basic question about Denon 1911 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2013, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
newuser17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey there,

I had to have my Denon 1911 repaired under warrantee. Among other things, the microprocessor was reset, and I need to reconfigure things.

My initial setup was professionally installed, and I am attempting to put things back together myself. Here is a problem I have encountered: When using the universal remote, I select "watch blu ray," which used to power on the BD player and switch properly to receive BD input. Now, when I select "watch blu ray" on the remote, I can see on the AVR that it goes to DVD player instead of BD, which is a separate HDMI input. So I just get a black screen and no audio until I go back to the AVR remote and push the "BD" button.

Not really sure why this would have changed, but I guess it did. One solution I can think of is to simply plug the BD HDMI into the DVD input. The question I have is will that have any adverse effect? Does the AVR process these connections similarly, or do I really need to have it go through the BD input.

By, the way, the initial problem I was having, which required repair under warrantee, is that I believe the one of the HDMI ports failed. Think they may have replaced the board. Just seems strange that the AVR now interprets the same signal from the remote differently than it did before the repair.

Thanks for your time.
newuser17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2013, 01:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,384
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3718 Post(s)
Liked: 2182
No you don't need to have it in the BD input .. it either works or it doesn't otherwise they are all the same which is the way the professional installers had it connected otherwise the remote would not work correctly has you recently learned.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
 

Tags
Denon Avr 1911 Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off