Subwoofer output dead on Pioneer Elite VSX-33?! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-05-2013, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some assistance as I'm out of ideas. I recently noticed that my velodyne dps-12 was no longer outputting any sound, after checking connections, cables and settings I've come to the conclusion that my receiver must be faulty. I tapped on my RCA cable and my sub responds, I also hooked it up to my bluray player and played a cd which produced bass. When running mcacc setup on my Pioneer it does not output test tones to my sub, I of course have my sub on and speakers set to small, crossover at 80. Everything worked fine for two years and all other speakers and hdmi outs are all functioning normal. Is it possible that just the sub output went bad? Seems so unlikely. I'd appreciate any ideas before I start looking for repair centers. Thanks.
jchas41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 04:04 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 699
More likely that the sub's amp has failed but it the LFE port on the receiver is certainly a possibility.
FMW is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 04:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would the sub produce sound when hooked up to a source or when tapping on the end of the cable if the amp is shot? I would rather it be the sub truthfully because my sub is older, I'm gonna borrow my brothers sub today and see if it works.
jchas41 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 09:02 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 699
That will settle it. I would also hope it is the plate amp. They are easy and inexpensive to replace.
FMW is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,254
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Look at the bright side.

This is your excuse to buy a Cambridge 651R receiver and pitch the Japanese junk in a dumpster.

You will feel so much better and it will SOUND so much better.

Make yourself a Christmas present!
commsysman is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay did some more testing today and it is definetly the receiver. Tried using my brothers sub and it didnt produce any sound. Switched the cable from the subwoofer out to the center preamp directly above it and bingo sound! Very strange though as it appears the only output affected is the subwoofer out. Anyways I brought it to the repair shop and am hoping its nothing major. Thanks again.
jchas41 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 12:00 PM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by commsysman View Post

Look at the bright side.

This is your excuse to buy a Cambridge 651R receiver and pitch the Japanese junk in a dumpster.

You will feel so much better and it will SOUND so much better.

Make yourself a Christmas present!

Where is the cambridge 651r manufactured?
FMW is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-06-2013, 12:02 PM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchas41 View Post

Okay did some more testing today and it is definetly the receiver. Tried using my brothers sub and it didnt produce any sound. Switched the cable from the subwoofer out to the center preamp directly above it and bingo sound! Very strange though as it appears the only output affected is the subwoofer out. Anyways I brought it to the repair shop and am hoping its nothing major. Thanks again.

Sorry to hear it. Good luck with the repair.
FMW is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-23-2013, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jchas41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, didn't get the news I was hoping for. Although, the repair shop I used seemed totally incompetent. After "looking at it" for almost two weeks, they shop called and said that the digital board was defective and deemed the receiver "beyond repair". Honestly, I'm stunned because the only thing that seemed to not be working was the LFE out. The shop did not provide much of an answer to my questions so I was pretty pissed. I'm debating whether or not to drive it about an hour away to have an authorized Pioneer Elite shop take a look at it. The big downside there is cost, the minimum repair cost is $165.00 and it could go up from there. I did in the meantime pickup a Yamaha 2020 on clearance at Bestbuy so I can take my sweet time with the Elite since it will be just be used in game room if I get it repaired.
jchas41 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Vsx 33 Elite Audio Video Multi Channel Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off