Krell Foundation Owners Thread - Page 119 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 248Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2015, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
I have Known about it being replaced since December but I didn't Know when they were targeting its release until My Dealer Told me November is Their Target and he just grabbed 4 707s at what I would assume was a great price because he has them listed like 1/3 off

Good price but no 4K, Atmos or DTS-X!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JimSatala77 likes this.
vvuuren is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2015, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hey all, finally got my Foundation 4K but having trouble connecting with my universal remote. Does anyone know how to enable the rc-5 connector in the rear? I know the remote works because it controlled my last reciever and I know the codes are correct because the IR works..

I've gone through all the settings and can't find an option to enable it. My dealer called them and they said theres a "control" sub menu but I can't find it, does anyone else have this sub menu?

Thanks!
Drillt is offline  
Old 05-21-2015, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Speaking of universal remotes. I had to factory reset my Harmony Touch the other week for a non-Foundation related issue. The upside being the control issues I was having with the Foundation have been fixed .
Orange_GT3 is online now  
Old 05-23-2015, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
jsetliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Ok question for eveyone about Zone2 output and volume. So I finally got my Zone 2 working after re-reading everyone's posts and realizing the Zone-2 volume has to be like 100 or greater before it was being picked up by my other system. So Zone2 outputs are variable audio and Z2 volume controls the level of the audio output.

So my question is how can I switch between controlling main volume and zone 2 volume from the Web page screen. I know how to do it from the remote control...just press Z1 or Z2 first then control volume as normal. But from the web page screen how do you choose between zone 1 and zone 2 for volume. There are Zone1 and Zone2 inputs drop downs. But volume seems to stay only connected to which ever (Z1 or Z2) was last pressed on the remote control.

Can you switch between Z1 volume and Z2 volume from the web page control screen? Second question: If I want the Z2 output on Foundation to work like a fixed audio output, should I set volume for Z2 to 150?

Krell Foundation, Parasound Halo A21 and A51, Oppo 103D, Kimber Kable KCAG interconnects; Kimber Kable 12TC speaker cable; Infinity Intermezzo 4.1t x 4, Infinity Intermezzo 3.5C center, Velodyne Digital Drive 18 Plus sub, Panasonic TC-P65VT30 65" monitor.

Last edited by jsetliff; 05-23-2015 at 11:26 AM.
jsetliff is online now  
Old 05-23-2015, 11:27 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsetliff View Post
Ok question for eveyone about Zone2 output and volume. So I finally got my Zone 2 working after re-reading everyone's posts and realizing the Zone-2 volume has to be like 100 or greater before it was being picked up by my other system. So Zone2 outputs are variable audio and Z2 volume controls the level of the audio output.

So my question is how can I switch between controlling main volume and zone 2 volume from the Web page screen. I know how to do it from the remote control...just press Z1 or Z2 first then control volume as normal. But from the web page screen how do you choose between zone 1 and zone 2 for volume. There are Zone1 and Zone2 inputs drop downs. But volume seems to stay only connected to which ever (Z1 or Z2) was last pressed on the remote control.

Can you switch between Z1 volume and Z2 volume from the web page control screen?
I don't think there is a way because there is no source button on the web page:

if you hit source / Z2/ enter on the front panel, the web page will now display and control Z2 volume: and the Z2 OSD will come up: but make sure you change it back to main zone again

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Old 05-24-2015, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Krell Foundation Owners Thread

So took my daughter to a movie Friday (Avengers). First time since I got the Foundation. Sound just not good! Then watched X-men last night with her at home on my sound system and wow!!! Sound SO MUCH BETTER! Even my 12 year old at one point said how much better the movie sounded at home.
JimSatala77 likes this.

Last edited by vvuuren; 05-24-2015 at 02:47 PM.
vvuuren is offline  
Old 05-24-2015, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jsetliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvuuren View Post
So took my daughter to a movie Friday (Avengers). First time since I got the Foundation. Sound just not good! Then watched X-men last night with her at home on my sound system and wow!!! Sound SO MUCH BETTER! Even my 12 year old at one point said how much better the movie sounded at home.
Can totally relate! The concession stand is better at home also.
JimSatala77 likes this.

Krell Foundation, Parasound Halo A21 and A51, Oppo 103D, Kimber Kable KCAG interconnects; Kimber Kable 12TC speaker cable; Infinity Intermezzo 4.1t x 4, Infinity Intermezzo 3.5C center, Velodyne Digital Drive 18 Plus sub, Panasonic TC-P65VT30 65" monitor.
jsetliff is online now  
Old 05-24-2015, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Agreed. Another movie this evening and it was amazing. Wish I had my EV600 back....
rhale64L7 and JimSatala77 like this.
vvuuren is offline  
Old Today, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Good speaker match for Krell Foundation?

I just wanted to ask the owners of the Krell Foundation, what speakers are you using? What are some speakers that pair well with the Krell Foundation. Thank you for the info.
brickyardz is online now  
Old Today, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
I just wanted to ask the owners of the Krell Foundation, what speakers are you using? What are some speakers that pair well with the Krell Foundation. Thank you for the info.
Is it the Foundation one needs to pair or the amp that is being used?

FWIW, I use Vienna Acoustics and they pair well with Krell.
brickyardz likes this.
artur9 is offline  
Old Today, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Is it the Foundation one needs to pair or the amp that is being used?

FWIW, I use Vienna Acoustics and they pair well with Krell.
Agreed, it's more the amp you should be thinking about. I don't think the Krell colours the sound at all.

As a data point, I'm using Tag McLaren amplification with B&W CM9s/CMC2 series speakers.
brickyardz and JimSatala77 like this.
Orange_GT3 is online now  
Old Today, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I am using Diy speakers. Identical 7 all the way around. Very expensive for diy stand mount 2 way. The Krell Chorus pairs very nicely with the Foundation.
rhale64L7 is offline  
Old Today, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
I am using Diy speakers. Identical 7 all the way around. Very expensive for diy stand mount 2 way. The Krell Chorus pairs very nicely with the Foundation.
Thanks for the replies everyone, about to pull the trigger on the Foundation and Chorus 5200
JimSatala77 likes this.
brickyardz is online now  
Old Today, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 111
You will love it. And be extremely surprised. Congratulations
brickyardz and JimSatala77 like this.
rhale64L7 is offline  
Old Today, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Thanks for the replies everyone, about to pull the trigger on the Foundation and Chorus 5200
That's a great start and I can highly recommend getting a duo 300 to use for 2 channel with that 5200
brickyardz likes this.
JimSatala77 is online now  
Old Today, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Thanks for the replies everyone, about to pull the trigger on the Foundation and Chorus 5200
I have both as well! Love them. Just waiting to get my Foundation sent in so it can get fixed and upgraded. I had to bypass the HDMI audio and video for now so cant wait.
scpanel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off