Yamaha RX-A 103 & Panasonic VT30 50" Plasma ARC/HDMI handshake problem or incorrect setup ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-16-2013, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jallelund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there !

This is my first time posting here, so please be gentle.

I replaced an Onkyo HT-R980 AV receiver with a Yamaha RX-A 1030 av receiver.
TV is a Panasonic VT30 50" Plasma from 2010.

All HDMI cables are Supra and Audioquest.

I have connected from receiver HDMI out ( ARC able) to HDMI 2 in (ARC able) on the tv.

Other connections to the receiver with HDMI in are: Oppo 103 BD, PS3, and my precious HTPC.

With my older Onkyo av rec, I turned on the TV and the Onkyo with the TV remote, and sound from receiver through HDMI.

I was also able to shut both TV and AV rec off with the TV remote.


With my new Yamaha AV rec, only TV is turned on by TV remote.
When Turning the TV off with TV remote, also the Yamaha AV rec turns off.

Also I have the sound completely off sometimes, the sources on the receiver looks fine, audio 1 for TV and AV4 for Oppo 103 BD.

I have also tried to connect a Toslink cable from TV digital out to AV rec digital in, Audio 1. As an alternative to HDMI sound.

So i supect ARC/HDMI handshake problem or something is wrongly setup in either TV/AV rec or both ?

Any help deeply appreciated.
jallelund is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-16-2013, 12:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,083
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
The HDMI-CEC (HDMI Control) feature will generally power OFF all devices but may not power them all back ON again .....just depends on how well the devices communicate with each other. You may want to consider purchasing a Harmony remote to get the job done.

For the HDMI(ARC) feature to work, the TV must have VierraLink enabled and the audio set to "External Speakers" or "Home Theater".

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-16-2013, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jallelund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Viera link is now on, was off.
The setting is kept when i leave the menue and go back in.

I hit the Viera link button and changed: choice of speakers from TV to Homecinema.

But it is back on TV again when i go back and double check it ?!


Which Harmony remote is best regarding to fastest response ?
jallelund is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-22-2013, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jallelund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a Logitech Harmony Ultimate remote and couldn´t be happier.
Everything is working as it should.
jallelund is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Aventage Rxa 1030 Receiver , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off