Anthem MRX Receivers - 310, 510, 710 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 118 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbreda View Post
^^
True on the amp side, but I think the Yamaha vs Anthem as a pre/pro might make a difference. I have not heard Yamaha AVR in my room.

Going from Onkyo with a B&K 200.5 amp and Denon to Anthem made a big difference.

I have had NAD in the past and IMO, NAD vs Anthem-that is a toss up until you factor in XT vs ARC
Anthem to other brands will sound different, but I thought he was wondering if th 310 would sound lesser than the 510/710, which it won't, just missing features and power.
gbreda likes this.

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 10:25 AM
Member
 
gtsum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just have a 5.1 system so I dont need the extra channels. My room is well over 7000 cubic feet (all open space...18x25 and a story and half high...with the back of the room opening to the kitchen area), and the Yamaha pushing Von Schweikert speakers just wasnt cutting it. The 200 watts rms amp makes a big difference in filling the space with reference level sound. Years back I had NAD separates but got rid of them and when I came back into hifi (so to speak) I just been using a yamaha receiver I had laying around...

I am thinking/hoping using the Anthem front end with ARC will provide a better sound than the Yamaha and YPAO I have now. It just sounds kind of flat in the mid range and when pushed hard, can be a little harsh on the highs. As far as ARC goes, no difference between the 310 and 510/710 right?
gtsum is offline  
post #3513 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 77
No difference with ARC or sound, it's just extra power and features, that's it.

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
post #3514 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 12:32 PM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsum View Post
I just have a 5.1 system so I dont need the extra channels. My room is well over 7000 cubic feet (all open space...18x25 and a story and half high...with the back of the room opening to the kitchen area), and the Yamaha pushing Von Schweikert speakers just wasnt cutting it. The 200 watts rms amp makes a big difference in filling the space with reference level sound. Years back I had NAD separates but got rid of them and when I came back into hifi (so to speak) I just been using a yamaha receiver I had laying around...

I am thinking/hoping using the Anthem front end with ARC will provide a better sound than the Yamaha and YPAO I have now. It just sounds kind of flat in the mid range and when pushed hard, can be a little harsh on the highs. As far as ARC goes, no difference between the 310 and 510/710 right?
Nope. Just missing the two channels and the front HDMI. The 710 has a toroidal transformer, and whatever opinion you might have on that subject, it's of no concern in your case. Best way to know is to try it. You've obviously got a really difficult space, sounds like to "perfect" your sound (whatever that means) you'll need add some room treatments etc. Arc is a powerful tool, but it can't fix everything. IMHO, bass integration is arc's greatest strength, and quick measure would be really useful in your situation. I haven't looked into YPAO for a couple of years, so specs may have changed...but at least back then it didn't even provide correction below somewhere around 60Hz. If still the case, that alone would have me recommend the Anthem over the Yamaha. I agree with Gbreda, if you're happy with staying 5 channel and don't care about Atmos or DTS-X, go for the 310. That said, a tall ceiling is perfect for Atmos and ceiling installed speakers!
whodunnit is offline  
post #3515 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 01:06 PM
Member
 
gtsum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by whodunnit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsum View Post
I just have a 5.1 system so I dont need the extra channels. My room is well over 7000 cubic feet (all open space...18x25 and a story and half high...with the back of the room opening to the kitchen area), and the Yamaha pushing Von Schweikert speakers just wasnt cutting it. The 200 watts rms amp makes a big difference in filling the space with reference level sound. Years back I had NAD separates but got rid of them and when I came back into hifi (so to speak) I just been using a yamaha receiver I had laying around...

I am thinking/hoping using the Anthem front end with ARC will provide a better sound than the Yamaha and YPAO I have now. It just sounds kind of flat in the mid range and when pushed hard, can be a little harsh on the highs. As far as ARC goes, no difference between the 310 and 510/710 right?
Nope. Just missing the two channels and the front HDMI. The 710 has a toroidal transformer, and whatever opinion you might have on that subject, it's of no concern in your case. Best way to know is to try it. You've obviously got a really difficult space, sounds like to "perfect" your sound (whatever that means) you'll need add some room treatments etc. Arc is a powerful tool, but it can't fix everything. IMHO, bass integration is arc's greatest strength, and quick measure would be really useful in your situation. I haven't looked into YPAO for a couple of years, so specs may have changed...but at least back then it didn't even provide correction below somewhere around 60Hz. If still the case, that alone would have me recommend the Anthem over the Yamaha. I agree with Gbreda, if you're happy with staying 5 channel and don't care about Atmos or DTS-X, go for the 310. That said, a tall ceiling is perfect for Atmos and ceiling installed speakers!
Thanks for the clarification and I believe you are correct regarding ypao and bass
gtsum is offline  
post #3516 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I use jriver for my high rez music and wanted to know is there a setting in the anthem that I can configure so I don't need my projector on to listen?
dlynch34 is offline  
post #3517 of 3907 Old 01-24-2015, 08:05 PM
Member
 
Speaker Robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Regarding the NAD/Anthem comparison... I'm actually using an NAD T758 downstairs in a 2.0 setup after selling my Integra, which is near the MRX 310 price point. I also had it installed in the main 5.1 setup in a media room for a while, but the MRX 510 that I have wins over the NAD T758 due to the ARC feature. You can get an upgraded card for the NAD to give it MultEQ XT, but that puts the price up to the MRX 510 range. In my opinion, Anthem's ARC offers better performance per dollar than the NAD option, with the added bonus of more ARC customization options too. NAD doesn't really offer much new after that unless you want to spend a few thousand or so.

I ended up getting the NAD T758 as a thank you to a dealer that helped sell my used equipment and for many years of support. I bought the Anthem from a new dealer that is now closer. The NAD receiver sounds great and I use it in a room where I am not concerned about room correction anyways and just wanted basic features. When paired up against the Anthem, the ARC feature offered better sound balance in my mostly untreated media room 5.1 system. Even my wife noticed and she is far from a critical listener.

Hope that helps anyone here.
Speaker Robert is offline  
post #3518 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I'm sure NADs are great AVRs but they're butt ass ugly, just the ugly looks of them would make me pass on it.

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
post #3519 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 11:22 AM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustABrah View Post
I'm sure NADs are great AVRs but they're butt ass ugly, just the ugly looks of them would make me pass on it.
No, NAD doesn't exactly floor one with a pretty face, not that your MRX 300 is exactly beautiful! The x10 series was a big step up for Anthem as far as aesthetics are concerned IMHO!
Speaker Robert likes this.
whodunnit is offline  
post #3520 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by whodunnit View Post
No, NAD doesn't exactly floor one with a pretty face, not that your MRX 300 is exactly beautiful! The x10 series was a big step up for Anthem as far as aesthetics are concerned IMHO!
See when I first seen the MRX 00 in photos I thought it was ugly, as it shows more grey looking but in person it's much nicer looking as its black, after seeing it in person I had no issues with the looks, still I think Arcams are the sexiest AVRs, I'd be temped to buy one just for its good looks but I'm a big believer in ARC.

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
post #3521 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I would guess Anthem would be updating these AVRs soon? I can't see them selling this price range and not have HDMI 2.0 at this point, has there been any news on these?

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
post #3522 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 11:43 AM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustABrah View Post
See when I first seen the MRX 00 in photos I thought it was ugly, as it shows more grey looking but in person it's much nicer looking as its black, after seeing it in person I had no issues with the looks, still I think Arcams are the sexiest AVRs, I'd be temped to buy one just for its good looks but I'm a big believer in ARC.
No kidding. I own an old Arcam AVR 200...My 510's nice, but if I could cram my Anthem into that old Arcam I'd do it in a heartbeat. The new Arcams' are beautiful as well, but I agree with you on Arc.
Not to mention Arcam here in the States is kind of out of my price range. Probably because of all those high dollar industrial design gurus they employ....
whodunnit is offline  
post #3523 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 11:50 AM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Only rumors so far, the end of this year...Supposedly DTS-x and/or Dolby Atmos included. And since of course, everything you read on the internet is true..You can take that to the bank. To deal with the new expanded formats, those arc engineers will have their work cut out for them. Waiting for the next generation eh?
whodunnit is offline  
post #3524 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Barnahadnagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 35
At this point it's far too early to jump in. Anything you need HDMI2 for is still for the early adopters. Anthem is not exactly a company for those people, so one year more at least. There isn't a single 4k TV out there I would buy (OLED is way too expensive and not mature enough, and an LCD won't cut it), and there won't be for quite some time, not to mention actual 4k content, or the fact you can fit 4k movies through HDMI1.4 (just 30 fps ones, but HFR movies are even more scarce than 4k ones), I can only agree with Anthem's pace here.

Hopefully we get more video processing for it too, it would be very logical to have AVRs marketed with their good FHD -> UHD upscaling capabilities.
emergetech likes this.

2-channel is just multichannel done badly. - Frank Derks
Barnahadnagy is offline  
post #3525 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JustABrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Can-A-Duhhhh
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Yup I am, I have a 4K TV and will buy a 4k player, I want hdmi 2.0. I'll likely pre order the new ones.

Sierra-2 LCR
HTM-200 rears
Rythmik E15HP
Anthem MRX-300
Samsung 8550 UHD
-$8500ish : (
JustABrah is offline  
post #3526 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 12:54 PM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
^
Oooh, an early adopter! You're a brave soul JustABrah. I'll let you iron out the kinks for me first I gotta agree with Barnahadnagy on that one. No way would I want to be on the front end of HDMI 2.0. Give the new Anthem 6 months+ on the market first, and let others do the suffering for you. Not Anthems fault. Things are advancing so fast, and standards are constantly changing faster than hardware/firmware can keep up. Ooops, there I go on my soapbox again.
Waiting on OLED for the next TV, when cheaper and with proven reliability/longevity. Until then, me and my Panny Plasma will remain best buds.....
JustABrah likes this.
whodunnit is offline  
post #3527 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by whodunnit View Post
They initially posted the new ARC version in beta, only available upon request from Anthem, as a temporary workaround for the problem. The current text with the new ARC version 1.2882 does not call it a temporary work around, though I believe it is the same software. Hard to know if they are going to address this particular issue further...one can hope. I am running both the new firmware and ARC with no issues, but with the new firmware there is an initial problem with Dolby Music front to rear and center channel width adjustments. Instead of numerical levels displayed, the adjustments levels seem to go through just about any symbol possible on a display, including some I swear are cyrillic symbols. Keep pressing the remote, and once you go through all the weirdness, (with some interesting sonic results during the process) as soon as you hit numerical values it ill lock in and work fine. You need do this for both center and front to rear adjustments. It's pretty amusing actually. (Or was in retrospect after I figured it out)
Glad I saw your post! I updated to the latest firmware and saw the issue you described with Dolby PLII Music and the weird fonts. Using the down arrow to cycle through all the fonts until the numbers appeared worked, although still not sure toggling through the settings to the Dimension setting is working well. I may just be confused about what this does. I see a DimensionR and a DimensionF setting.
kinglm is offline  
post #3528 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 05:53 PM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Glad I saw your post! I updated to the latest firmware and saw the issue you described with Dolby PLII Music and the weird fonts. Using the down arrow to cycle through all the fonts until the numbers appeared worked, although still not sure toggling through the settings to the Dimension setting is working well. I may just be confused about what this does. I see a DimensionR and a DimensionF setting.
Dimension =front to rear emphasis. R 3 would put the max emphasis on the volume of the rears relative to the front speakers, F3 would be max. volume to the front speakers relative to the rears. Hence "Dimension", or the perceived position of the sound Front to Back relative to your central sitting position. Just more stuff to play with. R=surrounds in 5.1 system, don't have 7.1, so don't know if it adjusts the actual rear channels as well....
whodunnit is offline  
post #3529 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 67
^^^^
Thank you whodunnit.

Anyone have thoughts on advantages of the video scaling options processed vs. passthrough?
kinglm is offline  
post #3530 of 3907 Old 01-25-2015, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Speaker Robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by whodunnit View Post
No, NAD doesn't exactly floor one with a pretty face, not that your MRX 300 is exactly beautiful! The x10 series was a big step up for Anthem as far as aesthetics are concerned IMHO!
+1

I was going to say the same thing, but you beat me to it. I definitely like the x10 series looks. It's funny, my wife still thinks they all look about the same....just a big metal box.
Speaker Robert is offline  
post #3531 of 3907 Old 01-26-2015, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Barnahadnagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Anyone have thoughts on advantages of the video scaling options processed vs. passthrough?

As a video "purist", it is on passthrough on my end. Then again signal comes from the HTPC in already higher quality than what "outside" boxes can achieve. Processing itself is no Oppo, but can be useful if one lacks anything better. It can best the processing in TVs IMO, as I found it to be a bit more subtle with sharpening and all. Still, no chance against higher quality processing units, and the lack of settings hurt it a bit more.

Conclusion: See for yourself. Comparing processing units is a subjective matter (for example: I hate sharpening, my father loves it), and if it is the only one used I would say it depends on the source. Bad quality TV broadcast? Turn it on. Blu-Ray? No way that needs it.

2-channel is just multichannel done badly. - Frank Derks
Barnahadnagy is offline  
post #3532 of 3907 Old 01-26-2015, 03:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 67
^^^^
Thanks for your reply. Testing on my cable TV picture.

From the 710 manual. Essentially it's taking the 1080i and making it 1080p. I can see that outcome on my TV input status.

Video Scaling

The default is Processed in which video inputs are deinterlaced and scaled according to the highest resolution supported by the display. With the Passthrough setting, inputs are switched to the output without processing.
kinglm is offline  
post #3533 of 3907 Old 01-27-2015, 07:52 AM
Member
 
vidya46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
MRX 510 shutdown after switching on

Hello
I have been using the MRX 510 for a few months now without any issues.I have applied the latest firmware too..I have ARC setup running for all my sources
Suddenly this past weekend the amp would power on and within a few seconds power off.
The display shows" Anthem Powerin on.." and then shuts down
Here what I have tried so far:
1.Power on the amp using the Zone 2 button on the amp(not remote)..Same result
2.Power on using the remote- Same result
3.Removed all the HDMI connections,power on..same result
4.Connected the Power Chord to a different outlet -same result

I have NOT tried to disconnect ALL input and output connections and Power it on yet

I am hoping to try any other action members might suggest
Cheers
Kalyan ((

Minimac=>iTunes+AudirvanaPlus=>Peachtree x10 USB to SPDIF=> MRX 510=>Sonus faber Auditor M
vidya46 is offline  
post #3534 of 3907 Old 01-27-2015, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Barnahadnagy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Try disconnecting everything, letting it sit a bit then connecting power only. If that doesn't work you can try a factory reset. If that fails too, contact support and/or your dealer.
whodunnit likes this.

2-channel is just multichannel done badly. - Frank Derks
Barnahadnagy is offline  
post #3535 of 3907 Old 01-27-2015, 05:45 PM
Member
 
vidya46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello
I tried master reset
It says "system reset"
Then the message turns to "powering on"..then the unit shuts down again
..
I am going to call support :weary::weary::weary:
vidya46 is offline  
post #3536 of 3907 Old 01-28-2015, 07:22 AM
Member
 
whodunnit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wherever you go...well there you are. Currently I'm here, but soon I'll be someplace else. But rest assured I'll be there at the time, but I'll be gone before you know it.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by vidya46 View Post
Hello
I tried master reset
It says "system reset"
Then the message turns to "powering on"..then the unit shuts down again
..
I am going to call support :weary::weary::weary:
Unless you suddenly have a coincidental short in your speaker wiring....doubtful, but worth checking...something's obviously not right with your receiver. I spent gobs of time trying to diagnose a problem I was having. Eventually I and my dealer called tech support, and Anthem is sending another unit. I wasted a lot of time trying to figure something out, because I wanted to be sure the problem was not on my end. To heck with that, all it does is add to the frustration. Things are a bit more complicated nowadays! Let the pros help you out...that's what they're for. Hope it all works out for ya.
whodunnit is offline  
post #3537 of 3907 Old 01-28-2015, 08:31 AM
Member
 
plouie10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,
Just looking for some quick help on where to take the readings from for the mic on Anthem MRX-510. If you can see the attached drawing I have the surrounds speakers on 5.1 setup on either side of the couch. There is no room behind the couch or beside to move the speakers and there are walls and windows blocking, so they are stuck where they are. In the manual it says to have the 1st listing position in the middle and the basically in the corners of the 1st listening position. I can't do it for the backs as I can't move the mic any further back. So wondering if you have any suggestions as to where to position the mic for calibration.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Surround.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	507970  
plouie10 is offline  
post #3538 of 3907 Old 01-28-2015, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by plouie10 View Post
Hi,
Just looking for some quick help on where to take the readings from for the mic on Anthem MRX-510. If you can see the attached drawing I have the surrounds speakers on 5.1 setup on either side of the couch. There is no room behind the couch or beside to move the speakers and there are walls and windows blocking, so they are stuck where they are. In the manual it says to have the 1st listing position in the middle and the basically in the corners of the 1st listening position. I can't do it for the backs as I can't move the mic any further back. So wondering if you have any suggestions as to where to position the mic for calibration.
How much space between your couch and the tv ?
skip61 is offline  
post #3539 of 3907 Old 01-28-2015, 11:21 AM
Member
 
plouie10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
How much space between your couch and the tv ?

11 ft from front speakers and sub to listening position on couch.
plouie10 is offline  
post #3540 of 3907 Old 01-28-2015, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by plouie10 View Post
11 ft from front speakers and sub to listening position on couch.
Then what you should do is to move up the couch by 2 to 3 feet.Then use that extra space for your calibration.
skip61 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx710 , Anthem Mrx510 , Anthem Mrx310
Gear in this thread - Mrx710 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off