue. Wish I'd left well enough alone before 1.16.

 

 

Straight is definitely better than any of the DSP Settings for Movies, (Blu-Ray, DVD, Cable/Sat, and Netflix).  If you want to use the DSP Settings for Games or Music that's fine.  I'll sometimes use 5ch for older shows or music related shows and it will sound better.  Fox has a lot of their shows presented in a 5ch Format.  Seinfeld, the Middle, TMZ, etc.. is in 5ch. Stereo.   

AncientAlien is offline  
post #102 of 108 Old 06-02-2014, 09:22 PM
Member
 
dharsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sir i just bougth my yamaha 573 ..but i dont have on screen display over my plasma ...is there something wrong on my reciever?

i like to tweak my reciever is there recomendation setting?
dharsam is offline  
post #103 of 108 Old 06-03-2014, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I believe that the OSD is only displayed when the receiver is outputting 1080i or 1080p. This means that if either (i) you're passing through a source that is 720p or lower, or (ii) your TV doesn't accept 1080i/1080p (I think that some very early plasmas didn't), then you won't get the OSD.

What source are you using, and what model TV do you have?

JBWIII is offline  
post #104 of 108 Old 06-12-2014, 10:28 PM
Member
 
dharsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWIII View Post
I believe that the OSD is only displayed when the receiver is outputting 1080i or 1080p. This means that if either (i) you're passing through a source that is 720p or lower, or (ii) your TV doesn't accept 1080i/1080p (I think that some very early plasmas didn't), then you won't get the OSD.

What source are you using, and what model TV do you have?
im using samsung 43d4900 720p resolution

do i need to upgrade the firmware of the avreciever?

do u have any recomendation for the settings
dharsam is offline  
post #105 of 108 Old 06-13-2014, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The receiver just passes through whatever resolution it receives from the source and can be accepted by the TV. There is no receiver setting or firmware upgrade that can fix your problem. If your TV can only receive 720p, or your source can only output 720p, then the receiver will never be able to display the OSD.

JBWIII is offline  
post #106 of 108 Old 06-15-2014, 06:15 AM
Member
 
dharsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWIII View Post
The receiver just passes through whatever resolution it receives from the source and can be accepted by the TV. There is no receiver setting or firmware upgrade that can fix your problem. If your TV can only receive 720p, or your source can only output 720p, then the receiver will never be able to display the OSD.
tnx for quick response
dharsam is offline  
post #107 of 108 Old 07-07-2014, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I updated to firmware 1.16 yesterday (from 1.14), following instructions in HTR-4065 Firmware Updating Procedure document, using file R0305-116.bin as the only file on a USB drive. After a while, message "UPDATE SUCCESS" displayed, followed by "Please power off!". After cycling power, I went to "Setup / Network Update" to verify the firmware version. It didn't show 1.16, it showed ERROR.

So, I tried the instructions in Troubleshooting Case 2 for "Recovery method using USB method". Again, I got the message "UPDATE SUCCESS" and a request to power off. After cycling power again, it *still* shows firmware version as ERROR.

I updated because often when powering on the unit it couldn't find my DLNA server. For about 10 minutes, the front panel displayed "LOADING . . .". That doesn't seem to be a problem anymore, and since the notes for 1.16 say it improves DLNA connectivity, it seems to be working.

Should I simply disregard the "ERROR" in firmware version, or is there something I need to do?

Thanks.
BNOmnivore is offline  
post #108 of 108 Old 07-08-2014, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I haven't heard of the firmware ERROR issue before. But if everything works, then I say leave it alone.

JBWIII is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V473 Receiver , Yamaha Rx V573 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V473 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off