Anthem MRX Receivers - 310, 510, 710 Owners Thread & Tweaking Guide - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
 
LPBadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27

I have recently purchased an MRX 510 and using it as a pre/pro.  My system consists of (2) SVS SB12-NSB subs, Monitor Audio RX8 towers, RX centre and RX-1 for surrounds as well as SVS AS-EQ1 for sub eq. 

I ran the AS-EQ1 first to level match and time align the subs and to do the initial EQ for them.  After this, I ran ARC and noticed that the low end seems to have disappeared, both with music and movies.  I have had the same subs / sub EQ with different pre/pros and never had the lack of low end that I am experiencing now.  One other thing I noticed is that ARC set my sub crossover to 50 but in the menu on the MRX, it shows the LFE set to 120...is it normal for these to be different?

The gain for the sub on the MRX is 5 (after ARC) and I have increased it to 7 and I increased the level on each sub by 1 click in order to get some of the low end back.  Prior to running ARC, The subs had already been level matched at 75db using the SVS software.

I have attached the graphs and any help would be appreciated.


Aaron

 

MRX510April112014.pdf 82k .pdf file SubMeasurement.pdf 61k .pdf file  

Attached Files
File Type: pdf MRX510April112014.pdf (82.3 KB, 24 views)
File Type: pdf SubMeasurement.pdf (60.7 KB, 20 views)
LPBadge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 09:03 AM
Member
 
dayakch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: France
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

@ AV_mike

@ grasshoppers

 

I find the results funny when i run again the arc this morning

with all the cutoffs at 80Hz and sub at 4th order ...

 

The sub is between my left front speaker and my AV furniture (the center is inside the funiture)

 

I think it is better to post my first results with ARC v1.0.1

 

flc.JPG 68k .JPG file  

frsr.JPG 69k .JPG file

slsub.JPG 66k .JPG file

arc.JPG 47k .JPG file

 

Thanks again

Attached Images
File Type: jpg flc.JPG (67.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg frsr.JPG (68.7 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg slsub.JPG (65.6 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg arc.JPG (47.5 KB, 12 views)

Anthem : MRX 310

Elipson : Pack Morgane 2

REL : Q150E

dayakch is offline  
post #1803 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Aaron, change the crossover on your
Sub to 120hz. Don't understand why it
Was set to 50hz??? Weird, the graphs are
Good.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #1804 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 10:14 AM
Member
 
LPBadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27

Now I have another issue...when streaming audio via Toslink form my Squeezebox, I get distortion bursts every 20 seconds or so in the left channel.  I tried different optical inputs and a different Toslink cable with no change.  The Squeezebox plays fine when I run it through an external dac but not through the Anthem Dac.



EDIT: It seems the problem disappeared after I uploaded a configuration to the MRX...hopefully it will not return.
LPBadge is offline  
post #1805 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 10:15 AM
Member
 
LPBadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post

Aaron, change the crossover on your
Sub to 120hz. Don't understand why it
Was set to 50hz??? Weird, the graphs are
Good.


Thanks, I will give that a try.  I ran ARC 3 times and it always set the crossover for the sub to 50hz.

LPBadge is offline  
post #1806 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HI there,

Does anyone know when the new firmware will be available ?

I don't really have issue, but I find the Dolby Volume implementation not good at all.
Comparing to my other receivers (UMC1, arcam600), it's either too dynamic (with a lot of bass), or too muffled.
No way to use this to watch a movie at night.

So I guess there is something wrong, and hope a firmware will fix it.
Frenshprince is offline  
post #1807 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayakch View Post

@ AV_mike
@ grasshoppers

I find the results funny when i run again the arc this morning
with all the cutoffs at 80Hz and sub at 4th order ...

The sub is between my left front speaker and my AV furniture (the center is inside the funiture)

I think it is better to post my first results with ARC v1.0.1

flc.JPG 68k .JPG file  
frsr.JPG 69k .JPG file
slsub.JPG 66k .JPG file
arc.JPG 47k .JPG file

Thanks again

Try moving your sup and use Quick Measure to see if you can get a better response for your sub. Even just rotating the sub 90 degrees in the same spot may help you to get rid of the dip from about 60 hz to 90 hz.
Frank D is offline  
post #1808 of 2715 Old 04-12-2014, 08:02 PM
Member
 
Speaker Robert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Going on the second week of owning my Anthem MRX 510. Overall, I really like it. I tried ARC automatic setup and it removed a lot of the "bass bloat" that I had before. Overall, it runs very well and I haven't noticed any big issues. A couple of questions:

Is there a tutorial for the ARC software that goes into detail on the manual configuration options?

My bass basically disappeared on the Anthem Cinema & Music settings. Will this issue be addressed in a firmware update or is this by design?

My seating positions make an "L" shape in front of the TV, are there any recommended positions/patterns to place the microphone for the ARC measurements? Are more measurements better?

Thanks in advance for any help!
Speaker Robert is offline  
post #1809 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 04:35 AM
Newbie
 
Tocinillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everybody,

I have an Anthem MRX510. My setup is:

- Infinity Primus P360 as fronts.
- Infinity Primus C25 as center.
- Infinity Beta 20 as rears.
- Magnat 301A as SW.

Today I started ARC (1.0.1.7, that Anthem sent me yesterday) to measure and equalize my room. After playing a little with the SW location (yes, I know, my SW is very bad...but I will change this summer), ARC corrects better now. But I have a question , ARC autodetects my speakers and configure it as:

Cutoffs

- Front (Small) and cut in 80 Hz
- Central (Small) and cut at 90 Hz
- Rear (Small) and cut at 90 Hz
- Subwoofer cut at 110 Hz with a filter HPO (High Pass Order) 15 order.

oVt5VjB.png

And after the correction, ARC shows this:

UoBE9BD.png
jkCJNPP.png

However, after modify some options in the target tab I think I've got a more logical configuration , that is:

- Front (Large) and cut in 50 Hz
- Central in (Small) and cut at 90 Hz
- Rear in (Small) and cut at 120 Hz
- Subwoofer cut at 90 Hz filter with HPO (High Pass Order) 3 order.

zrGTGRp.png

And after the correction, ARC shows this:

ZbZPQR9.png
N1Yc03o.png

Now my question is ... yes, central and rear I think that with this configuration are better. But the interaction between the front in the second configuration (Large) with the SW (HPO 3 Order) ... I'll have too much bass ? What configuration do you think is better?
Tocinillo is offline  
post #1810 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 114
^^^^listen and decide for yourself, but if it were me and would set the fronts
To "small & 80hz". Try that with your current sub setting and listen.

Edit: or "small & 60hz"...
grasshoppers is online now  
post #1811 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
snix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lennyp View Post

...Would the MRX710 run cooler [than the 510]?...

 

For what it's worth I had a 510 for a while and then upgraded to a 710 when the 510 turned out to be a dud. The 510 would get *very* hot even during relatively minor usage. The 710 barely gets above warm after hours of listening. So while one of each isn't a large sample size I definitely noticed the 710 running cooler than the 510.

snix is offline  
post #1812 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 04:54 PM
Member
 
skyfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I run a 310 (5.1 only). Only gets warm. No heat issues. I wonder why the 510 would be "hot"? Speaker load or design.

Samsung 65" F7100
Anthem MRX-310 (5.1)
Oppo BDP-103
Von Schweikert - VR-2 main,. LCR-15 Center
Def Tech. - Pro Monitor 800 Surrounds
HSU - VTF-2 MK2 Sub

skyfi is offline  
post #1813 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 05:02 PM
Member
 
lennyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snix View Post

For what it's worth I had a 510 for a while and then upgraded to a 710 when the 510 turned out to be a dud. The 510 would get *very* hot even during relatively minor usage. The 710 barely gets above warm after hours of listening. So while one of each isn't a large sample size I definitely noticed the 710 running cooler than the 510.

I'm considering going the MRX510 route and offloading my mains to another amp. I did notice your post. The heat I detected was decidedly (by me) hotter than I wanted but was just in the mid/back of the receiver. I just finished watching a movie when I checked it. Was running it at -20/-18 range.
lennyp is offline  
post #1814 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woods Cross, UT
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfi View Post

I run a 310 (5.1 only). Only gets warm. No heat issues. I wonder why the 510 would be "hot"? Speaker load or design.

Well he did also say it turned out to be a dud. That being the case it is not necessarily a fair comparison since we don't know why it was a dud and whether the problem it had also caused it to run hot.

bkeeler10 is online now  
post #1815 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 06:01 PM
Member
 
skyfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfi View Post

I run a 310 (5.1 only). Only gets warm. No heat issues. I wonder why the 510 would be "hot"? Speaker load or design.

Well he did also say it turned out to be a dud. That being the case it is not necessarily a fair comparison since we don't know why it was a dud and whether the problem it had also caused it to run hot.


Agreed. Watching a movie now at -19 just luke warm at best. Must have had a bad circuit.

Samsung 65" F7100
Anthem MRX-310 (5.1)
Oppo BDP-103
Von Schweikert - VR-2 main,. LCR-15 Center
Def Tech. - Pro Monitor 800 Surrounds
HSU - VTF-2 MK2 Sub

skyfi is offline  
post #1816 of 2715 Old 04-13-2014, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
snix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyfi View Post

I run a 310 (5.1 only). Only gets warm. No heat issues. I wonder why the 510 would be "hot"? Speaker load or design.

Well he did also say it turned out to be a dud. That being the case it is not necessarily a fair comparison since we don't know why it was a dud and whether the problem it had also caused it to run hot.



Agreed. Watching a movie now at -19 just luke warm at best. Must have had a bad circuit.

 

Yep, the dud 510 may very well have been hot as part of its dud-ness. On the other hand I've never managed to get the 710 more than warm and other people have complained about the 510 being hot. Maybe those people push their speakers harder than me and a 710 would be hot for them too, or maybe there really is a difference between the 510 and 710 regarding heat. Who knows?

snix is offline  
post #1817 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 12:43 AM
Member
 
Paul Peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by usxplong View Post

Well, my bass problem is solved. I found that the Anthem logic Music does not produce enough base.
There is something wrong with the Anthem Logic Music. Anthem Logic Cinema works fine.

Now I have a different problem. When I raise the volume to reference level (-10 to -8 db), MRX shuts itself down.

Anybody has this problem.


I am having the same problem with my 710. -9db it shuts down. The Onkyo 818 that this avr replaced was 135watts and you could turn it up so loud it would put you out of the room without ever shutting down. My front sound stage is the Klipsch RF7's. Big speakers but the Onkyo never had a problem with them. The sound quality of the Anthem is better but I'm disappointed that it's shutting down often and in the lack of lower end bass. It looks as though a separate amp might be in order but I'm not sure what to get. I don't want an amp to take away from the 710's sound quality. I was thinking maybe an Outlaw 7500.

Paul Peterson is offline  
post #1818 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 03:27 AM
Member
 
texmex55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where is the option of setting speakers to small or large? I never noticed it when running arc.
texmex55 is offline  
post #1819 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Peterson View Post


I am having the same problem with my 710. -9db it shuts down. The Onkyo 818 that this avr replaced was 135watts and you could turn it up so loud it would put you out of the room without ever shutting down. My front sound stage is the Klipsch RF7's. Big speakers but the Onkyo never had a problem with them. The sound quality of the Anthem is better but I'm disappointed that it's shutting down often and in the lack of lower end bass. It looks as though a separate amp might be in order but I'm not sure what to get. I don't want an amp to take away from the 710's sound quality. I was thinking maybe an Outlaw 7500.

I was considering a Anthem MRX to replace Lexicon MC/8..but instead just added ATI 1807.

Can't believe struggles with Klispch. 101dB sensitivity, 8ohm. Pretty much easiest speaker (according to specs) I've seen. I need three times the power to get the same volume.

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is online now  
post #1820 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 05:40 AM
Member
 
dayakch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: France
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank D View Post


Try moving your sup and use Quick Measure to see if you can get a better response for your sub. Even just rotating the sub 90 degrees in the same spot may help you to get rid of the dip from about 60 hz to 90 hz.

WAF is watching at the living room and with the lack of space it is quiet difficult

But when i move forward the sub, the dip becomes smaller

 

quickmeasure.JPG 59k .JPG file  

Attached Images
File Type: jpg quickmeasure.JPG (58.8 KB, 22 views)

Anthem : MRX 310

Elipson : Pack Morgane 2

REL : Q150E

dayakch is offline  
post #1821 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayakch View Post

WAF is watching at the living room and with the lack of space it is quiet difficult
But when i move forward the sub, the dip becomes smaller

quickmeasure.JPG 59k .JPG file  

That is an improvement.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #1822 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 07:01 AM
Newbie
 
Tocinillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by texmex55 View Post

Where is the option of setting speakers to small or large? I never noticed it when running arc.

If you check the "Full-range" box you will set the speaker to large.

Regards.
Tocinillo is offline  
post #1823 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 07:03 AM
Member
 
jamweiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayakch View Post

WAF is watching at the living room and with the lack of space it is quiet difficult
But when i move forward the sub, the dip becomes smaller

I've got the same dip at 80 hz, and i found by rotating sub 90 degree's i was able to bump the low point of dip up to 70 hz.... it sounds better now, but since we are looking into moving, it will do for now...

Otherwise i've gotta say this receiver is sweet, bout the only negative has to be with amlogic music/cinema setting, but only time i listen to any sound setting is with 2.0 tv shows (xbmc). Really happy i rolled the dice and chose the anthem, absolutely love the sound of this receiver!!

PSN= Jamweiser
jamweiser is offline  
post #1824 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
dayakch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: France
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

i just run ARC again with my sub in the new position

this is the new result, i do not touch the targets so it is call the auto mode ...

i am waiting for any advice 

Thanks

 

Next time i want to upgrade my sub, i think about SVS PB 1000 or SB 2000

Ported or sealed sub will be better for my room ?  

 

 

  arc14.04.14.pdf 960k .pdf file  

Attached Files
File Type: pdf arc14.04.14.pdf (960.2 KB, 34 views)

Anthem : MRX 310

Elipson : Pack Morgane 2

REL : Q150E

dayakch is offline  
post #1825 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayakch View Post

i just run ARC again with my sub in the new position
this is the new result, i do not touch the targets so it is call the auto mode ...
i am waiting for any advice 
Thanks

Next time i want to upgrade my sub, i think about SVS PB 1000 or SB 2000
Ported or sealed sub will be better for my room ?  


  arc14.04.14.pdf 960k .pdf file  

That is a much better result...give it a listen and let us know what you think.
The SVS pb1000 is a very good sub.
grasshoppers is online now  
post #1826 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
Ajswinter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speaker Robert View Post

Going on the second week of owning my Anthem MRX 510. Overall, I really like it. I tried ARC automatic setup and it removed a lot of the "bass bloat" that I had before. Overall, it runs very well and I haven't noticed any big issues. A couple of questions:

Is there a tutorial for the ARC software that goes into detail on the manual configuration options?

My bass basically disappeared on the Anthem Cinema & Music settings. Will this issue be addressed in a firmware update or is this by design?

My seating positions make an "L" shape in front of the TV, are there any recommended positions/patterns to place the microphone for the ARC measurements? Are more measurements better?

Thanks in advance for any help!

The 1.1.7 beta version of the firmware fixed the bass issue in Anthem Music setting. Night and day.

Ajswinter is offline  
post #1827 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
storman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Help ! I'm trying to run ARC on my 510 today. It's my first time using the software. I have the mic connected to my laptop; I have the 510 connected to my router with a Cat 5 cable. The ARC2 program appears to be at the step where the 510 is supposed to issue some test tones. I get the following error: "Failed to connect to the target at 192.168.1.10.14999" Should I assume that is the IP address and TCPIP port number of my 510 ? The reason I ask is because if I press the Setup button on the 510's remote, navigate to "Network - Remote Control", then to "IP Configuration", I see a different address - I see 192.168.001.002. I'm going to make another assumption here, this being my first ownership of an Anthem product, but is not this screen telling me what the IP address is of the LAN card that is built into the receiver ?

So, what do I do ? On the IP Configuration screen, I have the choice of setting the mode to Manual or Auto. What is the impact of each choice ? I believe when I got the error, the Mode was set to Manual. Do I switch it back to Auto, save changes and restart the ARC program ? Or do I leave the Mode set to manual and change the IP address to 192.168.1.10 ?

Bill
storman is offline  
post #1828 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
j2037's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any noticeable difference with the 300 vs the 510 with ARC.

ARC vs ARC 1M?

I am seriously considering an MRX300 with an external amp over a 510.
j2037 is offline  
post #1829 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
jb0p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by storman View Post

Help ! I'm trying to run ARC on my 510 today. It's my first time using the software. I have the mic connected to my laptop; I have the 510 connected to my router with a Cat 5 cable. The ARC2 program appears to be at the step where the 510 is supposed to issue some test tones. I get the following error: "Failed to connect to the target at 192.168.1.10.14999" Should I assume that is the IP address and TCPIP port number of my 510 ? The reason I ask is because if I press the Setup button on the 510's remote, navigate to "Network - Remote Control", then to "IP Configuration", I see a different address - I see 192.168.001.002. I'm going to make another assumption here, this being my first ownership of an Anthem product, but is not this screen telling me what the IP address is of the LAN card that is built into the receiver ?

So, what do I do ? On the IP Configuration screen, I have the choice of setting the mode to Manual or Auto. What is the impact of each choice ? I believe when I got the error, the Mode was set to Manual. Do I switch it back to Auto, save changes and restart the ARC program ? Or do I leave the Mode set to manual and change the IP address to 192.168.1.10 ?

Bill

Leave it on auto. Make sure IP Control is on in the General config. Then restart ARC.
jb0p is offline  
post #1830 of 2715 Old 04-14-2014, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
storman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks. IP control was set to "On"; I'll put Mode to auto. I'll try this and send an update.

So can someone tell me this - is the ARC2 software always going to be looking for the same address for the receiver, or does the auto mode allow DHCP to hand out whatever IP address is available ? This isn't explained in the manual. if it always is looking for that IP address, then maybe I should reserve that address in my router.
Bill
storman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Anthem Mrx710 , Anthem Mrx510 , Anthem Mrx310

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off