Onkyo receiver with HDMI problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
elsaddiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an old Onkyo TR SX606 receiver that has HDMI issues. Do I lose anything other than the ability to do video switching by connecting my dvd player directly to the tv's HDMI and using the tv's coaxial audio out for sound? Is there a downside to this? Thanks.
elsaddiq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 06:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,817
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Depending on the TV, the audio from the "optical" audio out could be either PCM 2.0 or DD 5.1 (providing the DVD is set to pass DD 5.1 of course). A better option is to connect an optical/coax digital cable from the DVD player to the AVR which should ensure the DD 5.1 passes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
elsaddiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Insignia NS-39L240A13 which does pass 5.1. If there is no known issues with connecting to the tv, I'd rather do this than run separate connections for each device (gaming, netflix pc, dvd, etc.) If you guys see a negative to this, please chime in. I'd hate to have to buy another receiver now.
elsaddiq is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 163
The only downside is there are some codecs that won't work via toslink, but you probably wouldn't notice much difference between them and regular 5.1.
KidHorn is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
I have the Insignia NS-39L240A13 which does pass 5.1.

Are you SURE it passes 5.1 from other sources?

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
elsaddiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With Insignia it appears that any audio carried over HDMI will be passed through the digital outs.
elsaddiq is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-13-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
^^^^

Yes, but that doesn't mean is will not be converted to 2.0 PCM like most TV's do.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off