Relabeling inputs on Pioneer VSX-1023 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-23-2013, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drunkmunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The 'Stan... Again
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

So I had an Onkyo 807 that bit the dust due to an HDMI board failure and had to replace it with a Pioneer VSX-1023 (limited budget). So set up and everything has gone relatively smoothly other than I cannot figure out how to rename the HDMI inputs on this receiver. The manual doesn't describe it and I'm beginning to think that it isn't possible with this receiver. Does anyone know if this can be done? It seems pretty ridiculous that with all that this receiver is capable of you can't perform a simple task like this.
drunkmunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-24-2013, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drunkmunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The 'Stan... Again
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess this isn't that popular of a model.
drunkmunk is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-12-2013, 02:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drunkmunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The 'Stan... Again
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump?
drunkmunk is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-12-2013, 05:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkmunk View Post

So set up and everything has gone relatively smoothly other than I cannot figure out how to rename the HDMI inputs on this receiver. The manual doesn't describe it and I'm beginning to think that it isn't possible with this receiver. Does anyone know if this can be done? It seems pretty ridiculous that with all that this receiver is capable of you can't perform a simple task like this.

Hi drunkmunk, Pioneer normally has this feature in the Input Setup menu. Since this model HDMI is not assignable, its not offer.
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-12-2013, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi drunkmunk, Pioneer normally has this feature in the Input Setup menu. Since this model HDMI is not assignable, its not offer.

I have an 1121, and the input renaming is in the Input Setup somewhere. It's pretty clunky though, scrolling letter by letter through the ABC for every letter in the name. One thing to conside before renaming inputs btw - if you have a remote that you program to switch inputs through activities, like a Harmony or similar, it can be a real pain if you've renamed everything. You're not going to be able to tell the remote to select "My Roku" - it'll still need to know it's HDMI 5 or whatever - and if you don't keep a list of what the real input names are you have to reset to default, get the name, then re-enter your preferred name.
jontyrees is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Channel Av Receiver Vsx 1023 K

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off