Krell Foundation Owners Thread - Page 91 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 344Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 3791 Old 12-31-2014, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I'm still breaking it in but it is far superior to the 5800es I was using as a preamp..and better than the 505 I had before
JimSatala77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 3791 Old 12-31-2014, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
gulliBELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
So run it till it drops in them 30 days
For sure. I wrote a piece (as have others) over on the PS Audio forums about the DS break-in period. Ted Smith (the DirectStream principal designer) has also said the same thing, about 400 hours. Just leave it switched on with a signal at the selected input.

As for buyers remorse on a DirectStream purchase, probably no need. I'd be surprised if they've had many returns.

"My interest in home theater is not only that it annoys the wife, but if it was, then that would be enough"
gulliBELL is offline  
post #2703 of 3791 Old 12-31-2014, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Jez thats alot of OPPOs... at those prices. I cant imagine its 5x better. To me ita all about balance and just cant see spending that kind of money on a DAC, heck in a few years there wont be any CD/DVDs...
scpanel is online now  
post #2704 of 3791 Old 12-31-2014, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Removed because I am a tard.

Last edited by rhale64L7; 12-31-2014 at 10:13 PM.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2705 of 3791 Old 01-01-2015, 12:49 AM
Senior Member
 
gulliBELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
...heck in a few years there wont be any CD/DVDs...
The DirectStream spins magic with CD, it has brought back to life many CD collections from out of the closet. I can stream hi-rez to my DirectStream but I don't bother, well mastered CD on the coax input sounds fantastic. I can't see the demise of the CD format any time soon.

I expect the Krell DTS:X announcement will probably not auger well for Foundation sales, can't see them offering an upgrade path to vector based audio codecs for the Foundation so potential customers will be holding out until the new pre-pro platform arrives.

"My interest in home theater is not only that it annoys the wife, but if it was, then that would be enough"
gulliBELL is offline  
post #2706 of 3791 Old 01-01-2015, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Happy new year to all of you.
Peter
Peter Rudy is offline  
post #2707 of 3791 Old 01-01-2015, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
First time I am playing with room EQ. I am able to save 3 different profiles with no EQ, full EQ and 250 HZ EQ.

1. How do I go to each saved profile while listening to a source? There is no easy button on remote.

2. The part 1 of ARES set up results with speaker noise test generated by Foundation seem lower than the expected 75db from MLP when tested with SPL meter (C-weighing, Fast Response). I am thinking of using Avia disc to run the test tones.

P
Peter Rudy is offline  
post #2708 of 3791 Old 01-01-2015, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Happy New Year to you and everyone too.
Con
vvuuren is offline  
post #2709 of 3791 Old 01-01-2015, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Happy New Year everyone.

Peter after the speaker setup part of ares go to edit settings. Then run your test tones with avia and make sure each speaker is set to 75db on your meter. And make sure in each memory your speakers are set for whatever you want such as fullrange for 1 of the memories. 80hz for movies. Or whatever you want them to be. Then make sure after you make these changes you then hit the left button to back out of the menu this is where it is saved. You will notice I t will start erasing and writing the new parameters.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2710 of 3791 Old 01-02-2015, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
Jez thats alot of OPPOs... at those prices. I cant imagine its 5x better. To me ita all about balance and just cant see spending that kind of money on a DAC, heck in a few years there wont be any CD/DVDs...
I agree with you that nothing will sound "night and day" after listening to Foundation. There may be 5-10% difference in sound stage, but audiophiles spend thousands of dollars for that much difference.

The few times I had "night and day" experience in my HT set up;

1. Martin Logan Prodigy/odyssey speakers

2. Theta DN 2 amplifier

3. Synergistic Research Tesla power cell 10

4. Foundation

Any of you have or auditioned Tesla power cell in your system??


P
Peter Rudy is offline  
post #2711 of 3791 Old 01-02-2015, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mgavsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Question for you Foundation owners, did Krell ever get the Foundation to allow full control over TCP/IP? My old HTS 7.1 which sounds fantastic allows every control via serial, last time I looked the Foundation could not even control individual speaker volume via TCP/IP. I use modes and volumes when we sit in different areas. The foundation had less than 1/10th the commands of the HTS 7.1 with only basic functionality. I use Roomie Remote with a custom control for the HTS (I designed) which has been fantastic and actually made the old HTS 7.1 much more enjoyable.
mgavsf is offline  
post #2712 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliBELL View Post
There aren't many down here. I've got one, I know of only one other and that was imported from the US. Yours takes the total known quantity to three. I don't think they have been selling very well here. Too pricey.
Yeah I can imagine that most are irked about the price. USD6500 <> AUD10000. According to my dealer, it is going up to AUD11k soon due to the exchange rate.

I'm really happy with it though . There are some minor operational quirks and the web interface needs a bit of work, but these are minor issues on an otherwise great processor. It is the only processor where I keep thinking sounds are outside or not on the soundtrack. The surround steering and positioning is much better than anything I have previously owned or heard.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #2713 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgavsf View Post
Question for you Foundation owners, did Krell ever get the Foundation to allow full control over TCP/IP? My old HTS 7.1 which sounds fantastic allows every control via serial, last time I looked the Foundation could not even control individual speaker volume via TCP/IP. I use modes and volumes when we sit in different areas. The foundation had less than 1/10th the commands of the HTS 7.1 with only basic functionality. I use Roomie Remote with a custom control for the HTS (I designed) which has been fantastic and actually made the old HTS 7.1 much more enjoyable.
Not ignoring your question. I am wondering if anyone uses that feature. I use a Harmony remote and it works perfect. Maybe someone else will chime in here with your answer. Or just email Krell support. I usually get an answer back within 1 day.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2714 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Not ignoring your question. I am wondering if anyone uses that feature. I use a Harmony remote and it works perfect. Maybe someone else will chime in here with your answer. Or just email Krell support. I usually get an answer back within 1 day.
Heck, all I use is the webpage from my IPAD or iphone
as my remote
scpanel is online now  
post #2715 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I was just checking for software updates again, and it told me I had a update as I am still running the 1.25 from October 16, 2014. I did the update and it reflects the same version again? Guess I thought Krell fixed this.. Is everyone else still on the 1.25 version too?
scpanel is online now  
post #2716 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Yes I am wondering if we all have a problem. I will email Patrick Bresnahan on Monday. I knew there was something else I wanted to ask him about.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2717 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I just remembered they are going to be at ces next week.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2718 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
I was just checking for software updates again, and it told me I had a update as I am still running the 1.25 from October 16, 2014. I did the update and it reflects the same version again? Guess I thought Krell fixed this.. Is everyone else still on the 1.25 version too?
I'm still on 1.25. Have they announced a new version?
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #2719 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
vvuuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
Heck, all I use is the webpage from my IPAD or iphone
as my remote
Yes, me too! Only iPad.
vvuuren is offline  
post #2720 of 3791 Old 01-03-2015, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Thats it nothing new. 1.25 is the latest.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2721 of 3791 Old 01-06-2015, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Ok folks I have been in contact with Patrick Bresnahan for the last couple days. Awesome customer service at Krell. Here is what they had to say about the software update issue we are all having. This is the message I pasted in here for you all to read.




I am told that we had some problems with the software update not working properly and we found that it was due to a memory corruption problem in the area that stores the software download. In order to solve this we had to erase the web page data first in the Foundation before starting the software update. What this means is that every time you do a software update it will reload the web page data even if there is not a new version and this is what you are seeing. We are looking into a different way to handle this but at the time that was the best solution we could come up with. This was done in V1.25, which is what your unit should now have.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2722 of 3791 Old 01-06-2015, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Orange_GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Ok folks I have been in contact with Patrick Bresnahan for the last couple days. Awesome customer service at Krell. Here is what they had to say about the software update issue we are all having. This is the message I pasted in here for you all to read.




I am told that we had some problems with the software update not working properly and we found that it was due to a memory corruption problem in the area that stores the software download. In order to solve this we had to erase the web page data first in the Foundation before starting the software update. What this means is that every time you do a software update it will reload the web page data even if there is not a new version and this is what you are seeing. We are looking into a different way to handle this but at the time that was the best solution we could come up with. This was done in V1.25, which is what your unit should now have.
Thanks for posting. At least we know what is going on now.
Orange_GT3 is offline  
post #2723 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 12:46 AM
Member
 
badbenzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Marina Del Rey
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those who have upgraded their Foundation is it worth it?
badbenzz is offline  
post #2724 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I don't think anyone has got it back yet. Krell's supplier for the boards dropped the ball. They had as of a couple weeks ago only been able to finish a couple.

I was notified they took in ten units so far.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2725 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Hi Jim,



Our original intention was to be shipping new Foundation 4K units all throughout the entirety of December. Unfortunately very early on in that month our key vendors for some of the items needed to complete these units made a grievous scheduling error that negatively impacted their ability to be able to supply us with the quantity of parts we required. Because of this, production build up of this unit has been at a standstill since that time. The good news is, we expect to begin receiving what we need early next week and will begin to ship units as quickly as we can in order to catch up. Filling the orders for High Performance Stereo will be one of our top priorities. Our sincere apologies for the delay and inconvenience and we very much appreciate your patience under the circumstances.



Patrick Bresnahan
Sales, Technical Support, Service

Krell Industries LLC

45 Connair Road, Orange, CT 06477 - USA
JimSatala77 is offline  
post #2726 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Yes very similar to the email I received from Patrick. I am sure one of these big companies stepped in and took the front of the line. I am hoping Krells solution is a good one. I still don't understand the hdcp 2.2 capability without the 4:4:2 with 4k though. Hdmi 2.0 hdcp 2.2 should do this from what I understand. Only hdcp 2.0 or and hdmi 1.4 does 4:2:0 4k.

Maybe a firmware update or something at a later time? Has anyone else wondered about this?
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2727 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Yes very similar to the email I received from Patrick. I am sure one of these big companies stepped in and took the front of the line. I am hoping Krells solution is a good one. I still don't understand the hdcp 2.2 capability without the 4:4:2 with 4k though. Hdmi 2.0 hdcp 2.2 should do this from what I understand. Only hdcp 2.0 or and hdmi 1.4 does 4:2:0 4k.

Maybe a firmware update or something at a later time? Has anyone else wondered about this?
I would not get all worked up over the lack of 4:4:4 at 60hz because content is non existent at 60hz...it can pass all the signals from a FMPX10x or Samsung media pack not sure about Red. ...the main issue is the Hdmi spec in my opinion because I know Sony was able to activate all of my hdmi s on my XBR79X900B with a firmware update but they had to check something first to make sure it was 2.0 capable and they had told me that they had to replace some hdmi boards on some people's units because they weren't up to spec
JimSatala77 is offline  
post #2728 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Ok thanks for the info.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #2729 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
jsetliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbenzz View Post
For those who have upgraded their Foundation is it worth it?
Krell told me today that the video boards should arrive mid-next week. Apparently the first 10 of us to pay for the upgrade were contacted to send our units in. Two of them got the processors upgraded before they ran out of video boards. I unfortunately was not one of the two.


So there are at least two people who have had the upgrade performed. Don't know if they are on this board though. Also surely some people have purchased the 4K version new. Myself, I only cared about the DSD upgrade and RHALE can tell you all about that as he already has it. It has been two months now without my processor and I really want it back. I am keeping watch on the new Marantz 8802 as well. Only problem is DTS-X or what ever their version of Atmos will be called, makes me cautious.


Update:
Sorry, just noticed the same information was posted by others above. My email reply also had exactly the same wording in it. I am not holding my breath. I was told that boards would arrive in a week a month ago and that did not happen. We will see.

Last edited by jsetliff; 01-09-2015 at 08:01 PM. Reason: Just noticed same information posted by others above.
jsetliff is offline  
post #2730 of 3791 Old 01-09-2015, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Krell has been named as an Dts-x licensee. I wonder if they have another module planned for our Foundations?
rhale64L7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off