New to AVRs and new to Denon 2113 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > New to AVRs and new to Denon 2113

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

X3n's Avatar X3n
01:07 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 4
07-27-2013 | Posts: 6
Hello everybody,

I'm new to the whole AVR scene. My Denon 2113 + Wharfedale surround system is the first time I've invested time and money into an audio system for my house. I'm very much the newbie. Considering my newbishness, I thought it best to create a separate thread rather than disturb the official owners thread. My current settings are the default Audyssey recommended ones. Dynamic EQ is on as well as Dynamic Volume and Cinema EQ. I only have a 5.0 system. No sub.

I have a few questions:

1. I have been watching movies and listening to music fine. However, I'm a little miffed at the **level** of the sound. I was warned not to go too high or that I'd be putting my speakers at risk. However, I frankly don't hear anything substantial until I go past 40-45 and often need to hit 60 to be able to enjoy something. I often find myself watching movies at 70-75+. I've set the maximum to 80 and can't go past that. I don't find 80 all that uncomfortably loud either. Is this normal?
2. What part does the source's audio level play in all this? The sources in (1) were set to the maximum level. I see that there's a "Source level" setting in Setup where I can increase the level from 0 to 12db. This does increase the volume somewhat, but feels like more of a hack than a fix.
3. The whole Zone 2 experience has left me underwhelmed. The interface is so ridiculously clunky. Is there any way to get the Denon display to function the same way for zone 2 as it does for zone 1? For example, when playing something on Internet Radio or iPod/USB in the main zone, the denon display informs me of the current track, etc. However this is completely missing when these sources are access via Zone 2.