Weird Setup Help - Receiver and 4.2 setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 09-15-2013, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I have a really weird setup that I have been using for about 3 months now...

What I want to do is hookup a receiver to my powered speaker setup but don't want to risk ruining anything... First I'll try to explain my setup then what I want to do. Basically I had all the adapters and speakers so i really didn't spend any money to do this. That was the point.

I have a Vinyl Record player hooked up to 2, yes 2, 2.1 creative computer speaker systems also with a splitter to connect a phone or iPod as well.

When using the record player I come out of the record players red and white to a volume adapter red and white. Reason being with separate volume controls on each 2.1 setup I didn't want to have to try to find the unity volume. So I set both setups at a good level really loud and use the volume control adapter to adjust the overall volume.

From the red and white off the record player I have another adapter that's red and white to a 3.5mm end to run to the computer speakers for sound. I then split that with a 3.5mm dual adapter to connect both computer speaker setups.

If I'm not using the record player I switch my connectors and bypass the record player and volume control by using a phone or iPod for a digital connection running through the same speaker setup. Its really easy to do.The volume is then controlled from the phone or iPod or other 3.5 mm source.

So basically on one side of my basement i have 2.1 and the other side 2.1. All in all its sounds amazingly great! Both subs are almost all the way down so I can crank it and its not too much bass.