Ethernet port fried? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-06-2013, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SonicAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We had a very active thunderstorm yesterday here in Florida's treasure coast when all of a sudden I heard a really loud thunder and noticed the electricity go out in my house for literally less than half a second; I inspected all my electronics and they were all good, with the exception of my internet modem, it went kaput. This morning I went and got a new one, set it up and and every device in my house (wired or wireless) was working fine -they had a good internet connection- with the exception of my Marantz SR7005. I tried a different cable, I switched ports on my router and I even reset it back to factory settings to no avail, the message it displays is "no network connection" and right below it "check config". So I'm thinking the Ethernet port on it went out.

Couple of questions...

Any more troubleshooting I need to do?

If I'm right, can I replace the port myself or should a professional do that?

Thanks ahead of time
SonicAppeal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-06-2013, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicAppeal View Post

We had a very active thunderstorm yesterday here in Florida's treasure coast when all of a sudden I heard a really loud thunder and noticed the electricity go out in my house for literally less than half a second; I inspected all my electronics and they were all good, with the exception of my internet modem, it went kaput. This morning I went and got a new one, set it up and and every device in my house (wired or wireless) was working fine -they had a good internet connection- with the exception of my Marantz SR7005. I tried a different cable, I switched ports on my router and I even reset it back to factory settings to no avail, the message it displays is "no network connection" and right below it "check config". So I'm thinking the Ethernet port on it went out.

Couple of questions...

Any more troubleshooting I need to do?

If I'm right, can I replace the port myself or should a professional do that?

Thanks ahead of time
It might be the interface chip on a CCA. I would first contact Marantz customer service and detail symptoms.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-07-2013, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SonicAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh man, hope that's not too expensive as I'm out of warranty already. Thanks for the response... Anyone else has some wisdom?
SonicAppeal is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-07-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Don't Marantz receivers come with a 3 year warranty? Has it been 3 years already? from what I'm reading they first became available in Sept 2010 so you should have at least a few weeks left....unless you bought a refurb.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-07-2013, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SonicAppeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh, I didn't know I had 3 years, thought it was only 1. I bought it new in November of 2011, I'll look into it, thanks.
SonicAppeal is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-07-2013, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Warranty coverage period is 1 point..
But...
IMHO...
If the service center determines the failure was due to the lightning strike, there will be no coverage under warranty..

Just my $0.02... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-08-2013, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
But lightning damage should be covered under your home owner insurance. (Mine was. Two weeks ago I lost my AVR and PJ [HDMI gone on both, network gone on AVR] along with a lot of other stuff. It's all covered.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off