Possible fix for "BCO Update please wait" problem - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2013, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisbrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.

It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.

Here is the process:

1) Connect the receiver to your network with an Ethernet cable, if not already connected.

2) Determine what IP address has been assigned to the receiver. The best way to do this is to log into your DSL/Cable router and look for a device list, or DHCP list. This is a list of devices and the addresses that the router has assigned. The IP address will usually be 192.168.0.? or 192.168.1.?. You can also find the address via trial and error. The last part of the address (replacing the ?) will be a number between 2 and 254. Since the numbers are generally assigned starting at 2 and ascending it normally will only take a small number of attempts to find it.

3) Using a web browser type the IP address (192.168...) as the URL. When you get the correct address your an HK page will come up.

4) There are two buttons on the page, click the Browse button and select a random file on your computer.

5) Click the Upload button. This will report an error since the file you selected will not be a valid firmware file.

Going through this process appears to have gotten the update process unstuck and now my receiver works. Hopefully this will work for others.
rriquelme likes this.
chrisbrady is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2013, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
jPow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I can confirm this solution. My AVR 1700 went into the BCO Update routine after a power outage yesterday.

 

I was a little stumped when it came time to determine the IP address of the receiver. It's been so long since I accessed the web interface for my wireless router that I couldn't remember the darn user/password to log in. Luckily, I was able to find this small utility to look at all the devices on my network:

 

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wireless_network_watcher.html

 

Hope this helps others!

rriquelme likes this.
jPow is offline  
Old 12-15-2013, 05:11 AM
Newbie
 
rriquelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

good work!!! It´s work!!!

rriquelme is offline  
Old 12-15-2013, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
rriquelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

great!!!! It´s working!!!! In Harman Kardom doesn´t know to fix this problem, you did it!!! Congrats and thanks for your support!!! Great post!!! You save me $500, because I live outside US.

rriquelme is offline  
Old 02-17-2014, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
XMarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrady View Post

I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.

It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.

Here is the process:

1) Connect the receiver to your network with an Ethernet cable, if not already connected.

2) Determine what IP address has been assigned to the receiver. The best way to do this is to log into your DSL/Cable router and look for a device list, or DHCP list. This is a list of devices and the addresses that the router has assigned. The IP address will usually be 192.168.0.? or 192.168.1.?. You can also find the address via trial and error. The last part of the address (replacing the ?) will be a number between 2 and 254. Since the numbers are generally assigned starting at 2 and ascending it normally will only take a small number of attempts to find it.

3) Using a web browser type the IP address (192.168...) as the URL. When you get the correct address your an HK page will come up.

4) There are two buttons on the page, click the Browse button and select a random file on your computer.

5) Click the Upload button. This will report an error since the file you selected will not be a valid firmware file.

Going through this process appears to have gotten the update process unstuck and now my receiver works. Hopefully this will work for others.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rriquelme View Post

great!!!! It´s working!!!! In Harman Kardom doesn´t know to fix this problem, you did it!!! Congrats and thanks for your support!!! Great post!!! You save me $500, because I live outside US.
Awesome, this actually fixed the problem.. Just attempt an upgrade and that jars it loose. ')
Many thanks
X/BillyD..
XMarine is offline  
Old 04-06-2014, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
Shifty013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much for this information. Followed along, and it worked perfect.!!!
Shifty013 is offline  
Old 04-23-2014, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
claudiu702000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

After this unlocking i  have another problems: USB port and network port not working. I did upgrade to version 3.05  and still does not work .Thanks

claudiu702000 is offline  
Old 05-27-2014, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
wbarber69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here finally got the firmware update to take then it started the bco update again. Also this "fix" mentioned before might get the avr responding again but it doesn't fix anything in fact it breaks airplay, usb, and network streaming.
wbarber69 is offline  
Old 08-30-2014, 04:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there no workaround to usb disabled?

I have the same BCO or unable to see USB issue, so stuck on Firmware 2.0 without USB access and unable to update BCO via web interface.
Are there issues with the AVR170_USB(V03_05A).fw file itself?
frosky is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR 170 in standby mode after software update

is your AVR working after software update to 3.0?

Mine is stuck forever in standby mode.
I tried power on and off hundred times.
Could you please help to solve this?
sagarmn is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by frosky View Post
I have the same BCO or unable to see USB issue, so stuck on Firmware 2.0 without USB access and unable to update BCO via web interface.
Are there issues with the AVR170_USB(V03_05A).fw file itself?
Did u try updating via USB?
i detects software update with version 3.05, but dont do it.
I am stuck with it and AVR is dead now. Not getting even Power ON.
sagarmn is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 04:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrady View Post
I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.<br><br>
It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.<br><br>
Here is the process:<br><br>
1) Connect the receiver to your network with an Ethernet cable, if not already connected.<br><br>
2) Determine what IP address has been assigned to the receiver. The best way to do this is to log into your DSL/Cable router and look for a device list, or DHCP list. This is a list of devices and the addresses that the router has assigned. The IP address will usually be 192.168.0.? or 192.168.1.?. You can also find the address via trial and error. The last part of the address (replacing the ?) will be a number between 2 and 254. Since the numbers are generally assigned starting at 2 and ascending it normally will only take a small number of attempts to find it.<br><br>
3) Using a web browser type the IP address (192.168...) as the URL. When you get the correct address your an HK page will come up.<br><br>
4) There are two buttons on the page, click the Browse button and select a random file on your computer.<br><br>
5) Click the Upload button. This will report an error since the file you selected will not be a valid firmware file.<br><br>
Going through this process appears to have gotten the update process unstuck and now my receiver works. Hopefully this will work for others.
from this morning your fix stopped working,after typing the address all i'm getting is 404 error......any help........
Will thedjay is offline  
Old 08-14-2015, 04:48 PM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrady View Post
I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.

It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.

Here is the process:
THANK YOU!!!!! Super easy fix! You rock!
krazyboy13 is offline  
Old 03-21-2016, 04:59 AM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So doing this fix disables the USB port and airplay. There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only. So, now I cant do the update, even after resetting the unit. I ended up emailing HK support, and surprise of the century- they are going to cover me under warranty and send me a refurb AVR 1700. They are even paying for my return shipping. I bought this is Jan of 2014 at best buy and do not have a receipt anymore, and they are still covering it under warranty! If you guys are still having the BCO issues frequently, get in touch with HK and hope they help you too! FWIW, I was very nice and polite in my emails. Always take that approach 1st.
krazyboy13 is offline  
Old 06-14-2016, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyboy13 View Post
So doing this fix disables the USB port and airplay. There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only. So, now I cant do the update, even after resetting the unit. I ended up emailing HK support, and surprise of the century- they are going to cover me under warranty and send me a refurb AVR 1700. They are even paying for my return shipping. I bought this is Jan of 2014 at best buy and do not have a receipt anymore, and they are still covering it under warranty! If you guys are still having the BCO issues frequently, get in touch with HK and hope they help you too! FWIW, I was very nice and polite in my emails. Always take that approach 1st.
I am also facing this issue ...

When you say "There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only ..." Do you mean this?

https://www.harmankardon.com/on/dema...14_V03.05A.zip
cnewsgrp is offline  
Old 06-18-2016, 09:07 AM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnewsgrp View Post
I am also facing this issue ...

When you say "There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only ..." Do you mean this?

https://www.harmankardon.com/on/dema...14_V03.05A.zip

Yes, that what the one I was talking about. I couldnt get it to work b/c the fix for the BCO update issue in this post causes the usb port to be disabled. Try to get HK to do a warranty replacement. I contacted their online support via email and was very polite to them. They eventually offered to do a warranty replacement even though it was out of warranty and I didnt have my receipt from when I bought it some years ago. The key, I think was that when the BCO issue happened for me, there was no firmware update, and the method outlined in this post was the only fix available.
krazyboy13 is offline  
Old 07-10-2016, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyboy13 View Post
Yes, that what the one I was talking about. I couldnt get it to work b/c the fix for the BCO update issue in this post causes the usb port to be disabled. Try to get HK to do a warranty replacement. I contacted their online support via email and was very polite to them. They eventually offered to do a warranty replacement even though it was out of warranty and I didnt have my receipt from when I bought it some years ago. The key, I think was that when the BCO issue happened for me, there was no firmware update, and the method outlined in this post was the only fix available.
I have tried and did not get a okay for warranty replacement. They asked me to take to service center. They gave me 6 numbers in my area. I have called 4 so far and all of them say that they don't service Harmon Receivers anymore.

Also the method on page 1 is not working for me. I don't see "Upload button". I see "Status Configuration" and "Network COnfigiguration"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avr1700.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	108.8 KB
ID:	1538449  
cnewsgrp is offline  
Old 07-10-2016, 07:15 PM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The same thing happened to me, except there there was only 1 nearby service center. They said they do not service HK anymore. So, I replied to HK customer service and told them that. Then they offered to do the warranty replacement. Good luck!
krazyboy13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 1700 5 1 Av Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off