Denon X4000 & XPA-5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-11-2013, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pro10is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm considering using an external Emo XPA-5 five channel amp to power my Fronts, Center, and Rear Surround channels. Then I'd like to assign the X4000 amps to power only the Rear Back Surrounds and Front Heights for a 9.1 setup.

 

The X4000 has full pre-outs so I assume this is possible, however the Amp Assign Mode on the X4000 is confusing. I would think I need to use the "9.1 Channel" setting but the description in the owners manuals for this setting states:

 

"Setting to use a maximum 9.1 channel speaker system by using a combination of the unit's 7-channel built-in amp with an external power amp connected to a set of 2-channel speakers."  

 

That's not what I want to do and that's the only 9.1 channel amp assign setting on the X4000. 

 

Anyone here using the X4000 with an external amp, or does anyone know the proper settings?

pro10is is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-11-2013, 05:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,876
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 1412
That actually is what you are wanting to do so then yes, the X4000 can do what you need. smile.gif

Also note there is a dedicated thread just for Denon "X" series owners ....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1465528/the-official-2013-denon-e-series-x-series-avr-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-11-2013, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pro10is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I actually tried to post this to the Denon X series owners thread but I accidentally started this new thread, sorry but I'm new here. 

 

I'm looking to amp 5 channels, not two so the setting description does not match what I'm trying to do.

 

I assume that the preamp outs are always active regardless of the setting so if I connect the amp to the pre-outs and then connect the speakers to the amp it should work. I'm just trying to verify this with someone who owns the receiver in case I'm missing something. 

pro10is is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-12-2013, 03:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,876
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 744 Post(s)
Liked: 1412
Yes, the pre-outs are always hot and yes, the X4000 will do what you need. All that quote is saying is that "at least" a 2CH amp must be used in order to expand to 9CH in the main zone. There's no issue using a 3/5/7 CH amp as that is > 2CH. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-12-2013, 04:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pro10is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you very much for the explanation.

 

I also assume the Audyssey XT32 calibration will work as normal too. I don't think Audyssey will know or even care that 5 out of 9 channels are amped and will adjust the db levels and eq as required.

pro10is is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-12-2013, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by pro10is View Post

Thank you very much for the explanation.

I also assume the Audyssey XT32 calibration will work as normal too. I don't think Audyssey will know or even care that 5 out of 9 channels are amped and will adjust the db levels and eq as required.

Audyssey will work fine. I have the same setup on a 4311 for 11 channels.
KidHorn is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-12-2013, 03:31 PM
Member
 
William K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the same setup with my X4000 since day one and you won't even know you have an external amp. Just hook it up and turn it on like normal. I never even tried the built in amps in my X4000...hope they work:rolleyes:
William K is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr X4000 7 2 Channel Home Theater Receiver , Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier
Gear in this thread - X4000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off