Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2015, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopsrgreat View Post
I would bypss the receiver and see what happens. Run HDMI directly from several different input sources directly into your display device and see what happens. I have NEVER heard of something like this and assuming you have an issue with the receiver. If your picure has no issues when running directly from your DVR to your TV, then you know you have something going on with settings or a problem with the receiver itself.
This is actually extremely common and usually involves a problem with HDMI cabling and signal timing. My SC-77 was very sensitive to this. Things that screw up signal timing in HDMI/HDCP:

1) It can be as simple as your HDMI plugs are not properly seated in the jacks.

2) Too many connectors! The optimal HDMI connection has two and only two connectors - one at the input and one at the output - with one stretch of cable between them. Signal wire fan-out or fan-in, which is done for every connector in the path, alters timing in subtle ways. HDMI/HDCP timing is SO sensitive that these very small variations can mess things up. In practice this means that the following items should be avoided wherever possible (yes, sometimes they cannot): L-Adapters, coupling connectors, F-M extension cables, wall jacks.

3) Long cables. HDMI/HDCP timing is so tight that the longer a cable gets, the more likely that you will have problems.

4) Out-of-spec cables. Cables certified for HDMI 1.2 may or may not work in your rig for HDMI 1.3.

That does not mean that any of these items guarantee problems - but they do make them more likely. Combine them and problems become MUCH more likely.

Anecdote: I have a 30' run from AVR output to TV (wall mounted). When I first put it in, it went output to wall jack (6' cable), wall jack to wall jack (20' cable), wall jack to L adapter (3' cable), and the L-adapter to TV input. Yeah - the wall jacks looked really pretty and professional when they were not being used. This is not all that uncommon a configuration. It worked intermittently and failed intermittently. On a tip here, I tested a new cable (same manufacturer and model other than the length) that was long enough (30') to fish through the wall and come out an opening in each of the wall plates at both ends (rather than using the jacks and then using 2 more cables). The cable was about 10' longer than the "in-wall" cable had been and the overall run length was 1' longer. I still needed the L adapter on the TV end, but I went to 3 connectors/adapters/couplers from - count them - 9. All the blank screen and audio dropout issues disappeared.

We have had people here who had 1.5' HDMI cables that just did not work, so they went to 6' cables for the same connection and everything worked great from then on. The HDCP timing on the chipsets in their equipment was just too sensitive and could not adjust to the short cable length. Yes - you read that right - the cable was too SHORT. High quality, spec-certified, 6' - 12' cables seem to be some kind of optimum. That does not mean that longer or shorter cables won't work. Again, it is all about risk. These other cables will work fine in some rigs (I have a 30' cable and things are fine) and may not in others.

If I wanted to do it over again (which I don't) I would go get a 30' cable with Redmere compensation technology. The Redmere stuff seems to be pretty solid for long cable runs, since it is an active cable that has circuitry/design that compensates for its own length. Basically, every Redmere cable out there, no matter its length, LOOKS like a normal 6'-12' cable as far as the connected equipment can tell. I helped a buddy run a 50' Redmere cable from his PC to his bonus room AVR and it works like a champ. Again though - we also bypassed anything resembling a wall jack ;-)

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2015, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
hoopsrgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I had an HDMI cable tht went from rec. output, 30' to a wall jack, then 1.5' from wall jack to projector. Looked great... but it didnt work. I simply removed the center part of the wall jack and pulled the 30' hdmi cable through the wall jack and into the projector, and it worked fin. Yes, those wall jacks look great, but dont seem to work well
hoopsrgreat is offline  
Old 12-19-2015, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Majic31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question SC-77/79 Owner's Disc

There was one posting in this thread of the owner's disc for an SC-75, and I have downloaded it. (Thank You JoshG). It isn't for the 77/79 (I own the SC-77, but never received the disc with my unit.) Didn't know there even was a disc until long after my purchase. I have been searching online and at all the Pioneer sites I can find, with no luck.
Would anyone here be willing to help out those of us who got shortchanged and upload a copy of their disc for the SC-77/79?? Dropbox is what JoshG used, and it worked fine. (I understand the same disc is used for both models) Or point out where I can download one, or any other method you prefer that will allow those of us without, to download our own copy.
Thanks
Majic31 is offline  
Old 12-22-2015, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
Bladerunner1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I'm using the SC-LX78.

Does the LX-Series have all no special settings for Dolby Atmos?
I found so far only settings for the Atmos speakers themselves.
I expected to have settings how deep and with which angels Dolby
Atmos should individual work. Is this unusual to make their
personal settings?

I'm surprised having also no settings for the Dolby Atmos Upmix.
Here I expected to influence, what and how should be upmixed.

Pioneer SC-LX78, Sansui B+C2101, PS3, Lenovo Q180D with XBMC/Kodi Isengard, Gigablue Quad HD, Martin Logan Motion ESL, Wharferdale Dipol + Center, Klipsch RP-140SA, Panasonic PT-AT 6000
Bladerunner1962 is offline  
Old 12-22-2015, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladerunner1962 View Post
Hello,

I'm using the SC-LX78.
I think you're in the wrong thread. I believe the SC-LX58/78/88 are the equivalent of the Elite SC-85/87/89. The SC-75/77/79 are pre- Dolby Atmos.
KC-Technerd is offline  
Old 03-17-2016, 01:03 AM
Member
 
aido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi folks,

I'm using the Euro SC-LX87 which is the equivalent of the 79 you guys in the USA have. Basically I'm just trying to get a 4k input source (Nvidia Shield TV) working now I've upgraded to UHD and having fun and games getting it working!

With the Shield connected directly to the TV (Panasonic 65DX902) I get a max output of 1080p/60 with full 7.1 audio. If I connect to the TV I get UHD/60 but with only 2.0 audio.

I've tried an HDMI 2.0 splitter which strips the HDCP 2.2 and this allows me to use the EDID of the TV to send data to the Pioneer.

This results in a working UHD/30 input on the Pioneer but only with stereo audio due to the advertised max of 2.0 from the TV EDID.

I've got a HDfury Integral landing today so that I can try and force the Shield to output 7.1 audio to the amp while sending UHD to the TV. A cheaper option may be to use a HDCP 2.2 to 1.4 converter but that would mean I'd use 4k/60 ability so the HDfury looks to be the best solution.

Are any of you using a 4k/ UHD input with this amp please?

I noticed that when scaling output to 4k it actually outputs full cinema size 4k and not actually UHD.

Pioneer support have been as much use as a chocolate fireguard and have not even responded to any questions (useful for helping me select which AVR vendor I'll use next!)

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by aido; 03-17-2016 at 01:21 AM.
aido is offline  
Old 03-17-2016, 02:45 AM
Member
 
aido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just to confirm the HDfury worked - I'm now getting UHD/30 video out of the Nvidia Shield TV and also getting Dolby Digital Plus out of Netflix into the Pioneer and also DTS HD Master Audio where in the source - job done
aido is offline  
Old 03-23-2016, 09:34 AM
Member
 
cwyman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having problems with keeping the network connection. I can connect to the network & internet, but when I power off my SC-75 and power it back on the connection won't work. The only way to get it to work is to pull the power plug for a few minutes then restart the receiver. Does anyone know why this would happen or know how to fix it?

I'm using the wired network port.
cwyman1 is offline  
Old 07-08-2016, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I'm late posting this, but I just now discovered it.

Pioneer released firmware version 1-149-020-516-108 for models
SC-79/77/75/1523/1528/LX57/LX87/LX77 on April 19, 2016.

"Fixes the following issues.
- Can't play bakc certain DSD file.
- When connecting with certain NAS, receiver recognizes the NAS, but can't select folder or music file in it."
KC-Technerd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Pioneer
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off