Yamaha RX-V475 ARC with Samsung Smart TV + Cable box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-14-2013, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jaredhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi guys,

 

I recently moved to a new apartment and finally had a chance to work on some better A/V experience. Just got a RX-V475 yesterday and hooked up my Samsung UN65F6350:

 

 

Comcast HD Box (HDMI out) ---- (HDMI 1 in) Yamaha RX-V475 (HDMI out - ARC) ----- (HDMI 2 in - ARC) Samsung TV

 

 

I connected TV and receiver with ARC with no problem but now I whenever I boot up my TV the receiver switches on and automatically switch to AV4 (default for ARC TV) despite I want the audio from HDMI 1 (cable box). I had no problem getting sound from all the apps (netflix, pandora... etc). Just every time when I turn on the TV (and the receiver) I need to manually switch the receiver to HDMI 1 (to get sound from Comcast Box)... I googled and saw many people had the same situation (wouldn't call it a problem) but the only solution seems to be running another optical audio cable from TV to receiver and disable ARC? (So whenever I need to use TV apps I switch to optical input).

 

Thanks,

 

jared

jaredhu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-14-2013, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Your Samsung TV has a feature called Anynet. Turn it off.

You may also need to turn off HDMI Control on your Yamaha.
http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v373_black_u/10254/7128/

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-14-2013, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jaredhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you afrogt, will try later today!

 

jared

jaredhu is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 10-22-2013, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jaredhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, 

 

I tried many ways but still had no luck. 

 

Comcast box --- Receiver ---- TV (ARC):

 

Whenever I switch on TV the receiver switches itself to AV4, so I had to manually switch it to HDMI1. Though if I go to smart hub from cable the receiver knows to switch to AV4, even after I quit watching Netflix (or some the tv apps) the receiver knows to switch back to HDMI1 so that I can get sound from my cable box. It's just when I boot up the tv it will switch to AV4.

 

Comcast box --- TV --- Receiver (ARC)

 

So I  tried this morning to plug my comcast box to HDMI1 on tv and receiver to HDMI2 (ARC), which worked on PS3. Though for some reason the sound doesn't come out ... (it worked fine for PS3 last night)

 

I would like to use ARC as it turns receiver on and off and works fine between cable and tv apps (after boot up) ..Running out of ideas... any suggestion would be appreciated!

 

jared

jaredhu is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-22-2013, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I conceded in my battle with ARC and my RX-V473 long ago. I bought a TOSLINK cable from Monoprice and never looked back. It's the same audio stream as HDMI under these circumstances and no weird settings to fool with.

JBWIII is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-04-2014, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
WFisherPDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Does this mean you turned off ARC on the receiver and Anynet on the TV?

WFisherPDX is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-28-2014, 10:52 PM
Newbie
 
rwmorganiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've never seen so much misinformation on a topic on the web before!  Yamaha receivers work fine with ARC and Samsung.  Plug your cable box and DVD player into your smart tv.  Run a HDMI cable from the ARC input on the TV to the ARC output on the receiver.  Go here to watch a good how to video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83B2NS0Wnxc

rwmorganiv is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-01-2014, 02:39 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,457
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1013 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredhu View Post

Hi, 

I tried many ways but still had no luck. 

Comcast box --- Receiver ---- TV (ARC):

Whenever I switch on TV the receiver switches itself to AV4, so I had to manually switch it to HDMI1. Though if I go to smart hub from cable the receiver knows to switch to AV4, even after I quit watching Netflix (or some the tv apps) the receiver knows to switch back to HDMI1 so that I can get sound from my cable box. It's just when I boot up the tv it will switch to AV4.

Comcast box --- TV --- Receiver (ARC)

So I  tried this morning to plug my comcast box to HDMI1 on tv and receiver to HDMI2 (ARC), which worked on PS3. Though for some reason the sound doesn't come out ... (it worked fine for PS3 last night)

I would like to use ARC as it turns receiver on and off and works fine between cable and tv apps (after boot up) ..Running out of ideas... any suggestion would be appreciated!

jared

Note that ARC and Anynet+ are two different features. Anynet+ is what Samsung calls HDMI-CEC which is what is allowing you to turn on/off the different HDMI devices in the chain using a single remote, while ARC (Audio Return Channel) is the feature that is actually passing the TV's smart app audio back to the AVR. You must enable Anynet+ in order to use ARC as well as enabling HDMI Control on the Yamaha. A side effect, however, as you note, is that the AVR now always switches to the TV source when the AVR is powered on which a lot of folks do not prefer and why switching to an optical cable and turning Anynet+ off will prevent the AVR from switching to the TV source. You may be able to leave Anynet+ ON but just not set the TV audio to "External speakers" and this may allow you to still power on/off the HDMI sources.
soljayar likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-11-2014, 05:32 PM
Member
 
jhobe6678's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post


Note that ARC and Anynet+ are two different features. Anynet+ is what Samsung calls HDMI-CEC which is what is allowing you to turn on/off the different HDMI devices in the chain using a single remote, while ARC (Audio Return Channel) is the feature that is actually passing the TV's smart app audio back to the AVR. You must enable Anynet+ in order to use ARC as well as enabling HDMI Control on the Yamaha. A side effect, however, as you note, is that the AVR now always switches to the TV source when the AVR is powered on which a lot of folks do not prefer and why switching to an optical cable and turning Anynet+ off will prevent the AVR from switching to the TV source. You may be able to leave Anynet+ ON but just not set the TV audio to "External speakers" and this may allow you to still power on/off the HDMI sources.

 

How about people just get used to pressing one more button when they turn things on? It takes one, 3 seconds once it's all booted up? :) We are too spoiled by technology and expect things to work exactly the way we want them to, when in fact they are designed to work universally. In short, quit crying and just get used to it. 

 

I compacted 5 remotes into 1 Harmony. I disabled the power funcitions on the scene buttons on the Harmony remote because it kept turning things off after they were on. I also enabled the Scene buttons from Yamaha on the Harmony under the color buttons, so when I want to switch to something else, I just switch to the AVR and press a scene button. Viola, 3 seconds of extra work and no crying here. 

jhobe6678 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Samsung Un65f6300 65 Inch Slim Smart Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - V475 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off