Anthem MRX Receivers - 310, 510, 710 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 123 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3661 of 3665 Old 03-02-2015, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Ejs71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all.

I've combed through this looking for a recent solution to my problem.

I have a MRX510 I just picked up. I'm trying to use ARC, and it doesn't work.

Just to let everyone how I have it set.

SYSTEM INFO:
Release and Main Micro Version: 1.2.6
Network Type: Wired LAN
IP Config: Mode: Auto
(greyed out) IP, Subnet Mask, Gateway
Ethernet cable hoooked from back of MRX to Airport Extreme Router/backupdrive
Using MAcbook Pro with VMWare fusion running Windows 8
I have setup.exe on desktop on Windows 8, and I double click it, and it installs and when the ARC 2 opens it scans for devices, and none are found. I am 100% my router is working, and the settings are as listed above on the Receiver.

Does anyone have any advice? I was so excited to get this receiver and the ACR is a dud. Really disappointed. I may not have even bough it in the first place if I new you HAD to have windows to use ARC.
Ejs71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3662 of 3665 Old 03-02-2015, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Hi all.

I've combed through this looking for a recent solution to my problem.

I have a MRX510 I just picked up. I'm trying to use ARC, and it doesn't work.

Just to let everyone how I have it set.

SYSTEM INFO:
Release and Main Micro Version: 1.2.6
Network Type: Wired LAN
IP Config: Mode: Auto
(greyed out) IP, Subnet Mask, Gateway
Ethernet cable hoooked from back of MRX to Airport Extreme Router/backupdrive
Using MAcbook Pro with VMWare fusion running Windows 8
I have setup.exe on desktop on Windows 8, and I double click it, and it installs and when the ARC 2 opens it scans for devices, and none are found. I am 100% my router is working, and the settings are as listed above on the Receiver.

Does anyone have any advice? I was so excited to get this receiver and the ACR is a dud. Really disappointed. I may not have even bough it in the first place if I new you HAD to have windows to use ARC.
Check your SERIAL PORT # - It must be in a range of 1-7
drhankz is offline  
post #3663 of 3665 Old 03-03-2015, 12:02 AM
Senior Member
 
MitchPope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
Hi all.

I've combed through this looking for a recent solution to my problem.

I have a MRX510 I just picked up. I'm trying to use ARC, and it doesn't work.

Just to let everyone how I have it set.

SYSTEM INFO:
Release and Main Micro Version: 1.2.6
Network Type: Wired LAN
IP Config: Mode: Auto
(greyed out) IP, Subnet Mask, Gateway
Ethernet cable hoooked from back of MRX to Airport Extreme Router/backupdrive
Using MAcbook Pro with VMWare fusion running Windows 8
I have setup.exe on desktop on Windows 8, and I double click it, and it installs and when the ARC 2 opens it scans for devices, and none are found. I am 100% my router is working, and the settings are as listed above on the Receiver.

Does anyone have any advice? I was so excited to get this receiver and the ACR is a dud. Really disappointed. I may not have even bough it in the first place if I new you HAD to have windows to use ARC.
I found this, but it was for Parallels, not VMWare, so maybe it is called something else:

Quote:
-Bootcamp be damned! ARC works fine on Win 7 in Parallels on my Macbook Pro. I needed to change the "Network mode" from "Shared" to "Bridged" and that's it... no issues connecting to USB mic or MRX over Wifi. Piece of cake.
The Serial/COM Port 1-6 was for the previous model, part of what made the x10 series that much better to deal with.

MitchPope is offline  
post #3664 of 3665 Old 03-03-2015, 01:21 AM
Member
 
mazpri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ol Europe
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs71 View Post
I've combed through this looking for a recent solution to my problem.
...
Using MAcbook Pro with VMWare fusion running Windows 8
...
(greyed out) IP, Subnet Mask, Gateway
I use a MacBook with Bootcamp and Win7 and there is no probs whatsoever. I guess you have a network config problem using the virtual machine AND most likely with DHCP setup of the router. I don't know how airports are configured, but the MRX shows a IP address in setup menu when DHCP did work. Make sure you see the MRX in the router to begin with, in DHCP config listings for instance, or with any other network device, don't know if the MRX would answer a ping since I never had issues connecting - not counting loose network cables...
But it does post a host name (netbios type afaik) for sure.

Last edited by mazpri; 03-03-2015 at 01:27 AM. Reason: added info IP config
mazpri is offline  
post #3665 of 3665 Old Today, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
noninoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Guys I really need help - despite reading various help links at the begining of this thread.
I upgraded from mrx700 to 710 and bought two REL S5 subs that should radio linked (Longbow).
I understand that both subs will work as dual mono.
How on earth do I start the setup if I really cannot alter the positioning ( both subs pointing forward on the inside of both main front speakers) ?

When I switch the mrx on do I try fiddling with the sound of each sub separately , then run them both to fix phase, and then run arc ?
Any advice on settings?
I have no local dealers for either make and had to buy from abroad so I have nobody to talk to.

Please do let me know any hints, tips or tricks to get this right.

Many thanks
noninoni is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx710 , Anthem Mrx510 , Anthem Mrx310
Gear in this thread - Mrx710 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off