4 ohm speaker with 6-8 ohm rated receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-12-2013, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of adding a 4 ohm Thiel SCS3 center channel speaker to my system to accompany 8 ohm Mirage surrounds and DCM Time Window 6-8 ohm L & R speakers with a Yamaha RX-V1400 receiver. The receiver only has settings for 6 or 8 ohms. 4 ohms is not mentioned.

Is this setup safe? If so, should I set the receiver to 6 ohms or 8 ohms?

Thanks!

BTW, I have the Thiel speaker (moving down from my other theater setup), so I'm willing to experiment as long as it's safe!
hma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 12-13-2013, 12:58 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,358
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
Shouldn't be a problem and certainly not at moderate volume levels.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-13-2013, 05:20 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Smoothie is right. To confirm know that I do it every day.
FMW is online now  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-13-2013, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I will try it. Any thoughts regarding setting the receiver to 6 ohms vs. 8 ohms?
hma is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-13-2013, 04:58 PM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 709
6 ohms.
FMW is online now  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-13-2013, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Set to 8 Ohms..
Better sound and dynamics, plus more power...

Just my $0.05... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-13-2013, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess I'll have to try both and compare. Will try to do it Sunday. THanks!
hma is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-14-2013, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it worked! Speakers sound fine running at either 6 or 8 ohm setting. I'll have to do more experimenting to see if one is better than the other. No amp shutdown despite loud Blu-ray soundtrack. Thanks all.
hma is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-14-2013, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
astrallite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
All a 6 ohm setting does is set a cap on the maximum power draw of the amplifier, its like listening with training wheels on.
astrallite is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-15-2013, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
hma
Senior Member
 
hma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Westfield, NJ, USA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm. So why are the power ratings HIGHER as the setting goes from 8 to 6 to 4 ohms?
hma is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 12-15-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by hma View Post

Hmm. So why are the power ratings HIGHER as the setting goes from 8 to 6 to 4 ohms?

Because the switch kicks in a lower voltage to the amplifier, since current increases as the Ohms decrease so the amplifier doesn't overload..

Just my $0.05... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 12-15-2013, 11:34 AM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Hmm. So why are the power ratings HIGHER as the setting goes from 8 to 6 to 4 ohms?

Probably because the voltage swing is the same but the lower Impedance draws more current. Same voltage, higher current draw means more power.
FMW is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off