Change 2.0 to 2.1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-17-2013, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks. I just re ran my audyssey setup and now I cna't figure out which setting i need to put on to have my 2.0 sources add the sub to the mix and run 2.1. Help appreciated. Thank you.
FuzzyReets is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-17-2013, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Typically, turn on the sub in the receiver and set speakers to small or set a crossover for them. The content itself does not have a .1 channel . . .
JHAz is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-17-2013, 05:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
After running Audyssey, the sub should have been set to YES. As suggested, ensure your speakers are now set to SMALL/80Hz (or reset them to SMALL/80Hz) and then the audio below 80Hz will be redirected to the sub.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-24-2013, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
FuzzyReets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh I see. I'm setting my fronts to full range now so I guess the sub won't be on correct?
FuzzyReets is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-24-2013, 07:12 PM
Member
 
Trendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
"full range"??

No. Set the speakers to "small". This will force the receiver to send everything below the crossover frequency to the sub.

Theatre: Sony 46" LCD panel, Sony DBP-S550 Blu-ray, Yamaha RX-V2065 receiver,

             Polk Audio Monitor 70 (L&R), CS10 (centre), M10 (surrounds), dual Velodyne VDR-12 subs

 

CKUA Radio since 1927 from Edmonton, Alberta - Supported by Listeners

Trendy is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-24-2013, 08:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
What receiver do you have? Onkyo, Denon, Marantz? All 3 use Audyssey. Sounds like you have an Onkyo.

Your speakers should no longer be set to "full range" once you add a subwoofer.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off