Which receiver should I buy? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 10-30-2013, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am torn between Yamaha RX-V775WA and the Denon AVR-X3000. I could also throw in the Denon AVR-X4000, but don't see a whole lot of benefit to spending a couple hundred dollars more. 

What would people in here suggest?

Thanks,
DB

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-31-2013, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 468
IMO, you should go with the X3000 for its Audyssey room correction software. But, really, you should go with the one that best suits your requirements.
post #3 of 11 Old 10-31-2013, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter

Eljay,

Appreciate the response! However, being a newbie, I am also not sure if I am missing any critical requirements.

My requirements would be for me to listen to theater quality sound at home. I have a room that is about 20'x15' and I "want" 7.2 channel receiver, with zone 2, simply because I want some music to be heard in my office room where I might be working. I do need wi-fi because I will be streaming from my Network Attached Storage (NAS) and that is DLNA certified, so i do need a receiver that can play music from the NAS. Outside of that, I think I need at least 5 HDMI input and 1 output (but 2 would be nice, if I ever have to plug my laptop in there). Connectivity is important, but I believe having Wi-Fi should be good. 

Let me know if I missed anything important (of course, I haven't mentioned the fact that the sounds needs to be good, video needs to be 1080p at least, so on so forth).

Thanks,
Dhaval

post #4 of 11 Old 10-31-2013, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 468
I'm not trying to be difficult here, but I can't tell you if you're missing any requirements because the requirements are yours to determine.