Denon 2807 problem with sound and picture. Do I need a replacement? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-20-2013, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
funkymunky123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 2807 lost sound a few times while watching satellite tv. Turning it off/on seemed to remedy the situation. The last time it happened I shut it down and turned it back on to have no sound or picture on any input. The volume dial doesnt seem to work either (when I turn it the volume level on the display doesnt change). I can still use the dial to change inputs but there is no sound/picture. Is it dead? If so is it worth fixing?


Oh...edit...during my posting of this the picture and sound came back on the dish, but sound was eventually lost, and when I powered off then on, everything (sound/picture) was malfunctioning again frown.gif
funkymunky123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-20-2013, 12:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Have you tried a processor reset? I think its on page 42 of the manual.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-20-2013, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
funkymunky123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. It seems to be working for now. I hope that was the magic ticket. Now to reset my speakers.
funkymunky123 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-22-2013, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
funkymunky123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boo. The reset of the processor helped for a day, now it is back to where I started. No picture or sound on any input. Help! Does anyone know what the problem is and if it is repairable?
funkymunky123 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-22-2013, 10:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 346
I just purchased a used 2807 but have only had it less than two weeks so I couldn't tell you.

Its probably fixable but you'll have to take it in for service and then weigh whether the cost is worth it vs a new receiver. With only 2 HDMI inputs you may want to upgrade to something with more inputs.

What I have found so far is that the ergonomics of the 2807 are not as good as newer models. That remote can be frustrating. But the receiver does sound good and for what I paid it is definitely a bargain.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-09-2013, 07:55 PM
Member
 
nickm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Valley Village, Ca
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem with my 2807. It works fine on some stuff, but on my satellite receiver it seems to have a problem decoding the difference between dolby digital and non dolby digital sound. Sometimes it kills the sound and keeps killing the picture on and off.

Any suggestions.

Side issue. it on allows PLII to do sound up to -4

Kinergetics KCD40 and KCD 20/40
Robertson 6010 & 4010
Chiro C800
Kinergetics Subwoofer
Martin Logan Aerius I
nickm11 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off