pioneer sc1227 and emotiva help please - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
just got the emotiva upa-700 amp, came in today. only had enough time before work to set up the front channels, just to hear it. I need help how to set up everything properly. i hooked up the 12v trigger from the receiver in "IR section, OUT" to the amp, 12v trigger "IN" is that right? amp didn't turn off or on on test, still had to turn it on manually. second how do use the receiver now? with the preamp? is there a preamp mode i can turn on or is the preouts always on and i just have turn off the speakers on the receiver. Please help any advice will be great. I will be setting it all up once i get home from work thanks
dfi85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 588
If you haven't already done so, go into the AVR's set-up menu and set the trigger to "ON" for the input(s) for which you need it to be active.

For the speakers you want powered by:
- the AVR, run speaker wire from the AVR's speaker-level outputs to the speakers.
- the amp, run RCA cables* from the AVR's pre-outputs to amp's inputs, and then run speaker wire from the amp's speaker-level outputs to the speakers.

(*These cables from monoprice.com are a good choice. smile.gif )
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just went through the menu there is no spot to turn my remote trigger on
dfi85 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 588
According to the product page, the receiver has an "assignable 12V trigger". There has to be an option in the set-up menu to activate it (if the default setting is "off") and/or to assign it to at least one input.

(I can't download the manual at this time - otherwise, I'd have a look through it to see if I could help you locate the setting.)
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 588
Took a look at the manual for the SC-1227-K, and at a Google Image of the back panel. Looks like Pioneer made a boo-boo on their product page: The 1227 doesn't have a 12V trigger - it has only an IR receiver input/output (which is explained on pg. 34 of the manual).
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I have to turn the emotiva on/off every time I wish to use it? Which is all the time. Wow I'm very disappointed in pioneer. For the amount of money I spent on this unit and it doesn't have a trigger output. I guess I should have looked into this before I bought the emotiva.
dfi85 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there any thing else I can do to get the amp to turn on remotely? Maybe wire some up?
dfi85 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 588
This - Niles CS12V Current Sensing 12V Trigger - is one option I saw mentioned on some forum sites. Unfortunately, it's not cheap.
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 11:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have found a solution to the problem. Emotiva make a product similar to the Niles cs12. Emotiva et-3, same concept but it's on 32.99$ direct from them.
dfi85 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-12-2013, 11:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the help, and the push for me to go hunting for something.
eljaycanuck likes this.
dfi85 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 11-13-2013, 12:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfi85 View Post

I have found a solution to the problem. Emotiva make a product similar to the Niles cs12. Emotiva et-3, same concept but it's on 32.99$ direct from them.

Yup, use the ET-3. Also get a smart power strip. Plug your avr into the Master Control outlet and the ET-3 into one of the switched outlets. When you turn on your avr it will turn on the ET-3 through the switched power outlet and activate it's trigger outs. viola amp turns on.smile.gif

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!
67jason is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 11-13-2013, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 588
Quote:
Thanks for the help ...
Happy to. smile.gif
Quote:
Also get a smart power strip.
Smart power strip - cool, I didn't know these things existed! cool.gif
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 11-14-2013, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I already had the power strip. But I placed the order for the et-3, and 7 rca cables from emotiva. Will report back on how it all works.
dfi85 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 11-24-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfi85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
everythingbcame in yesterday and After properly hooking it all up and calibrating it all the upa-700 made a huge difference. The sound is clear, I mean crystal clear. My center channel used to be a bit muffled at time when there was a lot of action going on in a movie. I watch 2 guns last night and I was amazed at the difference in the sound. Fills the room and sounds great A+ to emotiva great piece of audio equipment.
dfi85 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1227 K , Emotiva Upa 700 Seven Channel Power Amplifier

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off