Official Pioneer SC-1223 thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 60 Old 12-13-2013, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mtedelen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With the recent Amazon deal I'm guessing there will be a lot of new owners so I thought I might try and start official thread assuming the moderators allow me to.

Anyways.... Just hooked mine up today and all seems well so far except for HDMI switching. HDMI switching seems incredibley slow!!!...as much as 10+ seconds. I'm using my Sony Bravia TV as a monitor with HDMI control turned on. Also, a Panasonic BD player, DTV genie box and chromecast. I'm using all brand new mediabridge 1.4a HDMI Cables. Any input would be great, and I'm curious to see from other users if that amount of time appears to be normal. Thanks!!
mtedelen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 60 Old 12-14-2013, 04:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Should have my tomorrow going from an Onkyo 809 with the HDMI failure at 24 months hoping this will work with my Klipsch RF-82II and RS-81II rears and RC-62II and Outlaw LFM-EX1 and HDMI 1 out:cool: for Plasma and HDMI 2 out for my Viewsonic Pro 8100. If not ,not sure what I'll use done with Onkyo and their continue of poor HDMI boards . But thought this Pioneer was a great buy for $549 .
mtedelen likes this.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #3 of 60 Old 12-14-2013, 10:14 AM
Member
 
cfgenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I opted for the free shipping, so it may be awhile before I see mine, with all the Christmas shipping Amazon has to do.  Looking forward to getting set up and giving impressions - is it true that wireless connectivity requires a separate dongle?  Seems lame for a receiver that retails at $1,100.


Panasonic TC-P65VT60 65" Plasma

Pioneer SC-1223K

Klipsch RF-82ii Front

Klipsch RC-52ii Center

SVS PB12 NSD

KLH rear surrounds

cfgenesis is offline  
post #4 of 60 Old 12-15-2013, 08:44 PM
Member
 
mangothehuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine in yesterday and hooked it up today. Fun Sunday project. By the way, the Spotify Connect was a total PITA to figure out (terrible documentation). For those interested, go to Internet Radio on the receiver. Then start playing a song on your Spotify app - you'll notice a button that looks like a speaker when you're in the song play mode. Click on that and bingo, you can select your receiver and you should have sound.
mangothehuman is offline  
post #5 of 60 Old 12-15-2013, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mtedelen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangothehuman View Post

Got mine in yesterday and hooked it up today. Fun Sunday project. By the way, the Spotify Connect was a total PITA to figure out (terrible documentation). For those interested, go to Internet Radio on the receiver. Then start playing a song on your Spotify app - you'll notice a button that looks like a speaker when you're in the song play mode. Click on that and bingo, you can select your receiver and you should have sound.

Unfortunately the built in streaming apps suck on all receivers. Much better off using airplay if you have any i devices and navigating Spotify that way. I am also a premium customer with Spotify and love there service, but the built in apps are very limited to what you can do with them and the interface is horrible.

Cant make my mind up on this receiver yet. Also have the Denon AVR-X3000 and cant decide between the two!! I have to return one of them.....

Is the HDMI switching pretty quick on yours?

And what volume level do you have to turn yours up to to get a decent volume out of it? Seems I have to turn mine up past -30 to get decent volume out of it.

Thanks!!
mtedelen is offline  
post #6 of 60 Old 12-15-2013, 09:30 PM
Member
 
mangothehuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtedelen View Post

Unfortunately the built in streaming apps suck on all receivers. Much better off using airplay if you have any i devices and navigating Spotify that way. I am also a premium customer with Spotify and love there service, but the built in apps are very limited to what you can do with them and the interface is horrible.

Cant make my mind up on this receiver yet. Also have the Denon AVR-X3000 and cant decide between the two!! I have to return one of them.....

Is the HDMI switching pretty quick on yours?

And what volume level do you have to turn yours up to to get a decent volume out of it? Seems I have to turn mine up past -30 to get decent volume out of it.

Thanks!!

The Spotify streaming seems alright - it uses the Android/iOS Spotify app to control it. Although it does look terrible on screen.

HDMI switching seems quite fast.

I'm the same, I need to turn it up past -30 to get decent volume.
mangothehuman is offline  
post #7 of 60 Old 12-15-2013, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mtedelen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangothehuman View Post

The Spotify streaming seems alright - it uses the Android/iOS Spotify app to control it. Although it does look terrible on screen.

HDMI switching seems quite fast.

I'm the same, I need to turn it up past -30 to get decent volume.

OK good to know on the volume level, sounds normal then.

My hdmi switching takes anywhere from 5-10 seconds it seems. I'm using the Media bridge 1.4a ultra cables.... Nothing special but doubt those would be causing the slow switching.
mtedelen is offline  
post #8 of 60 Old 12-16-2013, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
SamDaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Raleigh/Durham of North Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My issue is that whenever I play straight to Airplay while the receiver is in standby mode, it plays to Zone 2 instead of Main. Obviously a setup issue where I missed something. If anyone has an idea of where I screwed up, please enlighten me.

Other than that it's a great receiver for $500 with lots of extra features to keep you playing and honing your AV experience for hours.

Sam.
mangothehuman likes this.
SamDaMan is offline  
post #9 of 60 Old 12-16-2013, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Still haven't had much time to play with mine and learn all the difference in setup. Haven't ran the speaker setup yet need everyone gone. Did download the new Ipad Program I love it seems to run very smoothly and adjustments through all controls. Haven't done the Spotify update yet. Does anyone know how to get Pandora onto this receiver. And what speakers are everyone using mine are all Klipsch.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #10 of 60 Old 12-17-2013, 11:46 AM
Member
 
cfgenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Got mine today - just had time to hook it up and test that all my components were working (cable, playstation 3 and Apple TV).  Everything sounded great especially the new Muse Live in Rome concert blu-ray!

 

I didn't notice any kind of unusual delay in HDMI switching.


Panasonic TC-P65VT60 65" Plasma

Pioneer SC-1223K

Klipsch RF-82ii Front

Klipsch RC-52ii Center

SVS PB12 NSD

KLH rear surrounds

cfgenesis is offline  
post #11 of 60 Old 12-17-2013, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Dugout Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't get this thing to kick on my subwoofer in most modes.

Can get it in a movie, but not TV, Radio (FM) or Spotify.

Aggrieving.


Other then that, wow, great sound out of this thing.
Dugout Doug is offline  
post #12 of 60 Old 12-18-2013, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
SamDaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Raleigh/Durham of North Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugout Doug View Post

I can't get this thing to kick on my subwoofer in most modes.

Can get it in a movie, but not TV, Radio (FM) or Spotify.

Aggrieving.


Other then that, wow, great sound out of this thing.

Probably just in stereo sound mode. Try changing the sound mode to movie while watching something one of those other inputs, that will force the receiver to mimic surround sound for feeds that aren't producing any by default.

Let us know if this works or not, Sam.
SamDaMan is offline  
post #13 of 60 Old 12-18-2013, 08:07 AM
Member
 
cfgenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Got mine all set up, ran the MCACC, installed the controller app on my iPad, and played a lossless Apple version of Peter Gabriel - Security through my router.  Sounded unbelievable!  Very happy so far.


Panasonic TC-P65VT60 65" Plasma

Pioneer SC-1223K

Klipsch RF-82ii Front

Klipsch RC-52ii Center

SVS PB12 NSD

KLH rear surrounds

cfgenesis is offline  
post #14 of 60 Old 12-19-2013, 07:38 AM
Member
 
mangothehuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamDaMan View Post

Probably just in stereo sound mode. Try changing the sound mode to movie while watching something one of those other inputs, that will force the receiver to mimic surround sound for feeds that aren't producing any by default.

Let us know if this works or not, Sam.

Interesting - I'm having the same problem. I'm in auto-surround mode - also tried rock/pop. Nothing coming out of the sub at all. Tried Spotify, blu-ray, cable, etc. No sound from the sub.
mangothehuman is offline  
post #15 of 60 Old 12-19-2013, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mtedelen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For those having problems with subwoofer issues this is what I had to do:

1. Manual speaker set up > front "small", Subwoofer "Yes"...... Or..... front "large", subwoofer "plus"

This worked for me and after searching around for the solution on the internet this seems to be the fix. Setting my fronts to small and subwoofer to yes or plus did the trick. With the fronts set to large and subwoofer to yes almost nothing gets sent to the sub. I found more info in the MCACC sticky thread related to this problem. Hope this helps!
mangothehuman likes this.
mtedelen is offline  
post #16 of 60 Old 12-19-2013, 09:07 AM
Member
 
mangothehuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtedelen View Post

For those having problems with subwoofer issues this is what I had to do:

1. Manual speaker set up > front "small", Subwoofer "Yes"...... Or..... front "large", subwoofer "plus"

This worked for me and after searching around for the solution on the internet this seems to be the fix. Setting my fronts to small and subwoofer to yes or plus did the trick. With the fronts set to large and subwoofer to yes almost nothing gets sent to the sub. I found more info in the MCACC sticky thread related to this problem. Hope this helps!

Hah, wow, I feel silly. Sub was set to off. Done! Sounds great!
mangothehuman is offline  
post #17 of 60 Old 12-20-2013, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Dugout Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it, it was a combo of the Trim and the mode.

Thanks!
Dugout Doug is offline  
post #18 of 60 Old 12-21-2013, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
SamDaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Raleigh/Durham of North Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still can't get Zone 2 to play anything other than what I push from my iOS device using Pioneer's iControl app. And even with that I can get that audio to only come out of Zone 2 or the Main zone separately, not together. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Going to try the setup again and see if that fixes anything but not feeling very positive about the outcome.

Thanks, Sam.
SamDaMan is offline  
post #19 of 60 Old 12-21-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
Ely94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one hook this up to a 5.1? I can't seem to get the surround to work correctly.
Ely94 is offline  
post #20 of 60 Old 12-21-2013, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
SamDaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Raleigh/Durham of North Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay, finally got the outside speakers to play the same output that's playing inside. I had to connect the external speakers to the Speaker B outputs. Turns out Zone 2 only outputs certain inputs (like Airplay) but not others. Instructions don't specifically state what those outputs are but it certainly wasn't any I was trying. Only now I can't adjust the volume of the external speakers without the internal volume being affected as well. If anyone has any insight into how to do that, please advise.

Sam.
SamDaMan is offline  
post #21 of 60 Old 12-21-2013, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
SamDaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Raleigh/Durham of North Carolina
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ely94 View Post

Any one hook this up to a 5.1? I can't seem to get the surround to work correctly.

If you run the Full MCACC setup, it should recognize how many speakers are connected and get you running quickly. You can get there by pressing RECEIVER on the remote and then the HOME button.

Sam.
SamDaMan is offline  
post #22 of 60 Old 12-22-2013, 05:31 AM
Member
 
marjenmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Would anyone recommend the AS-BT200 Bluetooth adaptor for the 1223?
marjenmiller is offline  
post #23 of 60 Old 12-22-2013, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Ely94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Sam
I had the wires hooked in the wrong spot. All is good now
Ely94 is offline  
post #24 of 60 Old 12-22-2013, 04:49 PM
Member
 
cfgenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The surround speakers need to be wired to surround and not surround rear when you only have 5.1.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60 65" Plasma

Pioneer SC-1223K

Klipsch RF-82ii Front

Klipsch RC-52ii Center

SVS PB12 NSD

KLH rear surrounds

cfgenesis is offline  
post #25 of 60 Old 12-22-2013, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
What I love about this receiver is when in pass through it stays cool where as my Onkyo was always hot on top I'm guessing that's the reason it went out in 24 months. Was a little worried if it would handle my Klipsch RF82II 5.1 surround and my Outlaw LFM-1EX but so far no problems.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #26 of 60 Old 12-23-2013, 05:28 AM
Member
 
marjenmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjenmiller View Post

Would anyone recommend the AS-BT200 Bluetooth adaptor for the 1223?

Just got the SC1223 and like it. Pretty easy to set up so far.

Is it possible to bypass (pass through) the receiver without turning the receiver on to operate my DirecTV and TV separately? My DirecTV remote will turn them and I can set it up to turn the receiver on. Just wanting to make it easier for my young kids to watch basic TV through the TV speakers if they want to.
marjenmiller is offline  
post #27 of 60 Old 12-23-2013, 06:51 AM
Member
 
cfgenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjenmiller View Post

Would anyone recommend the AS-BT200 Bluetooth adaptor for the 1223?

I don't know anything about that adapter, but I did get the Netgear WNCE2001 wifi adapter rather than the Pioneer brand adapter which gets problematic reviews.  The Netgear adapter was half the cost and has worked very well so far!


Panasonic TC-P65VT60 65" Plasma

Pioneer SC-1223K

Klipsch RF-82ii Front

Klipsch RC-52ii Center

SVS PB12 NSD

KLH rear surrounds

cfgenesis is offline  
post #28 of 60 Old 12-23-2013, 10:56 AM
Member
 
marjenmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was looking for a bluetooth adapter not wifi so I could stream music from my android phone or other devices. Thanks
marjenmiller is offline  
post #29 of 60 Old 12-26-2013, 05:59 PM
Member
 
mangothehuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjenmiller View Post

I was looking for a bluetooth adapter not wifi so I could stream music from my android phone or other devices. Thanks

Did you ever find a good one? I'm thinking about grabbing one myself. Do you know if it will allow for me to turn the receiver on and off and control volume?
mangothehuman is offline  
post #30 of 60 Old 12-27-2013, 04:30 AM
Member
 
marjenmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Not yet. I see some for about $25-$50 at the BB website, but not sure if or how they will work on the SC-1223K.
marjenmiller is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Sc 1223 K 7 2 Channel Network Ready Receiver , Klipsch Rf 82 Ii Reference Series Floorstanding Loudspeaker Cherry

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off