Apple TV does not work - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmh0222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since i updated the software on my Apple TV I can not get the picture to come in through the receiver. It works fine if I hook the ATV up to the TV direct but not through the receiver.

Does anyone know what the problem might be?

Thanks
cmh0222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 06:25 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
What receiver? Try changing HDMI cables as well as connecting to each of the HDMI inputs on the receiver.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmh0222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its a Onkyo TX-SR806. I have tried different HDMI cables and all HDMI inputs. Still does not work.
cmh0222 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 06:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,038
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 1327
Try resetting the ATV and 806. Also check with Apple as there may be an issue with the firmware update.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmh0222 View Post

Since i updated the software on my Apple TV I can not get the picture to come in through the receiver. It works fine if I hook the ATV up to the TV direct but not through the receiver.

Does anyone know what the problem might be?

Thanks

Are you aware the recent 6.0 SW Apple TV update from last week can make the unit inoperable....
Apple has replaced it with a fix, you should download this...
Then try it..

Just my $0.05... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #6 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmh0222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the firmware and software on the ATV last night by hooking it up to the computer and running the update through iTunes. I have not reset the 806 and not sure how to do that??
cmh0222 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmh0222 View Post

I updated the firmware and software on the ATV last night by hooking it up to the computer and running the update through iTunes. I have not reset the 806 and not sure how to do that??

Hold down the "VCR/DVD" button while pressing the "On/Standby" button. "Clear" will show up on the display, and the device will enter its standby mode. Note that all of your settings, such as radio presets and EQ calibration, will be lost need to be rerun...


Just my $0.05... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmh0222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't get it to reset holding down those two buttons. Only thing different is that my button says VCR/DVR instead of VCR/DVD. Not sure if that makes a difference?
cmh0222 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-23-2013, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmh0222 View Post

I couldn't get it to reset holding down those two buttons. Only thing different is that my button says VCR/DVR instead of VCR/DVD. Not sure if that makes a difference?

The receiver should be Powered ON when this is done..

Just my $0.05....👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-25-2013, 05:56 PM
Newbie
 
rapidwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What model of Apple TV, 1, 2, 3 ? What type of TV do you have and do you have any strange connections like converting HDMI to DMI ?

I had the same issue on my Integra 8.9. I have an apple tv 3 and couldn't get it to work. I also have a Integra 5.8 and the Apple TV works fine.

Some TV's/Receivers just don't play nice with the Apple TV is my guess or something funky with the firmware. I also tried multiple Apple TV's.

I ended up replacing my TV with a HDTV and I believe this made it play nice. I spent a lot of time researching this, but ultimately could not get it to work with the old TV (old rear projection)
rapidwiz is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-25-2013, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmh0222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its an ATV 3. Its not the TV because I can hook the ATV up direct to the TV and everything works fine. Im thinking now a firmware update to the Onkyo TX-SR806 would be a good next step. Problem is I have no idea how to do it. Can anyone help me with that? Thank you all for your help!
cmh0222 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-25-2013, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,432
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Hi cmh0222, try setting ATV resolution output other then Auto.
JChin is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-26-2013, 05:04 AM
Newbie
 
rapidwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try what JCHIN said, didn't work for me, but might for you.

i assume you have some other devices working on hdmi and you tested the hdmi port / cable with another device ?

You don't have any funky switches or anything ?

https://discussions.apple.com/message/22939884#22939884

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3810826?start=0&tstart=0
rapidwiz is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-26-2013, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmh0222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I have tried changing the ATV resolution from auto to 1080P with no success. I do have other devices on HDMI from the receiver that work fine. All HDMI ports are working when other devices are plugged in and I have switched cables to see if that was the problem. No other switches are used.
cmh0222 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off