Help on Wireless Set up for new Denon AVR-4520CI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-29-2013, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjb159700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just picked up a new receiver...  thought it was wireless, but it is not.  Does anyone know a good wireless adapter or dongle that is current to buy.  My router is way across the house from the receiver so wired is not an option.  Thanks.

mjb159700 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-29-2013, 09:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjb159700 View Post

I just picked up a new receiver...  thought it was wireless, but it is not.  Does anyone know a good wireless adapter or dongle that is current to buy.  My router is way across the house from the receiver so wired is not an option.  Thanks.

You can buy a 4 port wireless bridge. That way you can have 4 ports at your entertainment center.
SledgeHammer is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-29-2013, 10:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjb159700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Can you provide a link to one that would work.  I"m a bit of a rookie with AVRs.  Are they pretty easy to set up?

mjb159700 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-29-2013, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
SledgeHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What kind of router do you have? Wireless-N I assume? If so, something like:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B004FMI3DA/ref=sr_1_1_olp?ie=UTF8&qid=1380521075&sr=8-1&keywords=4+port+wireless+n+bridge&condition=new

would work for $42. They are easy to set up. Just plug it into your router (wired) and browse http to the setup page and point it to your wireless network and enter the password. Done. Take it to the TV area.
SledgeHammer is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-09-2013, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjb159700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One more question. I have an amp upstairs that controls all speakers on that floor. There is one wire containing 4 wires that run into the amp. Where do I plug those wires in on the receiver. It is an A/B amp that gives options to turn on/off certain rooms. But I only see zones on the new receiver.
mjb159700 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-11-2013, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mjb159700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

One more question. I have an amp upstairs that controls all speakers on that floor. There is one wire containing 4 wires that run into the amp. Where do I plug those wires in on the receiver. It is an A/B amp that gives options to turn on/off certain rooms. But I only see zones on the new receiver.

mjb159700 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 4520ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off