Receiver Alternative to use with Xbox One? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 11-20-2013, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So currently I have an old Yamaha AV receiver that doesn't have any HDMI. I have 5.1 speakers that use the copper speaker cable and also the sub. I pre-ordered the new Xbox One and I plan on having the Cable box and the TV plugging into the Xbox One via HDMI so it can control for me going from Cable to games and such.

My question is since the Xbox One will be controlling my video anyway, is there really still a need for me to buy a new AV Receiver that support HDMI? All it would be doing, I think, would be connecting my speakers and then connecting to the Xbox One via optical connection. is there another device that would still connect my speakers to the Xbox One that I can use that may be cheaper than a whole AV Receiver? maybe I am thinking about this totally wrong, but I am new to this stuff. I do like to keep things simple too. smile.gif

What do you guys recommend? Also, if a new receiver is needed would the Yamaha RX-V375 do what I need just fine? Or can I use my existing AV Receiver and use something like an HDMI hub?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 11-20-2013, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter

Just to add... the Xbox One has 2 HDMI and optical.
post #3 of 7 Old 11-20-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I'd connect the Xbox One to your current receiver using an optical digital audio cable and directly to your TV.

Connecting the Xbox One to a new HDMI capable receiver would give you 7.1 surround in games and Blu-Ray movies, but other than that I don't know if there is a signifcant advantage. It might work better with the Xbox One's TV control system, for instance allow it to turn on your receiver and control its volume, but it would probably just make things worse at least until they get all the kinks out.