Sony STR-DN840 Issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-11-2013, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pgershon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC, TWC Cable, Upper East Side
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to use a Sony STR-DN840 receiver with a Samsung UN60F8000. Been fighting with it for almost 2 weeks now, Have tried changing cables and replacing the Sony with a new receiver. Problem is that the Samsung TV periodically gets no video from the Sony. Sony gets sound (although sound goes in and out as I move the HDMI video out cable that goes to Samsung) but Samsung says HDMI cable disconnected. It knows it is connected though because the Samsung senses there is something connected to its HDMI in.

My setup: I have two HDMI cables going into HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 on the Samsung TV. I have two video sources (a Moxi DVR and a FIOS STB) connected to 2 different inputs on the Sony. When it does not work, I cannot get either HDMI 1 (when connected to HDMI out on the Sony) nor HDMI 2 (when I swap cables) to deliver a picture. However, each HDMI cable is fine and delivers a picture when connected directly to the video source.

I have to believe that either (a) the Samsung and Sony are not compatible (seems unlikely) or (b) something is wrong with the HDMI connection to the Sony from either the input source (not likely, especially as I get sound) or the HDMI out. I have tried an alternate cable and it had the same problem. Also, when I move the SONY to a different TV, it works fine.

Any idea?
pgershon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-29-2013, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
j0ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have the same issue with my STR-DN840 and my Samsung PNF8500 TV. I encountered this issue with my first DN840 and decided to return it, thinking it was defective. I had the replacement one working for about a day then encountered the same issue. It seems like when the system is powered down for some time it loses the ability to resync with the TV. 

 

My symptoms are no video output only audio. I have got it to work a couple of times by powering on the receiver first  then powering the TV. There seems to be some type of handshake issue between the TV and Receiver. My old Insignia brand receiver had no problems with the ARC/CEC functions but maybe sony and samsung dont play well with their versions of the technology.

j0ne is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-21-2013, 05:16 PM
Member
 
mixduptransistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having this exact same issue with the exact same TV frown.gif I guess no one has found any solutions?
mixduptransistor is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
vxaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I have the same problem. Sony KDL-70R550A is connected using HDMI connection to STR-DN840. I think problem started after latest receiver update (around October 2013).  Before the update it worked fine. It turning on TV, but video is not displayed from cable box or roku. When receiver is connected to cable box and I click receivers menu it suddenly display video and sound without any problem. Also if I completely disconnect from electric outlet and reconnect back its working fine. We need SONY to respond!!!

primehifi likes this.
vxaron is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-01-2013, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
Rtread48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have the same issue in which the TV does not recognize the signal from the DN840. 

 

I have a Sony Bravia HD TV and Comcast cable. The cable box is connected to theDN840 via an HDMI cable.  The DN840 is connected to the TV via HDMI cable to the HDMI 1 port.  The audio is enabled via the speakers connected to the receiver and the TV audio level is set to 0.

 

The failure seems to occur after the receiver has been set to another input like the Bluetooth, Network or DVD.  When it is switched back to the Cable TV input the TV does not recognize the video input signal from the DN840 or it reports an error that the signal is not supported.  The DN840 audio output to the speakers is also disabled.

 

If the HDMI cable to the TV is disconnected then the audio from the receiver is re-enabled.  If the HDMI cable is plugged back into the TV the picture is also restored.   This procedure doesn't always fix the problem.  Sometimes it takes several tries or requires switching an other HDMI input on the TV.

 

Is anyone from Sony listening to this thread?  Can you please comment.

 

Thanks,

 

Richard

Rtread48 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-06-2014, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
Rtread48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I found the problem and the solution for my particular problem.  

 

There was an interaction between the Comcast cable box and the receiver that causes the Comcast box to fail in sending a proper HDMI signal.  I discovered this during a failure by hooking the Comcast box directly to the TV and the TV did not recognize the signal.  The fix is to power cycle the Comcast box by unplugging it, waiting a few minutes then plugging it back in.  The Comcast box then emits a recognizable HDMI signal.  The downside is the Comcast box looses all it's programing info when it's powered off and it takes about 10 minutes to reload it all.

 

I speculate that the Comcast HDMI firmware is not the latest and this is causing the problem.  When I have the time I will call Comcast support to track this down.

Rtread48 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-09-2014, 12:54 PM
Member
 
fun4stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same problem with this AVR, xbox one/roku, and panasonic viera tv. No picture, only sound. Receiver works with the other tv in the house and the xbox one/roku work when plugged directly into the panasonic tv. Anyone figure this out?
fun4stuff is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-14-2014, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
diggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Set the audio out to PCM and see what haapens
diggi is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-17-2014, 07:00 AM
Member
 
decarlod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this receiver last night. Worked great for a few hours while I was setting it up and seeing what I can do. All of a sudden the display says there is an update. I think oh this will address some "bug fixes" that I have encountered yet. Well.. It appears the update was the bug fix. As soon as I took it and it rebooted I received no video out put from the device. I just spent 2 hours hooking it up and getting it the way I want. Is there a way to undo the update?

EDIT - 5/18/14
I performed the factory reset. This fixed my problem. I had to redo all the settings. I am thinking that after an update this should be done each time. It appears to keep the new updated system but just resets the all the settings to factory. Since it was happening to all my connected devices I don't think its the cable box (I have FIOS). Hopefully it will stay this way.
decarlod is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-30-2014, 08:05 PM
Member
 
decarlod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy Again!!!

Since my last posting my receiver has not lost video signal until... Guess what?? Another auto update a few weeks ago. It popped up on my screen that an update was ready and would I like to apply it. I forgot all about this issue with no video and took the update. As soon as I took it the video went out and had to "CLEAR" it back to factory. The receiver seemed fine for about 30 minutes till I switched inputs. Boom no video again. Cleared it again, nothing. Cleared it again it went back on. Then again after switching inputs boom again. Each time I have to clear it 2 - 3 times. It was happening so much I had to contact support. That was a joke anyway and they had me do everything I had already done. They deemed it was broke and is covered under warrantee. So I figured I could drop it off at a local Sony Authorized repair center as I have several with in 20 miles of me. Nope, it has to be mailed back. I don't have the original box for this with all the proper molds. Seriously I have to mail this back??


This is my last Sony product. Its been trouble since day one. If anyone knows a real fix for this please let me know.
decarlod is offline  
post #11 of 12 Unread Today, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
please help

I am going through the exact same issues and very frustrated. Actually just bought another receiver thinking that I had a defective one.

Is there any fix to this? or just go with another receiver,

Planing on using it for a Samsung F-8500




Quote:
Originally Posted by decarlod View Post
Since my last posting my receiver has not lost video signal until... Guess what?? Another auto update a few weeks ago. It popped up on my screen that an update was ready and would I like to apply it. I forgot all about this issue with no video and took the update. As soon as I took it the video went out and had to "CLEAR" it back to factory. The receiver seemed fine for about 30 minutes till I switched inputs. Boom no video again. Cleared it again, nothing. Cleared it again it went back on. Then again after switching inputs boom again. Each time I have to clear it 2 - 3 times. It was happening so much I had to contact support. That was a joke anyway and they had me do everything I had already done. They deemed it was broke and is covered under warrantee. So I figured I could drop it off at a local Sony Authorized repair center as I have several with in 20 miles of me. Nope, it has to be mailed back. I don't have the original box for this with all the proper molds. Seriously I have to mail this back??


This is my last Sony product. Its been trouble since day one. If anyone knows a real fix for this please let me know.
billykfitness is offline  
post #12 of 12 Unread Today, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
vislld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I came across this within a failure by hooking the Comcast box straight to the tv screen and the TV didn't recognize the signal.
vislld is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Sony Str Dn840
Gear in this thread - Dn840 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off