"Official" Emotiva UMC-200 Thread - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 02:47 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy

Thank you so much for the response. No, i can't get the the tv to find the HDMI connection from the UMC-200 so I can't even see the OSD. I wonder if his unit has a bad video card. The HDMI will pass sound to the UMC-200 but the pre pro won't communicate with the tv. I have tried disabling the anynet+ on the TV and still nothing. This is driving me crazy. I have tried 3 different cables and still nothing. I am convinced that the HDMI cables and the TV are not the problem. It has to be the prepro unless there is something I am missing. The UMC200 doesn't allow me much to do from its own display. I have been setting up AV equipment for 25 years so I am not a rookie at this. I am just befuddled by this HDMI connection problem.

Last edited by JerryIII; 11-29-2014 at 02:58 PM.
JerryIII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 417
^
Disable CEC in the UMC-200 as well. Disconnect all devices from the UMC-200 and the TV. Switch everything off. Connect the UMC-200 to the TV via HDMI (make sure to connect it correctly in case you're using a directional HDMI cable). Then switch on the TV, after that switch on the UMC-200. Still no picture? If not, power on in reverse order. If all fails then contact Emotiva customer support.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #603 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 03:07 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should I unhook everything from the TV? Maybe then restart it without any connections? The HDMI cables that are currently hooked up to the TV aren't hooked up to anything else. I am using mono price cables that are relatively new. Everything I hook up directly to the source works fine. Just the umc Is giving me problems. I will say this, when the Connect the TV while the UMC is on I get a momentary sound mute from the umc so it knows that something has happened.
JerryIII is offline  
post #604 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont know how to disable CEC from the umc cause I can't see the OSD. Is there a way to do that from the umc display?
JerryIII is offline  
post #605 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryIII View Post
Should I unhook everything from the TV? Maybe then restart it without any connections? The HDMI cables that are currently hooked up to the TV aren't hooked up to anything else. I am using mono price cables that are relatively new. Everything I hook up directly to the source works fine. Just the umc Is giving me problems. I will say this, when the Connect the TV while the UMC is on I get a momentary sound mute from the umc so it knows that something has happened.
Did you read my last post?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryIII View Post
I dont know how to disable CEC from the umc cause I can't see the OSD. Is there a way to do that from the umc display?
Main Menu > System Setup > Features > HDMI CEC Control

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #606 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 03:29 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much for the responses. I will try unhooking all connections from the TV and start over. I have tried unhooking HDMI 1 from the TV and hooking it to the umc and then rehooking to the TV but I have not tried letting the TV see no connections at all even though none of them were connected to a source.

As for the second part of your post, can I do that without seeing the OSD on the TV? The only thing I can seem to find in the menu on the front of the umc is the inputs. If I could in fact see the settings on the umc display then I think you may have found the magic bullet. I can't seem to find out how to get to system setup.

Thanks again for your time.
JerryIII is offline  
post #607 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 06:05 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
Did you read my last post?



Main Menu > System Setup > Features > HDMI CEC Control
Markus, how do I get to system setup without having the OSD?
JerryIII is offline  
post #608 of 612 Old 11-29-2014, 09:17 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I tried it all and it didn't work. I think this unit is defective. I figured out the interface and I turned of all of the CEC for both the TV and the pre pro off and still no dice.

Last edited by JerryIII; 11-29-2014 at 09:59 PM.
JerryIII is offline  
post #609 of 612 Old 11-30-2014, 01:18 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else out there with ideas?

Thanks,
JerryIII is offline  
post #610 of 612 Old 11-30-2014, 04:34 PM
Member
 
oatmeal769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You've more than covered your bases. Get an RMA, and exchange it. It should be plug and play out of the box.
oatmeal769 is online now  
post #611 of 612 Old 12-01-2014, 05:03 PM
Member
 
JerryIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help guys. I spoke to Emotiva today and they are sending another unit.


Thanks again,


Jerry
JerryIII is offline  
post #612 of 612 Old Today, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 37
OK folks, the word is out, UMC-200 is no more. U can (1) go Dangit just can't keep up with the Joneses! or (2) I got the last stable UMC-200 in production!

Future: Folks going for the more expensive XMC-1 or the rumored UMC-500, price unknown.
MrBobb is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Emotiva Umc 200 7 1 Home Theater Preamp Surround Processor , Onkyo Tx Nr3008 9 2 Channel Network Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr 2312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off