Do I need to buy a new receiver for 3D? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-27-2013, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
afitzwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to get a 3D TV and Blu-ray player. I am pretty sure my receiver is HDMI 1.3. It is a Sony DA5300ES. Will I need to buy a new receiver to use 3D with my surround sound system?

Also, while we are at it, I am going to run HDMI through my house. Will a basic Monoprice HDMI wall plate support 3D or are there any recommendations for a wall plate?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10425&cs_id=1042501&p_id=7330&seq=1&format=2

Thanks!
afitzwater is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-27-2013, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,990
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 243
You will need either 3D capable AVR or 3D BD player with two HDMI outs. Either one will cost you $$. Otherwise, you will be limited to use coax or optical digital audio connection without using HDMI and non-HD audio.

If you are going to embed HDMI cables in wall > 15 feet, I'd suggest you also use the MonoPrice Redmere directional cable so that you won't need to open up the wall later to replace the cable in case it doesn't work.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-30-2013, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
afitzwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Looks like I will be doing the Blu-ray player instead. So getting a Sony BDP-S790 should do the trick, correct?
afitzwater is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 07-30-2013, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 222
HDMI 2.0 will be out soon. It's supposed to be the new standard used in 4k TV. You may want to wait on it before running HDMI cables in the walls.
KidHorn is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-30-2013, 08:46 AM
 
JWagstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
the other option is just use your current blu-ray player, and do optical out for sound, and hdmi into the tv for 3D. The DD and DTS lossy tracks on blu-rays are very high quality and you probably can't tell the difference vs True-HD or DTS-HD master audio.
JWagstaff is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off