Possible fix for "BCO Update please wait" problem - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 09-19-2013, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisbrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.

It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.

Here is the process:

1) Connect the receiver to your network with an Ethernet cable, if not already connected.

2) Determine what IP address has been assigned to the receiver. The best way to do this is to log into your DSL/Cable router and look for a device list, or DHCP list. This is a list of devices and the addresses that the router has assigned. The IP address will usually be 192.168.0.? or 192.168.1.?. You can also find the address via trial and error. The last part of the address (replacing the ?) will be a number between 2 and 254. Since the numbers are generally assigned starting at 2 and ascending it normally will only take a small number of attempts to find it.

3) Using a web browser type the IP address (192.168...) as the URL. When you get the correct address your an HK page will come up.

4) There are two buttons on the page, click the Browse button and select a random file on your computer.

5) Click the Upload button. This will report an error since the file you selected will not be a valid firmware file.

Going through this process appears to have gotten the update process unstuck and now my receiver works. Hopefully this will work for others.
rriquelme likes this.
chrisbrady is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 10-20-2013, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
jPow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I can confirm this solution. My AVR 1700 went into the BCO Update routine after a power outage yesterday.

 

I was a little stumped when it came time to determine the IP address of the receiver. It's been so long since I accessed the web interface for my wireless router that I couldn't remember the darn user/password to log in. Luckily, I was able to find this small utility to look at all the devices on my network:

 

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wireless_network_watcher.html

 

Hope this helps others!

rriquelme likes this.
jPow is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 12-15-2013, 05:11 AM
Newbie
 
rriquelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

good work!!! It´s work!!!

rriquelme is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 Old 12-15-2013, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
rriquelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

great!!!! It´s working!!!! In Harman Kardom doesn´t know to fix this problem, you did it!!! Congrats and thanks for your support!!! Great post!!! You save me $500, because I live outside US.

rriquelme is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 02-17-2014, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
XMarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrady View Post

I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.

It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.

Here is the process:

1) Connect the receiver to your network with an Ethernet cable, if not already connected.

2) Determine what IP address has been assigned to the receiver. The best way to do this is to log into your DSL/Cable router and look for a device list, or DHCP list. This is a list of devices and the addresses that the router has assigned. The IP address will usually be 192.168.0.? or 192.168.1.?. You can also find the address via trial and error. The last part of the address (replacing the ?) will be a number between 2 and 254. Since the numbers are generally assigned starting at 2 and ascending it normally will only take a small number of attempts to find it.

3) Using a web browser type the IP address (192.168...) as the URL. When you get the correct address your an HK page will come up.

4) There are two buttons on the page, click the Browse button and select a random file on your computer.

5) Click the Upload button. This will report an error since the file you selected will not be a valid firmware file.

Going through this process appears to have gotten the update process unstuck and now my receiver works. Hopefully this will work for others.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rriquelme View Post

great!!!! It´s working!!!! In Harman Kardom doesn´t know to fix this problem, you did it!!! Congrats and thanks for your support!!! Great post!!! You save me $500, because I live outside US.
Awesome, this actually fixed the problem.. Just attempt an upgrade and that jars it loose. ')
Many thanks
X/BillyD..
XMarine is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 04-06-2014, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
Shifty013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much for this information. Followed along, and it worked perfect.!!!
Shifty013 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 04-23-2014, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
claudiu702000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

After this unlocking i  have another problems: USB port and network port not working. I did upgrade to version 3.05  and still does not work .Thanks

claudiu702000 is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 05-27-2014, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
wbarber69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here finally got the firmware update to take then it started the bco update again. Also this "fix" mentioned before might get the avr responding again but it doesn't fix anything in fact it breaks airplay, usb, and network streaming.
wbarber69 is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 08-30-2014, 04:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there no workaround to usb disabled?

I have the same BCO or unable to see USB issue, so stuck on Firmware 2.0 without USB access and unable to update BCO via web interface.
Are there issues with the AVR170_USB(V03_05A).fw file itself?
frosky is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 11-22-2014, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR 170 in standby mode after software update

is your AVR working after software update to 3.0?

Mine is stuck forever in standby mode.
I tried power on and off hundred times.
Could you please help to solve this?
sagarmn is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 11-22-2014, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by frosky View Post
I have the same BCO or unable to see USB issue, so stuck on Firmware 2.0 without USB access and unable to update BCO via web interface.
Are there issues with the AVR170_USB(V03_05A).fw file itself?
Did u try updating via USB?
i detects software update with version 3.05, but dont do it.
I am stuck with it and AVR is dead now. Not getting even Power ON.
sagarmn is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 04-04-2015, 04:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrady View Post
I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.<br><br>
It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.<br><br>
Here is the process:<br><br>
1) Connect the receiver to your network with an Ethernet cable, if not already connected.<br><br>
2) Determine what IP address has been assigned to the receiver. The best way to do this is to log into your DSL/Cable router and look for a device list, or DHCP list. This is a list of devices and the addresses that the router has assigned. The IP address will usually be 192.168.0.? or 192.168.1.?. You can also find the address via trial and error. The last part of the address (replacing the ?) will be a number between 2 and 254. Since the numbers are generally assigned starting at 2 and ascending it normally will only take a small number of attempts to find it.<br><br>
3) Using a web browser type the IP address (192.168...) as the URL. When you get the correct address your an HK page will come up.<br><br>
4) There are two buttons on the page, click the Browse button and select a random file on your computer.<br><br>
5) Click the Upload button. This will report an error since the file you selected will not be a valid firmware file.<br><br>
Going through this process appears to have gotten the update process unstuck and now my receiver works. Hopefully this will work for others.
from this morning your fix stopped working,after typing the address all i'm getting is 404 error......any help........
Will thedjay is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 08-14-2015, 04:48 PM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrady View Post
I hit the problem where my AVR-1700 would consistently display 'BCO Update" about 15 seconds after it was turned on and then not respond until it was power cycled.

It appears that the box some how got stuck in the process of a firmware update. I tried a lot of things with no success, powering off, waiting for hours, resetting the processor (restores all settings to factory) with no luck. As a last ditch effort I tried to connect to the receiver via a web browser and was able to clear the problem.

Here is the process:
THANK YOU!!!!! Super easy fix! You rock!
krazyboy13 is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 03-21-2016, 04:59 AM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So doing this fix disables the USB port and airplay. There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only. So, now I cant do the update, even after resetting the unit. I ended up emailing HK support, and surprise of the century- they are going to cover me under warranty and send me a refurb AVR 1700. They are even paying for my return shipping. I bought this is Jan of 2014 at best buy and do not have a receipt anymore, and they are still covering it under warranty! If you guys are still having the BCO issues frequently, get in touch with HK and hope they help you too! FWIW, I was very nice and polite in my emails. Always take that approach 1st.
krazyboy13 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 06-14-2016, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyboy13 View Post
So doing this fix disables the USB port and airplay. There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only. So, now I cant do the update, even after resetting the unit. I ended up emailing HK support, and surprise of the century- they are going to cover me under warranty and send me a refurb AVR 1700. They are even paying for my return shipping. I bought this is Jan of 2014 at best buy and do not have a receipt anymore, and they are still covering it under warranty! If you guys are still having the BCO issues frequently, get in touch with HK and hope they help you too! FWIW, I was very nice and polite in my emails. Always take that approach 1st.
I am also facing this issue ...

When you say "There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only ..." Do you mean this?

https://www.harmankardon.com/on/dema...14_V03.05A.zip
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 06-18-2016, 09:07 AM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnewsgrp View Post
I am also facing this issue ...

When you say "There is a new firmware update from HK, but it is via USB only ..." Do you mean this?

https://www.harmankardon.com/on/dema...14_V03.05A.zip

Yes, that what the one I was talking about. I couldnt get it to work b/c the fix for the BCO update issue in this post causes the usb port to be disabled. Try to get HK to do a warranty replacement. I contacted their online support via email and was very polite to them. They eventually offered to do a warranty replacement even though it was out of warranty and I didnt have my receipt from when I bought it some years ago. The key, I think was that when the BCO issue happened for me, there was no firmware update, and the method outlined in this post was the only fix available.
krazyboy13 is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 07-10-2016, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
cnewsgrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyboy13 View Post
Yes, that what the one I was talking about. I couldnt get it to work b/c the fix for the BCO update issue in this post causes the usb port to be disabled. Try to get HK to do a warranty replacement. I contacted their online support via email and was very polite to them. They eventually offered to do a warranty replacement even though it was out of warranty and I didnt have my receipt from when I bought it some years ago. The key, I think was that when the BCO issue happened for me, there was no firmware update, and the method outlined in this post was the only fix available.
I have tried and did not get a okay for warranty replacement. They asked me to take to service center. They gave me 6 numbers in my area. I have called 4 so far and all of them say that they don't service Harmon Receivers anymore.

Also the method on page 1 is not working for me. I don't see "Upload button". I see "Status Configuration" and "Network COnfigiguration"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avr1700.jpg
Views:	1313
Size:	108.8 KB
ID:	1538449  
cnewsgrp is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 07-10-2016, 07:15 PM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The same thing happened to me, except there there was only 1 nearby service center. They said they do not service HK anymore. So, I replied to HK customer service and told them that. Then they offered to do the warranty replacement. Good luck!
krazyboy13 is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 01-17-2017, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
bowen873's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyboy13 View Post
Yes, that what the one I was talking about. I couldnt get it to work b/c the fix for the BCO update issue in this post causes the usb port to be disabled. Try to get HK to do a warranty replacement. I contacted their online support via email and was very polite to them. They eventually offered to do a warranty replacement even though it was out of warranty and I didnt have my receipt from when I bought it some years ago. The key, I think was that when the BCO issue happened for me, there was no firmware update, and the method outlined in this post was the only fix available.
I've been having this issue for a few years. I typically just power the unit off and unplug the power source for a while and then it'll work, but it drives me nuts. I found this thread today. I haven't tried uploading a file to the receiver yet so I'm assuming the USB port should still be enabled. That being said, do you know if this firmware is supposed to fix the BCO update issue? I didn't see any mention of it in the PDF that's in the zip with the firmware.
bowen873 is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 01-19-2017, 07:21 AM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowen873 View Post
I've been having this issue for a few years. I typically just power the unit off and unplug the power source for a while and then it'll work, but it drives me nuts. I found this thread today. I haven't tried uploading a file to the receiver yet so I'm assuming the USB port should still be enabled. That being said, do you know if this firmware is supposed to fix the BCO update issue? I didn't see any mention of it in the PDF that's in the zip with the firmware.
I believe it is supposed to fix the bco update issue but am not 100% sure. I would contact HK and see. I have not had any issues with the new firmware, and I have had it now for about 6 months.
krazyboy13 is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 01-19-2017, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
bowen873's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyboy13 View Post
I believe it is supposed to fix the bco update issue but am not 100% sure. I would contact HK and see. I have not had any issues with the new firmware, and I have had it now for about 6 months.
Unfortunately it didn't help. I was on an older firmware and updated to the latest. Right after I completed the update and power cycled the BCO update came on the screen. I guess I'll try the network file update now.
bowen873 is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 06-02-2017, 09:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help me fix AVR-1700 update error through video

Hi,
I got the same problem like this,
But my technology skill is limited so it is difficult for me to understand all,
Could you or someone give do it again and post on youtube,
It will help more people like me,
Im from Vietnam,
Thank you so much,
Regards,
H.P.
Sky TB is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 06-23-2017, 11:16 PM
Newbie
 
BKRotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thread starter had a nice confirmed fix for some people. I've tried to fix my 'BCO Update Please Wait" on the Harman Kardon 1700 in several ways but am at what may be the end of the road?! Unless someone can help?! Or for some folks this may help clarify.

I bought directly from HK as a refurb. Was perfect shape and always worked fine- for the last 3-4 years. So I have a power outage for maybe 10min and the next day (first turn on after outage) it doesn't respond to remote or face buttons and is frozen in the "BCO Screen". So I found forums (primarily here) and learn what I can. So here's my problems (gets comical at a certain point);

1. Tried unplugging for a few minutes, turn on and controls came back until about 15sec and 'BCO' popped up.
2. Repeat a few times
3. Google/forum search, read here and others...
4. Remember how to access my router, most are open a browser and type address: 192.168.1.1 (some 192.168.0.1). That pulls up the router- you'll need to login- enter known user/pass or refer to manual for default (many are admin/admin etc). In the router it will list connected devices, they likely have crazy names so you can connect to them to see what they are (and note). They will be 192.168.xx.xx with the last 2 digits being the individual devices.
5. None of mine were the HK1700. So I tried a direct wire from unit to my router. Nope. I connected to the wire going to happily networked Fire box. Nope. So it will not appear on the network so I need to try the go to OSD, network settings, and switch from IP Assign= Auto to Manual back to Auto and Save. Known glitch and this is HK's own fix for it. Actually in the manual!
6. So I unplug it for a few because I can get 15secs out of it before lockdown. I practice my sequences a few times but main screen will ask you to wait and BCO kept popping before I could get there. wtf. Next day I try again and discover if you unplug it for a few hours that it will give you a minute or two before BCO. So I had time to go to network setup and try the Auto-Man-Auto. When I save, it thinks for a while, then says 'Network Problems' and never connects and many times it will fail within a few seconds of BCO popup and lockout.
7. I tried entering manual values but I don't know value for Gateway, and not sure about what IP it's asking for... Subnet mask and DNS (I know what they are but not what to enter). I don't think it matters- for a couple years (used rarely) it auto connected and no problem. So either software/firmware or hardware is keeping me from using the CAT5.
8. So I found the USB method to update full firmware. it's v3.x found here or other 1700 AVS forum. You have to unzip and put file (and only file) on a thumb drive, put into avr, start and quickly go to menu-settings (or setup...?)- Update firmware- continue. OMG it's working- it read the drive, installed, updated... all reading out progress on the display. Cool. Ended with 'update sucessful'. Power off and on. Sweet! Way past a couple minutes there is no BCO Update! Then.... BCO Update. Doh. Hoped firmware would squash update and maybe even reset the Ethernet. Did nothing.
9. So everything I've tried has been in 15sec to 60sec intervals between lockdowns. Total PITA. I don't want to toss this nice unit just because I can't kill a failed update. Sounds like it's an easy kill (may have repeat every so often) assuming your HK is networked.
10. Asked HK for help- they reply quickly but with single sentence 'send the receipt to determine warranty' and 'It's older than 2yrs so send to a service center'.
11. Popped the hood hoping to remove CMOS battery (tried that before other things actually) but can't find it- must be a capacitor?
12. Not sure what to do now. Maybe was going to try loading the Europe version 2.x firmware. Seems to be the same unit but is 220V and some mentioned may shutdown USB input- then I'd be FUBAR. But I can't think what else to do. Maybe I'll scan firmware with Notepad for BCO update and maybe there's a line like "BCO Update = Yes".

So hope one day this helps someone with the same/similar issue. Anyone have any ideas how to block BCO popup or force-fail the update via USB? Has any loaded 170 firmware onto a 1700? If I have a broken Ethernet jack/circuit and I bork my USB input then it's a brick so I'm scared...
BKRotel is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 07-03-2017, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
BKRotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: the firmware looks like Chinese- just blocks of symbols. There are a few words but they are just the things the screen displays. I sent to a high-order nerd friend of mine and he said it's binary and he'd look into it when he had time but don't get my hopes up. I realized that I was thinking of a 'config' file and not firmware. I've altered some config files (with easy success), but never opened firmware. Bummed there's no 'change update=yes to update=no' or deleting line type of easy fix. So frustrating that some silly auto-update trigger may boat anchor my receiver.
BKRotel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 1700 5 1 Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off