Krell Foundation Owners Thread - Page 133 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 660Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2015, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Thanks for the heads up on the new update. Do anyone know what it changed?
vvuuren is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2015, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
I don't know about the crackle with dvdaudio discs. What discs cause it? I have some and will try it out when I get time.
Thinking just a glitch with my unit. Dire Straits:Brothers in Arms, Natalie Merchant: Carnival, Grover Washington: Wine Light. More like transient little distortions/crackles. Same spots on discs every time. Specific to certain frequencies. Mostly but not exclusively vocals combined with bass. Happens low volume as well as normal volume. Not the discs per se. Swap out Foundation and it doesn't happen. Krell said send in with discs with unit and they can fix it.
Leotis is offline  
Old 07-10-2015, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Well all I can say is holy crap what was wrong with the Foundation. I am playing a cd and I don't understand it but ot sounds so different. Air is back around instruments. Also the bass is back. What the heck. And my sub is not playing. This is unbelievable.
Had same experience. More presence. Especially bass. Bigger sound stage. (Will be embarrassing if turns out update has no changes that should effect that result. Haha.)
Seemed like fronts were playing full range in PCM/stereo so checked and, like you, had no sub output. Not right of course given fronts set to crossover at 40Hz. So popped in DTS 5.1 to be sure sub would work and it did. Wasn't sure if fronts were still playing full range so set crossover to 110HZ to find that the crossover was in fact working. Reset to 60HZ and popped in CD. Lo and behold now the sub was working with PCM/stereo. Explain that! Might have posted my observations sooner but it was sounding so excellent I couldn't tear myself away! Have to say I'm pretty happy now. PCM/stereo always sounded a little thin before, and the other modes sound terrible to my taste.
Vast improvement IMHO. Thank you Krell.
Leotis is offline  
 
Old 07-10-2015, 10:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Alright guys,
if you've ever wondered why my screen name is amp_guy... well, i just brought home the theta dreadnaught D 5 channel power amp. This is theta's latests offering. This is, if i am counting correctly, amplifier # 47 in the past 18 months.
here it is!!
fyi, i just turned it on. it is not broken in so i can't really do a fair assessment just yet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender-3.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	824058  

Last edited by Amp_guy532; 07-10-2015 at 10:32 PM.
Amp_guy532 is offline  
Old 07-10-2015, 10:37 PM
Member
 
scottdfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leotis View Post
Had same experience. More presence. Especially bass. Bigger sound stage. (Will be embarrassing if turns out update has no changes that should effect that result. Haha.)
Seemed like fronts were playing full range in PCM/stereo so checked and, like you, had no sub output. Not right of course given fronts set to crossover at 40Hz. So popped in DTS 5.1 to be sure sub would work and it did. Wasn't sure if fronts were still playing full range so set crossover to 110HZ to find that the crossover was in fact working. Reset to 60HZ and popped in CD. Lo and behold now the sub was working with PCM/stereo. Explain that! Might have posted my observations sooner but it was sounding so excellent I couldn't tear myself away! Have to say I'm pretty happy now. PCM/stereo always sounded a little thin before, and the other modes sound terrible to my taste.
Vast improvement IMHO. Thank you Krell.
Dave (Goodman, director of product development) told me some updates were coming this week to cover some complaints I'd mentioned, but not to the extent that you folks are experiencing. Great to hear! Are you all non 4K owners? He had told me 4K updates first then non 4K about a week later. I haven't checked for updates myself (4K owner). I have family visiting this weekend, so can't give my unit the full attention it deserves until Sunday night, but this is really encouraging!
scottdfay is offline  
Old 07-10-2015, 10:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Yes it is a real difference. I thought I might be imagining it also. But no way. This is the second time this has happened also. So I don't think it is a fluke. The first time was a long time ago. My first Foundation didn't sound quite as good after a firmware update. I noticed that the sub was playing in all modes. It took about two weeks for me to realize this. It was faintly playing. I emailed Krell and within a few days they had a firmware update. I installed it and it was amazing the difference. It sounded like it did in the beginning again. So it could be something in the routing of signals or something. But what ever it is it is awesome.

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
Old 07-11-2015, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Downloading new firmware update for non4k right now.
Just to confirm the update is for the non4k? I thought you had a 4K model?

Any information on what the update includes?
artur9 is online now  
Old 07-11-2015, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Just to confirm the update is for the non4k? I thought you had a 4K model?

Any information on what the update includes?
There is an update for non-4K units.

Lee

GoldenEar Triton One speakers (6, for front, side surround, and rear surround), GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL center channel, GoldenEar HTR7000 overhead speakers (4), JL Audio F113 x 2 (subwoofers), Krell Foundation pre-pro, Krell EV403 (front 3 channels), 2 x Krell S1500/4 (one for each side's 2 surround and 2 overhead speakers), OPPO 105D (Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A), Calyx Audio DAC24/192, MacMini w/ 2TB drive (server), Purist Audio interconnects & speaker cables, Sony XBR-75Z9D monitor.
RBFC is offline  
Old 07-11-2015, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Yes it is a real difference. I thought I might be imagining it also. But no way. This is the second time this has happened also. So I don't think it is a fluke.
Did the update and the difference is real all right.

By coincidence, because my son was complaining that something was amiss, I had manually recalibrated the levels yesterday. I ignored the test tones because of the right-surround problem and used a Dolby calibration video.

I got all the levels adjusted but I could not get the sub level up to what all the others were set to (ca. 65dB). It maxed out at 50dB. Since my sub amp is in the shoppe I have no way to bump it up manually so I had to leave it at this level.

After the update, I could tell something was going on with that bass! OMG! So I remeasured and now the sub level is 64dB. Only downside is I can hear the relatively low quality of the subs now
vvuuren and JimSatala77 like this.

Last edited by artur9; 07-11-2015 at 10:54 AM.
artur9 is online now  
Old 07-11-2015, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
You Are not wrong the foundation does a very good job with 2ch music but for better you get a dedicated stereo preamp ...Krell claims that the preamp in the 707 is as good as their 202..but hey wouldnt they??
I just wanted to see if the dedicated 2ch would make that much of a difference and it does but I am going back and forth if what im getting is worth the cost..I will let you know in a couple of weeks
Will never sound as good as the 202! Too much other stuff going on in a multichannel processor to give the same sound as a dedicated two box stereo pre-amp. Might use the same circuitry but sound won't be the same.
JimSatala77 likes this.
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-11-2015, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Wow, I can't believe how much I missed my Evolution 600!!!!! Was thinking I needed to get new speakers or something but now I'm happy to keep what I have! Anyone able to get their hands on Evo amps should just do it!
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-11-2015, 09:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
My B&W 802's just sing with the 600's!!! The 3250 just not the same. Amp guy I can't believe you let the 402 go! You willnot easily get the same performance from a different amp.
JimSatala77 likes this.
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 07:41 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I did let it go. I did enough a/b comparison between the chorus and the 402e to realize that I would be fine with the chorus. I still believe the 402e is the best amp I've ever owned.
I sold my 402e last Thursday and then less than 12 hrs later someone bought my chorus 7200. The funny thing is that I already had a local connection of mine selling me the new theta digital dreadnaught d amp so I said well this is the opportunity. I sold all my krell Amps and I'm going to see what this new class d is all about.
It has 2 toroidal transformers and two 1.1kva transformers inside to feed the hypex modules enough juice.
My impressions will come soon since I'm still breaking it in.
Amp_guy532 is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RBFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 65
As a friend of mine says, "We vote with our own wallets. Folks can't complain unless you're spending THEIR money." I hope the new amps provide great pleasure.

Lee
markrubin likes this.

GoldenEar Triton One speakers (6, for front, side surround, and rear surround), GoldenEar SuperCenter XXL center channel, GoldenEar HTR7000 overhead speakers (4), JL Audio F113 x 2 (subwoofers), Krell Foundation pre-pro, Krell EV403 (front 3 channels), 2 x Krell S1500/4 (one for each side's 2 surround and 2 overhead speakers), OPPO 105D (Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A), Calyx Audio DAC24/192, MacMini w/ 2TB drive (server), Purist Audio interconnects & speaker cables, Sony XBR-75Z9D monitor.
RBFC is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amp_guy532 View Post
I did let it go. I did enough a/b comparison between the chorus and the 402e to realize that I would be fine with the chorus. I still believe the 402e is the best amp I've ever owned.
I sold my 402e last Thursday and then less than 12 hrs later someone bought my chorus 7200. The funny thing is that I already had a local connection of mine selling me the new theta digital dreadnaught d amp so I said well this is the opportunity. I sold all my krell Amps and I'm going to see what this new class d is all about.
It has 2 toroidal transformers and two 1.1kva transformers inside to feed the hypex modules enough juice.
My impressions will come soon since I'm still breaking it in.
I've never heard Theta amps. Would love to hear your comments. Too bad you didn't still have the 402 to do a direct comparison. I can't believe that some of you change your equipment so frequently! I'm scared to listen to something else that I might like better and then want to spend more money on new equipment. The boss will kill me. She tollerates my hobby but doesn't participate.....
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I wonder if someone can help me. I've never been able to get my sub to play in stereo, Neo:6 Music or PLIIx:Music. Thought it was because my fronts are set at Full but have now tried on limited and still no sub. Only time it plays is with Enhanced stereo and FullRange and sub! Appreciate any advice you guys can offer.
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Make sure sub is selected in edit settings in the speaker setup. You might have sub none for that input. This is why there is 3 memories.

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
Old 07-12-2015, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
My mistake. Was set up right and is playing but VERY soft only!
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 22
1.26 update

Anyone see any release notes on the update?
scpanel is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 326
No

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 139
My Unit gets a download error at about 80% every time..IDK what the deal is
JimSatala77 is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
My Unit gets a download error at about 80% every time..IDK what the deal is
Mine downloaded perfectly first time.
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:13 PM
Member
 
dadalr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
Anyone see any release notes on the update?
What is the latest software version for 4K Foundation units?
I am showing 1.33 February 26, 2015
JimSatala77 likes this.
dadalr is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Thats what I have too But the unit was actually downloading so I thought there was an update..it would say it was current before so IDK what they screwed up again that its trying to download
JimSatala77 is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:20 PM
Member
 
dadalr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
Thats what I have too But the unit was actually downloading so I thought there was an update..it would say it was current before so IDK what they screwed up again that its trying to download
mine did some download too, but after it all finished it still shows 1.33
not sure if this is the latest or not
Krell should publish on their website the current version of the software - should not be that difficult to do......
vvuuren likes this.
dadalr is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 04:10 PM
Member
 
scottdfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadalr View Post
mine did some download too, but after it all finished it still shows 1.33
not sure if this is the latest or not
Krell should publish on their website the current version of the software - should not be that difficult to do......
I did the update today for my 4K unit and it still shows v1.33, however the date changed to June 4th from Feb 26th. Not sure what's up with that.
scottdfay is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My 4k unit still says version 1.33 dated in February, and does the 5+ minute download and freezes at download = 100%. I performed a factory reset which still gave me the Feb 1.33 version, and repeated the software update. When it reached download = 100%, I got a brief software error message and then the unit froze on osdfront.inf. The unit stayed frozen on that message overnight until I backed out and did the reset factory settings, which brought back the Feb 1.33 version again. However, running the speaker setup again, and all the speakers said 0.0 db level during eq and 0 sec lipsync offset for every speaker (including subs), and I know that had to be wrong. Previously lipsync varied between 5 to 10 msec, and some speakers varied +2,-3 db when calibration (Below 125 hz). I put an email in to Patrick which I hope to be answered tomorrow.
JimSatala77 likes this.
sefinnell is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I think the update was just for non-4K units. The update for 4K units will probably be out this coming week. Does anyone what the update changed?
vvuuren is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 06:30 PM
Member
 
leeshanok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amp_guy532 View Post
Interesting comments above guys. i have owned approximately 40 amplifiers in the past 12 months. Bryston sst2,NAD MASTER SERIES, CLASSE AUDIO, Rotel, Cary Audio, Pass lab .8 series, Krell, Mcintosh, ati signature, parasound halo, and all were literally in my set up in a 12 month time frame. I will tell you that i became a krell fan only about 2 weeks ago when i heard the foundation in my system. I want to continue supporting their products and have no intention of looking back.
I really love their evolution amps (i own the 402e) and the new line of amps are not bad at all. i own the chorus 7200 and i spent about 3 days this past weekend doing a/b comparison between my 402e and the chorus 7200 in 2 channel mode.
.
since you've own some some fine amps, I'd be interested in your impression of the Classe (which one) and the Pass Labs (which one) vs the Krell 402e and chorus. Also what speakers are/were you using with these amps. Thanks.
leeshanok is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeshanok View Post
since you've own some some fine amps, I'd be interested in your impression of the Classe (which one) and the Pass Labs (which one) vs the Krell 402e and chorus. Also what speakers are/were you using with these amps. Thanks.
Me too. Especially the Pass Labs.
vvuuren is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off