The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR929 Owner's Thread - Page 21 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 629 Old 01-06-2015, 05:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
Can anyone help with settings. need setup for dummies
We set to factory settings and now it is quieter than before. need to bump up the volume. What to do next please
maids is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 629 Old 01-22-2015, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
We set to factory settings and now it is quieter than before. need to bump up the volume. What to do next please

Are you still looking for 929 settings for "better volume"?

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #603 of 629 Old 01-22-2015, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
Are you still looking for 929 settings for "better volume"?
we re did the audio with the mic and it is now ok.

The other thing I dont understand is why we cant change the sound on the tv from all chanel surround
maids is offline  
post #604 of 629 Old 01-22-2015, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
we re did the audio with the mic and it is now ok.

The other thing I dont understand is why we cant change the sound on the tv from all chanel surround

Interesting; because I was gonna suggest some manual settings...


Normally, to me, they work better for my speakers with no equalization or Audyssey applied; but if you're enjoying it now that's all that matters.

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #605 of 629 Old 01-22-2015, 11:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
Interesting; because I was gonna suggest some manual settings...


Normally, to me, they work better for my speakers with no equalization or Audyssey applied; but if you're enjoying it now that's all that matters.
would love to know the setting as my husband is deaf in one ear and would like to adjust to compesate
maids is offline  
post #606 of 629 Old 01-22-2015, 11:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
would love to know the setting as my husband is deaf in one ear and would like to adjust to compesate

Oh well, I'm not 100-percent sure my settings would yield absolutely ideal sound based on your husband's hearing; it really is dependent on room setup...but let me take a stab at it and you can get back to me with any thoughts...


Okay -- in the SPEAKER CALIBRATION menu of the Onkyo, try setting the FRONT LEFT channel to "+6dB", the CENTER channel to "+8dB" and the FRONT RIGHT channel to "+6dB" -- that is, IF your two main front speakers are EQUIDISTANT from your listening position (they are the same distance each). Now, scroll to the SURROUND channels and try the RIGHT SURROUND also at "+6dB" and the LEFT SURROUND at "+6dB" -- IF both surround speakers are EQUIDISTANT from your ear(s) when you're sitting in the "sweet spot." If you're sitting CLOSER to one surround channel than the other, LOWER that channel's dB level to sort of "match" the output of the other one; you'll have to test this with some DVDs and Blu-rays, etc...


If you're using a subwoofer, try leaving this on "+2dB" for the moment -- bass is another area where you have to tweak to your room and volume levels; you have to see if when you CRANK DVDs and Blu-rays if the bass is "bottoming out" from the sub and if so, REDUCE the calibration level. In my system, "+2dB" tends to shake the walls with really bass-heavy material without making the sub sound like it's gonna come apart...


If you have a setting for "LPF of LFE," set this to "120Hz".


Now, depending on what input you use in the Onkyo -- let's say "DVD/BD" -- go into the SOURCE SETUP in the SETUP menu and scroll down to "INTELLIVOLUME." Crank this up to "+10dB"...let me know when you've made these settings...

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #607 of 629 Old 01-23-2015, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
mestguy182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

Just got an Integra 60.5, pretty much the same as the 929 so I thought I'd post here. I just replaced an old Onkyo SR503, I'm using coax for my DirecTV STB and just running the HDMI straight to my TV. My question is, is there a way to decrease the time it takes from the receiver turning on until I get sound? It currently takes about 18 seconds, it took like 5 max on my old Onkyo. I get that HDMI handshakes take awhile but I'm just using audio and it takes just as long if I use the TV/CD input which has no HDMI associated with it.

Thanks,
Justin
mestguy182 is offline  
post #608 of 629 Old 01-27-2015, 12:29 PM
Member
 
rfb6435's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ area
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mestguy182 View Post
Hey guys,

Just got an Integra 60.5, pretty much the same as the 929 so I thought I'd post here. I just replaced an old Onkyo SR503, I'm using coax for my DirecTV STB and just running the HDMI straight to my TV. My question is, is there a way to decrease the time it takes from the receiver turning on until I get sound? It currently takes about 18 seconds, it took like 5 max on my old Onkyo. I get that HDMI handshakes take awhile but I'm just using audio and it takes just as long if I use the TV/CD input which has no HDMI associated with it.

Thanks,
Justin
It might be faster if you set the input you are using to be a component/compostite/svideo video source instead of HDMI. I am not home or I would try it to see if it is faster.

With that said I think it always does HDMI startup when powered on.

-Rich

Onkyo TX-NR929 as an Audyssey DSX 11.2 Preamplifier w/ 0.05% THD All Ch Driven External Amps
Adcom GFA-7500 150W/ch (WL/L/C/R/WR), Adcom GFA-7607 100W/ch (FHL/FHR/SR/SBR/SBL/SL)
Home Theater Direct L3 Tower L/R, Center (1st Gen Dome Tweeters), Dual 12" Subs
Home Theater Direct L2 Tower WL/WR, Bookshelf SBL/SBR, Angled In Ceiling FHL/FHR/SL/SR
Acer H9500BD 1080p 3D Projector with Monoprice 106" Multi-Format Screen.
rfb6435 is online now  
post #609 of 629 Old 01-28-2015, 12:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
Oh well, I'm not 100-percent sure my settings would yield absolutely ideal sound based on your husband's hearing; it really is dependent on room setup...but let me take a stab at it and you can get back to me with any thoughts...


Okay -- in the SPEAKER CALIBRATION menu of the Onkyo, try setting the FRONT LEFT channel to "+6dB", the CENTER channel to "+8dB" and the FRONT RIGHT channel to "+6dB" -- that is, IF your two main front speakers are EQUIDISTANT from your listening position (they are the same distance each). Now, scroll to the SURROUND channels and try the RIGHT SURROUND also at "+6dB" and the LEFT SURROUND at "+6dB" -- IF both surround speakers are EQUIDISTANT from your ear(s) when you're sitting in the "sweet spot." If you're sitting CLOSER to one surround channel than the other, LOWER that channel's dB level to sort of "match" the output of the other one; you'll have to test this with some DVDs and Blu-rays, etc...


If you're using a subwoofer, try leaving this on "+2dB" for the moment -- bass is another area where you have to tweak to your room and volume levels; you have to see if when you CRANK DVDs and Blu-rays if the bass is "bottoming out" from the sub and if so, REDUCE the calibration level. In my system, "+2dB" tends to shake the walls with really bass-heavy material without making the sub sound like it's gonna come apart...


If you have a setting for "LPF of LFE," set this to "120Hz".


Now, depending on what input you use in the Onkyo -- let's say "DVD/BD" -- go into the SOURCE SETUP in the SETUP menu and scroll down to "INTELLIVOLUME." Crank this up to "+10dB"...let me know when you've made these settings...
just plugged in a turntable into phono and hubby wants to know how to change the sound. It is on all channel stereo
maids is offline  
post #610 of 629 Old 01-29-2015, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
just plugged in a turntable into phono and hubby wants to know how to change the sound. It is on all channel stereo

First: Did you try the settings I spent some time typing out to you?


Now: What do you mean by "changing the sound"? If you want the turntable's audio just to come out of the two front speakers, select the STEREO mode on the Onkyo...

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #611 of 629 Old 01-29-2015, 08:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
First: Did you try the settings I spent some time typing out to you?

Yes thank you


Now: What do you mean by "changing the sound"? If you want the turntable's audio just to come out of the two front speakers, select the STEREO mode on the Onkyo...
He wants to change the sound to something other than stereo like you can with movies played from the computer
maids is offline  
post #612 of 629 Old 01-30-2015, 10:16 AM
Member
 
dr_gallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
He wants to change the sound to something other than stereo like you can with movies played from the computer
Vinyl records are only recorded with 2 channel stereo. There are no surround channels. There are some modes that add reverb, etc to the stereo sound. Try Orchestra, Unplugged, studio mix or Theater-Dimensional. Which one you like will depend on your music, room, speakers & personal preferences.
dr_gallup is offline  
post #613 of 629 Old 01-30-2015, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_gallup View Post
Vinyl records are only recorded with 2 channel stereo. There are no surround channels. There are some modes that add reverb, etc to the stereo sound. Try Orchestra, Unplugged, studio mix or Theater-Dimensional. Which one you like will depend on your music, room, speakers & personal preferences.
Thats the problem we cant get it to change from all channel surround
maids is offline  
post #614 of 629 Old 02-06-2015, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
djmagnum4ce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
929 shuts down when i turn off the TV

Really not sure what I'm doing wrong... When i listen to a SACD/DVD I like to have the screen off. Never had a problem until i setup my 929. I know it's something I did wrong, but can't figure it out. I have a Oppo 95, a Samsung 50 lcd and after i have started my disc from the menu, I turn the tv off and everything shits down. The TV, CDplayer and 929 all plug into a powerstrip. I have switched the plugs around on the powerstrip and nothing fixes the problem

The only thing i have connected to the 929 from the tv is an optical OUT, ( for broadcast tv), AND the HDMI that connects to the Main Out on the 929. is there something in the settings of the of the TV or the 929 that i need to change? hope this makes some kind of sense. thanks!
djmagnum4ce is offline  
post #615 of 629 Old 02-06-2015, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
He wants to change the sound to something other than stereo like you can with movies played from the computer

First -- what did you think of the settings?


With regard to his wanting to change the sound to something other than two channel stereo...as had been suggested, try playing around with the "DSP" modes on the Onkyo, such as All Channel Stereo or Pro Logic II Music, though these are often not worth the price of admission for stereo tracks (Pro Logic II Music can work on some records and CDs).

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #616 of 629 Old 02-09-2015, 08:23 AM
Member
 
dr_gallup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmagnum4ce View Post
Really not sure what I'm doing wrong... When i listen to a SACD/DVD I like to have the screen off. Never had a problem until i setup my 929. I know it's something I did wrong, but can't figure it out. I have a Oppo 95, a Samsung 50 lcd and after i have started my disc from the menu, I turn the tv off and everything shits down. The TV, CDplayer and 929 all plug into a powerstrip. I have switched the plugs around on the powerstrip and nothing fixes the problem

The only thing i have connected to the 929 from the tv is an optical OUT, ( for broadcast tv), AND the HDMI that connects to the Main Out on the 929. is there something in the settings of the of the TV or the 929 that i need to change? hope this makes some kind of sense. thanks!
That is controlled by the RIHD portion of the HDMI standard. You can turn it off.
dr_gallup is offline  
post #617 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 12:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by IntelliVolume View Post
First -- what did you think of the settings?


With regard to his wanting to change the sound to something other than two channel stereo...as had been suggested, try playing around with the "DSP" modes on the Onkyo, such as All Channel Stereo or Pro Logic II Music, though these are often not worth the price of admission for stereo tracks (Pro Logic II Music can work on some records and CDs).
but thats what I am saying for some reason it will not change to anything other than all channel stereo which was set during setup
maids is offline  
post #618 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 01:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
but thats what I am saying for some reason it will not change to anything other than all channel stereo which was set during setup

If the processor inside the receiver isn't letting you select any other mode outside of All Channel Stereo, something is wrong with the unit...can you return it?

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #619 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 01:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Its only on the phono radio and TV. anything from the computer is fine
maids is offline  
post #620 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 06:53 AM
Member
 
ESSNEFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
but thats what I am saying for some reason it will not change to anything other than all channel stereo which was set during setup
Try pressing the "Receiver" button on the Remote. You can then change the DSP selections. You must press Receiver button each time you want to change these settings if you have pressed any other input buttons after first pressing the Receiver button.

Last edited by ESSNEFF; 02-13-2015 at 09:22 AM.
ESSNEFF is offline  
post #621 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
RichiPuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
Its only on the phono radio and TV. anything from the computer is fine
Have you tried pushing the music button on the remote? Or try the pure audio button on the receiver to have it just come out of the fronts.
RichiPuppy is offline  
post #622 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichiPuppy View Post
Have you tried pushing the music button on the remote? Or try the pure audio button on the receiver to have it just come out of the fronts.

What "Music" button are you talking about?

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #623 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
RichiPuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The one on the remote that also says repeat or green B. It cycles through the audio output on the source you are on.
RichiPuppy is offline  
post #624 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pressed receiver button which powers off Onkyo, pressed Music (repeat button) no change stays on all chanel
maids is offline  
post #625 of 629 Old 02-13-2015, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IntelliVolume's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichiPuppy View Post
The one on the remote that also says repeat or green B. It cycles through the audio output on the source you are on.

Oh, then never mind -- I didn't know there was a "Music" button on the 929's remote; I had assumed it was like all other previous Onkyo AVRs and their remotes, and I had never seen a "Music" button...


Carry on...

IntelliVolume is offline  
post #626 of 629 Old 02-14-2015, 07:16 AM
Member
 
ESSNEFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
Pressed receiver button which powers off Onkyo, pressed Music (repeat button) no change stays on all chanel
Looking at the Remote, the 6th horizontal row has a button called RECIEVER, it is next to MUTING.
After you power up the Onkyo and select a Source (Input) be it BD or CBL/SAT or whatever you have, then press the above mentioned RECIEVER button.
Your DSP MODES can now be changed by scrolling thru the choices available with the FOUR BUTTONS just above the NUMBERS.
The letters A,B,C,D are underneath them in colors RED, GREEN etc. They are MOVIE/TV, MUSIC, GAME and THX.
Press one of these that corresponds to your source material although you may choose any of them at any time.
There are enough choices to satisfy just about anyone.
In the SETUP MENU you can configure the ONKYO to retain the setting of your choice for each INPUT.
I hope this helps!

Last edited by ESSNEFF; 02-14-2015 at 07:20 AM.
ESSNEFF is offline  
post #627 of 629 Old 02-14-2015, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you so much, finally got it working. All this time we though we could not change the sound on the radio phono or TV. Can wait to watch a football game now on TV
maids is offline  
post #628 of 629 Old 02-15-2015, 07:16 AM
Member
 
ESSNEFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by maids View Post
Thank you so much, finally got it working. All this time we though we could not change the sound on the radio phono or TV. Can wait to watch a football game now on TV
Happy to help.
Try to obtain a copy of the Manual @ ONKYOUSA.com.
It will help you to enjoy all the features of your AVR.
ESSNEFF is offline  
post #629 of 629 Old Today, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Lttrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESSNEFF View Post
Happy to help.
Try to obtain a copy of the Manual @ ONKYOUSA.com.
It will help you to enjoy all the features of your AVR.


You can also download a pdf copy of the manual here: http://filedepot.onkyousa.com/Files/...929_En_web.pdf
Lttrader is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr929 9 2 Channel Network A V Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr929 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off