AVS Forum banner

The "Official" Onkyo TX-NR929 Owner's Thread

84K views 673 replies 138 participants last post by  dr_gallup 
#1 ·
I haven't seen anything pop up for this unit yet, and thought it was about time considering its rich feature-set. Let it be noted, this model does not have the much coveted Sub EQ feature that EQ'S dual subs independently. I will add more information in this post shortly. Let the discussion commence!

#3 ·
Great question! I haven't seen a lot of activity for the 2013 models on these forums - a lot of activity still in the 818 forum. All reviews I've read, professional and consumer have been positive about the 929. I haven't purchased it yet, but it will soon replace my 808.

#4 ·
I too am curious...I have been an Onkyo fan over the past 12 years. I have been researching which AVR to go with for the last 6 months. After reading about all of the issues with Onkyos the past few years, I have been looking to other brands like Denon x4000 & Marantz sr7008. I too have been researching the TX NR929 because of its great feature set and pricepoint but do not see much by way of good or bad reviews, like other models. I am seriously contemplating this unit.

#5 ·
I absolutely love mine so far though having hard time with price of it
Some rambling thoughts below:

SOOO easy to setup as compared to my previous Onkyo (TX-SR705, 5 years). I'm not a super audio tech but can try to help answer any questions you may have or test stuff.

The direct file share browser is awesome, just wish it would do video too, not just music.

Loving built in Ethernet and used up all my HDMI inputs except one (well because I could really).

ARC Worked great, but ended up turning it off due to my TVs OSD volume pop up that was annoying (Anynet+... it also hid the Onkyo osd and was Absolute instead of relative)