Hey pro amp crowd.... - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 37 Old 01-22-2014, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,925
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thundersnow View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

Plug your pre-amp/receiver/tv etc as master device and a smart power strip can do the auto on/off for you....http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0006PUDQK/ref=oh_details_o05_s00_i01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
That looks like a great option. Although it only is rated for 15 amps I wonder if this would pose a problem when plugging in a 1500 watt amp plus the other on/off source.
Anyone use one of these smart strips to power on/off their pro amp?

I use one for two XLS1500s (one runs L/R, the other C channels). While I haven't tried to melt my speakers, I doubt I'd ever pull that much amperage unless I started testing sine waves or something. Check out the specs from Crown http://www.crownaudio.com/media/wysiwyg//XLS/XLSDrivecore_powerdraw_thermal_keh.pdf
lovinthehd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 Old 01-24-2014, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thundersnow View Post

That looks like a great option. Although it only is rated for 15 amps I wonder if this would pose a problem when plugging in a 1500 watt amp plus the other on/off source.
Anyone use one of these smart strips to power on/off their pro amp?

I had 6 crowns coming on at once blowing my circuit breaker so i had to buy a 12v triggered furman power sequencer to turn on the amps.

The 12volt trigger from my receiver only turns on the extra amps when i select a movie input.

Blazar!
blazar is online now  
post #33 of 37 Old 01-24-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

I had 6 crowns coming on at once blowing my circuit breaker so i had to buy a 12v triggered furman power sequencer to turn on the amps.

The 12volt trigger from my receiver only turns on the extra amps when i select a movie input.

The problem is the total current draw when powering everything up simultaneously.....
We have used this power strip in certain pro audio applications with good results...
Basically it has a Power ON & OFF sequence with an adjustable delay up to 15 seconds between each AC outlet...

http://www.notreble.com/buzz/2013/07/25/rockn-stompn-introduces-rs-4-sequential-power-supply/

Just my $0.05.... 👍😉
M Code is offline  
post #34 of 37 Old 01-24-2014, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,925
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1600
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

I had 6 crowns coming on at once blowing my circuit breaker so i had to buy a 12v triggered furman power sequencer to turn on the amps.

The 12volt trigger from my receiver only turns on the extra amps when i select a movie input.

The problem is the total current draw when powering everything up simultaneously.....
We have used this power strip in certain pro audio applications with good results...
Basically it has a Power ON & OFF sequence with an adjustable delay up to 15 seconds between each AC outlet...

http://www.notreble.com/buzz/2013/07/25/rockn-stompn-introduces-rs-4-sequential-power-supply/

Just my $0.05.... 👍😉

How much power does an amp need at start up? I actually had a sub plate amp working off the same strip as the two XLS1500s and no issues except a bit of noise at shutdown....
lovinthehd is online now  
post #35 of 37 Old 01-24-2014, 09:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

How much power does an amp need at start up? I actually had a sub plate amp working off the same strip as the two XLS1500s and no issues except a bit of noise at shutdown....

Depends upon the amplifier brand/design..
A typical power amp will draw significant current just when powering up...
Kinda like your car's starter cranks over when everything is cold..
Some amplifiers use a soft start circuit so minimum current is slowly drawn @ power ON.
Keep in mind the user said he had 6 amplifiers on 1 circuit... eek.gif
And the voltage on that circuit will likely sag just during power ON..
If the house has older wiring then his AC circuit may simply be less robust...

Just my $0.05.... 👍😉
M Code is offline  
post #36 of 37 Old 01-24-2014, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 8,925
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 1600
Thanks. I think all three of mine have some sort of soft start or at least a delay of sorts but no issues so don't think I'll worry about it.
lovinthehd is online now  
post #37 of 37 Old 01-25-2014, 09:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tstan7777 View Post

Well unfortunately the inuke is out because of extra noisy fan and no binding posts. Still leaning crown(xls1500). The yamaha is still on my mind as well as qsc(same wattage for less money). Still got another day.

You could have used a speakon to banana plug cable. They sell on ebay for low prices:

http://m.ebay.com/itm/131025486142?nav=SEARCH&sbk=1
Swolephile is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Crown Xls 1500 Power Amplifier 2 Channel 525w 4 Ohms Per Ch , Gx3 By Qsc Audio , Crown Xls1000 Power Amplifier , Klipsch Rf 82 Ii Reference Series Floorstanding Loudspeaker Cherry , Behringer Nu1000dsp Inuke Power Amplifier
Gear in this thread - Nu1000dsp by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off