Denon AVR3312 w/ Samsung un60f6300afxza HELP! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bhbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ok guys...

 

I am having problems getting things setup. Everything was working, girlfriend bought me a new TV, and now nothing works.... I have all devices via HDMI to my Denon, one HDMI out to HDMI 2 on the Samsung. 

 

Now here is the tricky part. All research on my Samsung (mostly online) says that this TV does not have ARC support. But the online chat agent and the 1-800-SAMSUNG agent says that the TV does... 

 

doing most of my testing with my DVD player as I do not have cable/and or satellite. DVD sounds works fine through AMP, but I am not getting video. Which from everything I have read is the complete opposite of what everyone else is saying.

 

Any help would be appreciated. If in fact this TV does not support ARC then I will return and get one that does.

 

Thanks in advance.

bhbrew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 12:28 PM
Member
 
aspoerri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, Uath
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I don't think it is a problem with ARC. ARC is the Audio Return Channel, meaning that if something is plugged into the TV first instead of the receiver then it will pass the audio down to the receiver using the ARC output on the TV.

 

Seems to me that you may have an issue with the HDMI cable.

 

After reading it again I guess the question would be are you trying to send the audio to the TV with ARC?

aspoerri is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bhbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so.. I unplugged HDMI from ARC port on AVR, and plugged into different port, audio and video work properly... Real concern is that my internal apps from smarTV won't play audio through AVR... Netflix, etc... And worried my over-air antenna won't send audio through AVR when the time comes...
bhbrew is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 01:21 PM
Member
 
aspoerri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, Uath
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Okay that's what I needed to know... sometimes the ARC functionality can be tricky to work properly no matter the device I would recommend just running an optical cable from the TV to the receiver (most TV's and receivers have them) and that will take care of the audio from your antenna and Smart TV.

aspoerri is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bhbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Figured that was my only option. Will that degrade sound quality? Only push stereo sound correct?
bhbrew is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 02:56 PM
Member
 
aspoerri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, Uath
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

No actually optical is a digital signal it is just as good as HDMI. The only way you would get it to push just stereo is if you were using RCA cables... even then your receiver can process that audio and make it into a 5.1 signal (obviously not as good as a complete digital signal)

aspoerri is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bhbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok. So I have optical cable installed on TV and AVR... Any special settings I need to make it work?
bhbrew is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 03:29 PM
Member
 
aspoerri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, Uath
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

most of the time it will automatically sense it but sometimes you have to go into the settings and tell it that the audio for the source is coming from an optical cable.

aspoerri is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-09-2013, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bhbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome. Works great. Had to go into receiver and change digital source of TV to optical. Thanks for your help.
bhbrew is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr3312ci Receiver , Samsung Un60f6300 60 Inch 1080p 120hz Slim Smart Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off