Do I need to upgrade my Onkyo HT-R380 when I get new speakers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 11-15-2013, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've been running an Onkyo HT-R380 for about 2 years and using the speakers that came with the HTIB package for this system. They're ok but definitely not blowing me away or anything.

I've decided to upgrade to Polk Monitor 60 or 70 speakers (and accompanying center channel). I may or may not get a new subwoofer (the one that came with the Onkyo is passive and very very weak) but I'm not sure if I have to upgrade my receiver or not.

Any advice would be appreciated - sorry I'm a total newb and don't know many of the terms. If I need to buy a new receiver my budget is no more than $400 USD. It would be nice to have more than 3 HDMI inputs but I'm really not picky on features - I just want the new Polk speakers to sound awesome. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 11-15-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Polk speakers are fairly-efficient (meaning they don't need a lot of power to drive them to loud levels), 8-ohms (resistance) speakers. Your current AVR should have no trouble driving them.
post #3 of 6 Old 11-15-2013, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks! So I will only have to upgrade the receiver if I want to get a new subwoofer? Would there be any noticeable performance increase from upgrading the receiver now?
post #4 of 6 Old 11-15-2013, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 98